Trova il tuo prossimo audiolibro preferito

Abbonati oggi e ascolta gratis per 30 giorni
Serpent & Dove

Serpent & Dove


Serpent & Dove

valutazioni:
4.5/5 (823 valutazioni)
Lunghezza:
14 ore
Editore:
Pubblicato:
Sep 3, 2019
ISBN:
9780062964403
Formato:
Audiolibro

Descrizione

Bound as one, to love, honor, or burn. Book one of a stunning fantasy duology, this tale of witchcraft and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Sara Holland.

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.

As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation — marriage.

Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all.

Set in a world of powerful women, dark magic, and off-the-charts romance, book one of this stunning fantasy duology will leave listeners burning for more.

Editore:
Pubblicato:
Sep 3, 2019
ISBN:
9780062964403
Formato:
Audiolibro


Informazioni sull'autore

Shelby Mahurin grew up on a small farm in rural Indiana, where sticks became wands and cows became dragons. Her rampant imagination didn’t fade with age, so she continues to play make-believe every day—with words now instead of cows. She still lives near that childhood farm with her very tall husband and semiferal children. Serpent & Dove is her debut novel and is followed by Blood & Honey. Visit her online at www.shelbymahurin.com.

Correlato a Serpent & Dove

Audiolibri correlati
Articoli correlati

Recensioni

Cosa pensano gli utenti di Serpent & Dove

4.3
823 valutazioni / 45 Recensioni
Cosa ne pensi?
Valutazione: 0 su 5 stelle

Recensioni dei lettori

  • (4/5)
    I Trully enjoyed this book ❤️ loved the characters and storyline
  • (5/5)
    BEST audiobook out there, hands down! This deserves all the stars, it's so good!!
  • (4/5)
    This is such a beautiful Debut fantasy and I adore it.
  • (5/5)
    Thoroughly entertaining from start to finish! I would recommend :)
  • (5/5)
    It was interesting for sure a little confusing in the beginning but ah onto the next one !
  • (3/5)
    3,5 stars for this book.
    I was intrigued to read it since it was one of the books everybody hyped about in the BookTok.
    It is following the "from enemies to lovers" trend.
    The reviews were divided into complete opposites - you love or you hate the book. Apparently, I fall in between. It was interesting to listen to the audiobook, some character development is obvious, some surprising.
    Still, in the end, it didn't leave me with Book Hangover. Even not so eager to jump to the second book.
  • (4/5)
    Storyline was pretty good. The only thing that kind of bothered me was the male narrator. He has a very nasally voice that comes off as whiney most of the time. He also sounds like Miranda Sings randomly. The contrast between the male and female narrator is so great that it sounds like they're reading and describing completely different characters. The female narrator sounds so good that the male narrator just tends to fall flat in comparison.
  • (4/5)
    I wanted to relisten to this one before i read the next book but the audiobook skipped around it so much it i was glad I had actually read the book physically otherwise I wouldn’t of known really what was going on
  • (5/5)

    Amazing! The characters full of spirit, conflicts and there is actually have a personality. The narrators are also very good and are living up the characters.
  • (4/5)
    I enjoyed the love story and magical aspects of the book, as well as the relationships between characters. There are good messages of tolerance and understanding. Wish the language was cleaner, and that the female lead was toned down a bit. I thought she didn’t need to be so crass and crude to show strength, but I think the author did it on purpose to drive home the point that she is the complete opposite of the male lead. Overall, I liked it, but feel some aspects are not appropriate for a YA audience.
  • (5/5)
    Really loved it its a great mixture of romance and magic
  • (4/5)
    Witches vs The Holy Church. An arranged marriage. A child conceived for sacrifice. A forbidden love.

    I loved Serpent and Dove! It was a light, witty and such a fun read! This story was told beautifully and I loved every page of it! It was a perfect story about a world not being as black and white as it may seem.

    While a little slow to kick off I soon found myself unable to put this book down! I lived for the sas and banter between the main characters and the plot twist kept me on the edge of my seat. While I loved the idea of this world Shelby Mahurin created I can't help but to feel as if there is so much left untold. I would specifically like to know more about the witches and how their magic works.

    I loved every singe character, good and bad, and their development over time made my heart ache.

    Lou and Reid are from two very different worlds. One a witch, the other a witch hunter. A relationship between the two is unthinkable. When the Archbishop arranges a haisty marraige between the two Reid has no idea who Lou really is.
    The banter and sas between these two is amazing and Lou takes every opportunity to scandalise her new husband.
    The two slowly warm to one another and I loved watching their relationship unfold.
    The character development was amazing and I loved how Lou and Reid helped one another grow and open one anothers eyes to the vastly different worlds they each grew up in.

