Trova il tuo prossimo audiolibro preferito

Abbonati oggi e ascolta gratis per 30 giorni
Saving Winslow: A Novel

Saving Winslow: A Novel

Scritto da Sharon Creech

Narrato da Kirby Heyborne


Saving Winslow: A Novel

Scritto da Sharon Creech

Narrato da Kirby Heyborne

valutazioni:
4/5 (26 valutazioni)
Lunghezza:
2 ore
Editore:
Pubblicato:
Sep 11, 2018
ISBN:
9780062855503
Formato:
Audiolibro

Descrizione

Perfect for fans of Charlotte's Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie's quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.

Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings.

Editore:
Pubblicato:
Sep 11, 2018
ISBN:
9780062855503
Formato:
Audiolibro


Informazioni sull'autore

Sharon Creech has written twenty-one books for young people and is published in over twenty languages. Her books have received awards in both the U.S. and abroad, including the Newbery Medal for Walk Two Moons, the Newbery Honor for The Wanderer, and Great Britain’s Carnegie Medal for Ruby Holler. Before beginning her writing career, Sharon Creech taught English for fifteen years in England and Switzerland. She and her husband now live in Maine, “lured there by our grandchildren,” Creech says. www.sharoncreech.com

Correlato a Saving Winslow

Audiolibri correlati

Recensioni

Cosa pensano gli utenti di Saving Winslow

4.2
26 valutazioni / 5 Recensioni
Cosa ne pensi?
Valutazione: 0 su 5 stelle

Recensioni dei lettori

  • (4/5)
    How can anyone not love Sharon Creech's work? Impossible. This short, sweet story will (excuse the cliche) tug at your heartstrings. Louie is caring for Winslow, a tiny donkey born to an ailing mother who is not able to care for him. Louie defies anyone who says Winslow might not make it. He himself was born premature and tiny and HE made it. But the brother of his new friend Nora had not made it; she's afraid to get close to anyone or anything that might leave or die. Add to this Louie missing his older brother who is serving in the army. And then there's the neighbor who complains constantly that the donkey (as Winslow—spoiler alert—begins to grow stronger) is waking her baby with his noise. And his friend Mack's love life. And Louie's tender heart and an artist's way of looking at the world.Yesterday I would have told you that donkeys don't interest me. Today, I cried reading about a fictional one. Adding this to our grade 4 and 5 school library immediately. While it is a book for everyone, it's a bonus that the short chapters will appeal to my reluctant readers. And once they read this, I'll have them hooked on books. Thanks, Sharon.
  • (5/5)
    10 year old Louie hasn't had much luck with nurturing small animals, so when his uncle asks him to care for a tiny frail newborn donkey, he's determined this animal is going to make it. He names him Winslow, and makes a bed for him where he can keep an eye on him all night, takes great care of him and makes sure no one gets away with saying he isn't going to make it. The little donkey makes Louie miss his brother Gus whose in the army less. He meets a girl named Nora who has losses of her own. Can a weak little donkey change lives? Good for grades 3-5.
  • (4/5)
    A loving story of a boy who doesn't give up on a sickly donkey and becomes all the stronger for it.
  • (5/5)
    SAVING WINSLOW is a truly heart-warming story of a boy befriending a sick mini donkey. Louie is used to his father bringing home fatally ill animals from his uncle’s farm. But when he father brings home a scrawny little donkey Louie is determined that Winslow (as Louie names him) will NOT die. Louis misses his brother Gus who is away serving in the military but he finds that caring for Winslow helps Louie somehow feel closer to his brother.Everyone is so sure that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie’s classmate Nora. After the deaths of a baby brother and her dog, Nora is reluctant to get close to anything or anyone. But how can anyone turn away from cute little Winslow!This is a beautifully written uplifting story of friendships and love. Perfect for ages 8-12.Thank you to HarperCollins Children’s Books and Joanna Cotler Books for the advance copy to review.
  • (5/5)
    I’m speechless.. It’s amazing! The way Louie misses Gus but Winslow is there for him... Just amazing!