Trova il tuo prossimo audiolibro preferito

Abbonati oggi e ascolta gratis per 30 giorni
All the Beautiful Lies: A Novel

All the Beautiful Lies: A Novel


All the Beautiful Lies: A Novel

valutazioni:
4/5 (141 valutazioni)
Lunghezza:
9 ore
Editore:
Pubblicato:
Apr 3, 2018
ISBN:
9780062802958
Formato:
Audiolibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro

Nota del redattore

Intricately woven…

Peter Swanson (of “The Kind Worth Killing” fame) takes some tips from Patricia Highsmith’s playbook in this intricately woven novel. A young man about to graduate college learns his father may have been murdered and finds himself caught between two suspicious, sensual women.

Descrizione

From the acclaimed author of Her Every Fear and The Kind Worth Killing comes a diabolically clever tale of obsession, revenge, and cold-blooded murder—a sly and brilliant guessing game of a novel in the vein of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Patricia Highsmith.

Harry Ackerson has always considered his stepmother Alice to be sexy and beautiful, in an "otherworldly" way. She has always been kind and attentive, if a little aloof in the last few years.

Days before his college graduation, Alice calls with shocking news. His father is dead and the police think it's suicide. Devastated, Harry returns to his father's home in Maine. There, he and Alice will help each other pick up of the pieces of their lives and uncover what happened to his father.

Shortly after he arrives, Harry meets a mysterious young woman named Grace McGowan. Though she claims to be new to the area, Harry begins to suspect that Grace may not be a complete stranger to his family. But she isn't the only attractive woman taking an interest in Harry. The sensual Alice is also growing closer, coming on to him in an enticing, clearly sexual way.

Mesmerized by these two women, Harry finds himself falling deeper under their spell. Yet the closer he gets to them, the more isolated he feels, disoriented by a growing fear that both women are hiding dangerous—even deadly—secrets . . . and that neither one is telling the truth.

Editore:
Pubblicato:
Apr 3, 2018
ISBN:
9780062802958
Formato:
Audiolibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro


Informazioni sull'autore

Peter Swanson is the author of seven novels, including The Kind Worth Killing, winner of the New England Society Book Award, and finalist for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger; Her Every Fear, an NPR book of the year; Before She Knew Him, and Eight Perfect Murders. His books have been translated into 30 languages, and his stories, poetry, and features have appeared in Asimov’s Science Fiction, The Atlantic Monthly, Measure, The Guardian, The Strand Magazine, and Yankee Magazine. He lives outside of Boston, where he is at work on his next novel.

Correlato a All the Beautiful Lies

Audiolibri correlati
Articoli correlati

Recensioni

Cosa pensano gli utenti di All the Beautiful Lies

4.1
141 valutazioni / 18 Recensioni
Cosa ne pensi?
Valutazione: 0 su 5 stelle

Recensioni dei lettori

  • (3/5)
    All the Beautiful Lies is a suspenseful read, but take it at face value. If you try to analyze the characters and the story, it may cause you to enjoy it less. I am glad I read this before reading all the reviews because I might not have read it after. I enjoyed the story and read it quite quickly to find out what would happen next. There were a lot of twists in the story, some that were quite surprising.

    When Harry Ackerson gets a phone call from his step-mother, Alice, telling him his father had died, he heads to Maine to help with the funeral and the book store. What he finds out when he gets there, changes the way he thinks about his father. At first it was thought to be a suicide, but later it is determined that it was murder. Even though beautiful, cold Alice appears to be grieving for Bill, Harry thinks there’s something not quite right about her. The narrative is told in two time periods referred to as then and now. We find out about Alice's past and how she ended up as a real estate agent married to Bill Ackerson. In then, the narrator is Harry and we find out about his father and what he is going through.

    My main issue with All the Beautiful Lies is that it felt a bit hollow. We find out about the past of the characters, but they still feel like shells to me. Even though the character development was not what I would have liked, I still enjoyed the book. I liked the idea of the book store and how books were so important in both Harry's and his father's life. It was nice to see that Harry used plots of mysteries he remembered that helped him to figure out what was really going on in the story. I will also say that the ending was not what I expected but it was karma. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book via Edelweiss.
  • (4/5)
    In true Peter Swanson fashion, this book takes you through many twists and turns before everything makes sense. About halfway through I did predict the ending, but the first half was so good.

    I do like that this book came to a satisfying conclusion, rather than some of his earlier works which left the reader guessing what happened.

