Trova il tuo prossimo book preferito

Abbonati oggi e leggi gratis per 30 giorniInizia la tua prova gratuita di 30 giorni
Beloved: A Novel

Azioni libro

Inizia a leggere

Informazioni sul libro

Beloved: A Novel

Lunghezza: 460 pagine6 ore

Descrizione

Shortlisted for the William Faulkner Award

"Gone Girl" by Gillian Flynn meets "Night Film" by Marisha Pessl in an atmospheric thriller. Perfect for fans of “Sharp Objects,” “The Handmaid’s Tale,” and “Stranger Things.”

When FBI agent Priya Conlin-Kumar tracks two different serial killers hunting in the same city, she hones in on the seemingly inhuman predator who continues slaughtering at whim.
The closer Priya gets, the more intense their battle becomes. Soon it touches all the law enforcement officers--female and male--assisting with the case. Inexplicable events make Priya and her lover, the county sheriff, wonder what’s really capturing the victims in a dark and strange web.
Showcasing a powerful female protagonist, "Beloved" blends the darkness of “Sharp Objects” with the ingenious depth of “Stranger Things.”

"Beloved" was supported by fellowships and art residency programs from the Vermont Studio Center and Wildacres Arts & Humanities Center.

“Author Laine Cunningham does an excellent job in creating a tightly structured, suspenseful story. The opening scene grabs the reader by the necktie and doesn’t let go. That’s a tall order for anyone, including the author who’s telling the tale from multiple points of view. Yet with polished transitions, an ear for realistic dialogue and a flair for getting inside each character’s head, readers find themselves caught in up in the borderline real/imaginary world. Well-written and powerful.” Writer’s Digest Ebook Award Judge, Jan 2018

"A rather extraordinary novel ... that is likely to become the recipient of many awards. This intensely compelling novel ... results in a tapestry so well woven that it literally is a story that remains with the reader permanently. Highly recommended." Grady Harp, Vine Voice

"Beloved ranks among the great thrillers of all time. Cunningham combines tenacity and courage along with profound insight to create a...disturbing yet fascinating ... story. It is impossible to read this book unmoved." Pamela King Cable, Author of Televenge, ALA Top Pick

"A captivating must read!" Robin Perron, Reviewer

"A hard look into hope and horror possible in the human mind." Rich C, Reviewer

"I found it difficult to put down [this] deep, dark novel." Jennifer Cameron-Smith, Top 1000 Reviewer

"Had me on the edge of my seat from the first paragraph to the last. This fast-paced thriller is incredibly well written-a dark sensation. The setting, the prose, the plot, all of it comes together to create a nail-biting story, which draws you in." Leah Griffith, Author Cosette's Tribe

"This story is beautiful, smart, ... with lyrical storytelling and strong character development." C. Hope Clark, Author Lowcountry Bribe and The Carolina Slade Mystery Series, Editor of award-winning FundsforWriters.com

Leggi altro