    If you are a fan of fantasy, witches and sassy, forbidden love I recommend you put this book on your TBR!
  • (5/5)
    HOLY HELL this book was fantastic. My new favorite new adult fantasy.
  • (2/5)
    The audiobook is much better than reading it physical. It could have just been better off as a full on new adult romance.
  • (5/5)
    I got sweped away in this amazing world of magic, memorable characters, great plot and even better character development. I can't wait for the sequel to be published.
  • (3/5)
    It was a slow burner.
    I’m not gonna lie, it was struggle to begin with, while the foundations were being built, but after that, it flowed much better! I really enjoyed once the relationships were established.
  • (5/5)
    I picked up this book because it mentioned witches, and I was not disappointed. Reid is a chasseur/witch hunter who marries Lou, a witch. Lou is hiding from her mother and to do see she disguises herself and agrees with getting married to Reid. Both dislike each other but slowly get to know one another. The ending of the book was great, it felt it had action and drama and can not wait to read the second book. If you like witches, drama, and magic, pick this up.
  • (5/5)
    Give me the sequel and give it to me now! I haven't been this obsessed with a young adult fantasy/adventure for years and I'm ALL IN!A witch is forced to marry a witch hunter... who doesn't know she's a witch. How can this possibly go wrong?! Delightful and full of characters that just reach out to you from the page and right into your heart. Funny, inventive, and endlessly witty. I won't say much more than that, other than I read this book in like one day. I couldn't put it down! As a final note, I will say I pictured the Archbishop (head of the witch hunters) as Frollo from Hunchback of Notre Dame. You're welcome.
  • (5/5)
    A great book! Loved the chemistry of Reed and Lou.
  • (5/5)
    loved it so much even though i felt the romance story was very repetitive but I loved it.
  • (4/5)
    I very much enjoyed the whole story behind SERPENT AND DOVE. The characters in SERPENT AND DOVE, definitely make the story strong. Lou was strong, smart and independent. Reid is an interesting character, but hard to read most of the time. I had a love/hate relationship throughout the book due to his beliefs, but going through the motion of learning about him, you understand where his prejudice is coming from and why. He doesn't quite live up to the man I thought he should be until it's almost too late. Lou and Reid are NOT in love, they don't even LIKE each other. They are forced together and tolerate each other for most of the book as they slowly learn to coexist, then like, then respect, then more. Lou and Coco's friendship is awesome! There is nothing like a bestie that has your back no matter what life throws at you.I had no trouble falling into the emotions of the story. I was heartbroken right alongside Lou at times and joyous at others. The world building wasn't the strongest aspect of the book, but the characters and their story make up for it in my opinion. I plan to read book two. * This book was provided free of charge from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
  • (4/5)
    It's been awhile since I enjoyed a book with a fresh plot line. Very easy read. I swallowed this book in two days because I couldn't put it down. I love Lou and Reid as a couple and separately. The secondary characters are dynamic and believable. I even loved the villains. The story kept me locked in and hungry for more. I can't wait for book two.

    Few things I didn't love. I felt the dialogue could've used some maturity. I know the book is geared toward YA but it would have benefited from intelligent dialogue. Second, Lou was consistently immature with no personal growth. Being that she had been through so much, I felt she should've changed and matured by the end of the book. Change in characters and character development are what keep the readers coming back. Third, being Lou is suppose to be this rebel, I felt the acceptance of the marriage was out of character for her. There should've been more rebellion and maybe a waiting period before she accepted.

    Being that this is the author's debut novel. I felt it was good overall. If you want an easy read, this is a great book for you.
  • (1/5)
    This is just not worth it. The story has too much mygonisism themes in this I rather read truthwitch
  • (5/5)
    I loved the female narrator’s voice!!! It helped bring me into the story I am very excited for book 2 (although I wish I had waited a few months before reading this, the wait is going to be killer)
  • (3/5)
    It was a very predictable, but fun book. It's heavily focused on romance, so if you're looking for a book with an intricate plot line and complex characters this isn't it.
  • (5/5)
    The book 5?but the narrations didnt like that much .
  • (5/5)
    I F**KING LOVED IT
    READ. THIS. BOOK. NOW.
    this is a shiny sparkle of hope among all the trash we’ve seen lately in the young adult publishing business. highly recommend it, a simply brilliant debut, nothing like you’ve seen before
    shelby mahurin, i want the sequel on my table RIGHT NOW
  • (4/5)
    This was a very entertaining love story, perfect for all fantasy romance lovers out there, read alternately by a male and female reader. The woman really did our female protagonist justice, but I must confess to finding the man’s interpretation of witch voices slightly grating
  • (3/5)
    Definitely enjoyed it. Has potential to be a great series.
  • (5/5)
    I absolutely loved this! I will say the first 30% or so kind of annoyed me for being slow and not making explanations but the rest of the book totally made up for it.