    It was a quick read, fast-paced and highly enjoyable.
  • (5/5)
    Looking for a good book to start the New Year? Peter Swanson's All The Beautiful Lies is the one. It has murder, obsession, revenge and a story that keeps you guessing until the end. My only regret is that I could only give it 5 stars.
  • (4/5)
    Not as good as his first three domestic thrillers, this one is set in coastal Maine and has Swanson's trademark notorious BIG TWIST at the very end. Read the first three first.
  • (3/5)
    Story lacks intrigue, it is just disturbing instead. Would not recommend it.
  • (4/5)
    A light and easy enjoyable read with believable characters in unusual circumstances.
  • (4/5)
    it was pretty Good. nice twist and Turn
    good for book club
  • (4/5)
    This book had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. I wasn't expecting the ending!!!
  • (5/5)
    The characters and twists and turns made this book mesmerizing.
  • (5/5)
    Such a good book! The twisted background stories kept me interested.
  • (4/5)
    I had grown weary of this genre but I needed a book to listen to on my car ride. This story held my attention. The despicable characters were well written and entirely creepy people. Loved the ending!!
  • (4/5)
    All The Beautiful Lies is another well-plotted psychological thriller by Peter Swanson.Harry, who has just graduated from college, is always mesmerized by Alice, his stepmother, since the day she married his father a few years ago.When Alice breaks the shocking news that his dad has fallen to his death during his regular walk, Harry is so devastated because he is now left alone, just him and his stepmom… As time goes by, Harry discovers more secrets and lies about his father’s death, and then some! Is the death ruled as an accident or something else? How well does he really know Alice? Who is the young attractive woman that attends his father’s funeral? As one turns the pages, there are twists and turns till the end.I have read and love Peter Swanson’s Her Every Fear, knowing that he has potential to be a great author. All The Beautiful Lies does not disappoint me – it is another good read, and I recommend his novels to anyone who loves suspense thrillers!Thank you to William Morrow / Harper Collins , Peter Swanson and Goodreads for giving me the opportunity to enjoy this thriller.
  • (5/5)
    (NON SPOILER REVIEW ) Its my third book by Peter Swanson and now I'm a fan. I loved this book. There was little bit of mystery to this novel , more of crazy psychotic characters which always you'll get in Peter Swanson's novels. Okay so there is like two major twist in it (with several small twists ) , I sensed the first but the thing which caught me off guard is the ending. Dang that was an ending.. I highly recommend it !!
  • (3/5)
    The narrator’s voice was a bit robotic so I found it hard to get into. The story itself was good and kept me going to the end.
  • (5/5)
    Great read with a lot of twists threw out the book.
  • (2/5)

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile

    This ode to pedophilia got more repellent the further I read. The allure of sex between adults and adolescents (especially stepparent /stepchild sex) was more prevalent than any psychological suspense or mystery. And these nasty folks also occasionally murder each other with very weak motives. This was definitely not up to the standards of "The Kind Worth Killing" or "The Girl With a Clock for a Heart".

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile

  • (4/5)
    A special thank you to Edelweiss and HarperCollins for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.Alternating between past and present, Swanson's newest domestic psychological thriller is a standout in the genre which seems to be increasingly popular as of late. Harry Ackerson is set to graduate from college when he receives word from his stepmother, Alice, that his father has died in what appears to be a suicide. Devastated, Harry skips his graduation ceremony and travels to his late father's home in Maine. Harry and Alice lean on one another to pick up the pieces after such a monumental loss. For Harry, things start to become uncomfortable and awkward with Alice—he has always considered her attractive, and she has been nothing short of kind to him. Alice is also 15 years younger than his father was.A mysterious young woman named Grace makes Harry's acquaintance shortly after he arrives. She claims to be new to the area, but she was at Harry's father's funeral. Things aren't adding up, and Grace seems to know more than she is letting on. Grace is not the only woman with interest in Harry, Alice is also growing closer and ends up seducing him. The more involved Harry gets to with these women, the more he realizes that he doesn't know them at all. Both women are hiding secrets and the truth about who they really are. Things are not what they appear, including his father's death which is now looking like murder.Swanson excels at character development and this novel is no exception. He has a gift for writing characters that are boarder on being psychotic, yet believable. There is a cleverness and preciseness to Swanson's storytelling without being overly dark. With just enough plot twists, the story is not predicable or confusing. If you like psychological thrillers, I encourage you to pick up this, or any of Peter Swanson's other books.
  • (3/5)

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile

    Think it might be time for me to take a psychological thriller break again. They are all blending together, and the plots just seem to darn familiar. Am in the minority in my rating and review for this one, but that has happened before and I'm sure will happen again. Loved the setting, not that many books are set to n Maine and from the descriptions it sounds gorgeous. The rest of the book was rather predictable, easy to guess what was coming next. A few of the plot twists, didn't make sense. One in particular I couldn't understand the reason for, and it kind of disappeared, no meaning forthcoming. Didn't particularly care for these characters, even Harry, who was for all intents and purposes meant to be the good guy. He was, I suppose, but also naive and some of his actions didn't make much sense either. It was fast paced, but the reason I am giving it even three stars is the ending. That came out of nowhere and was surprising. So a rather quick but predictable read that pulled itself up by the ending.ARC from Edelweiss.

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile