Trova il tuo prossimo audiolibro preferito

Abbonati oggi e ascolta gratis per 30 giorni
The Poet X

The Poet X


The Poet X

valutazioni:
4.5/5 (1,758 valutazioni)
Lunghezza:
3 ore
Editore:
Pubblicato:
Mar 6, 2018
ISBN:
9780062822482
Formato:
Audiolibro

Nota del redattore

Packs a punch…

First-generation Dominican American Xiomara Batista is trying to grapple with gender and race and religion and sexuality and parents who think of her as trouble. Written in verse, every vignette packs a punch, every image painted is so vivid.

Descrizione

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing #ownvoices novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

Editore:
Pubblicato:
Mar 6, 2018
ISBN:
9780062822482
Formato:
Audiolibro

Informazioni sull'autore

Elizabeth Acevedo is the author of The Poet X—which won the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, the Pura Belpré Award, the Boston Globe–Horn Book Award, and the Walter Award—as well as With the Fire on High and Clap When You Land. She is a National Poetry Slam champion and holds an MFA in creative writing from the University of Maryland. Acevedo lives with her partner in Washington, DC. You can find out more about her at www.acevedowrites.com.



Recensioni

Cosa pensano gli utenti di The Poet X

4.6
1758 valutazioni / 134 Recensioni
Cosa ne pensi?
Valutazione: 0 su 5 stelle

Recensioni dei lettori

  • (5/5)
    Xiomara Batista doesn't seem to fit in her life. A Dominican American, she clashes with her ultra religious mother and pushes others away with her fierceness and fists. Her notebook is her life: her poetry that speaks for her. The Poet X is a powerful narrative of a young woman coming into her personal strength and changing the world for herself and her family.
  • (5/5)
    This is the first verse novel that I have read this year. Every page makes me want to nod my head to show how every part seems relatable or somehow understandable to me. Sometimes, I feel like I’m reading a part of my life through this book, and I feel nostalgic about how some words reminds me of some happy and hurtful past. In this book, you will discover how Xiomara was raised by a family who imposed strict rules and sees religion a vital part of their life. How every move of her has bad feedbacks from her mother. How she can’t freely do something, she wanted. How writing saves her from hating her life because it is what will change her life since she discovers the slam poetry club.I admire how the author makes me like this novel. I have read a solid and moving read. There is something to learn about her in every turn of the pages. Something to learn not just about herself but also about the family she lived with, the people around her, and the issues that until now still exist. After reading it, I agree that her experiences really do happen, but some were only ignored or not entirely taken seriously by some people. This book also discusses in-depth topics that everyone should be aware of.The way it was written added more enjoyable moment for me to read it. Unlike the traditional way of writing stories, this one was written in poetry style. So, the time it took me to finish, this is only a few hours. But! In that few hours, every part of this book gives a significant impact on me, especially I, somehow, relate to her story. Also, when I was reading it, it was like someone was just telling me their stories as if that talking person is in front of me.This is really a great read, I’m telling you. I really recommend that you read this if you want to know or to feel what I experienced in reading this book. If you are a woman, read this. If you are someone who grew up in a strict and religion-centered family, you better have a copy of this book. And if you happen to become intrigued by this book, then you really should have this as your next read.Disclaimer: I received an advanced readers copy of this book from HarperCollins through Karina of Afire Pages.
  • (4/5)
    I was drawn into this book because of the hype, and it was worth every bit of it. I loved this book from the first pages, the first verses. The only reason I gave this four instead of five stars is that I perhaps over identified and there is a violation in this book that I experienced so viscerally that I couldn't get past it. (her mother burning Xiomara's notebook) Xiomara and her mother reconciled by the book's end, but I was still so mad that I couldn't get there. I really needed some more emotional work in putting that back together. Of a specific culture and moment -- yet so raw and relatable. I dare you not to fall in love with Xiomara -- especially if you were ever the sort to fill notebooks with poetry or challenge the theology in your Sunday school class.
  • (4/5)
    Xiomara is a character many teenagers will relate to. She's weak and strong, confident and perplexed, happy and sad. These juxtapositions add to her character and make her seem real. The verse style of writing fits perfectly. Excellent YA!
  • (5/5)
    I decided to bump this book up on my tbr pile because I discovered that it featured a black Latina. I think that kind of representation is important because colorism is so evident in every part of the world. In Latin America most entertainment leads are light skinned and have lightened and keratin treated soft hair leaving our darker skinned cousins without representation.Xiomara is a 15 year old Dominican American girl living in Harlem. She has a religious mother, an absent father, and a twin named Xavier that she affectionately refers to as “Twin”. Through her poems we see her true feelings about religion, sex, family, and growing up. A young Afro-Latina is given a voice through words and although it takes about 30 seconds to read each page, they’re all full of life. I’m inspired by these types of stories. Sometimes you want beautiful passages describing a neighborhood but other times you need something straight to the point. In few words I enjoy reading between the lines and imagining Xiomara’s life. I highly recommend this story for anyone wanting a glimpse of what it is like to be a biracial teenager in a religous household.
  • (4/5)
    This is a novel told in verse: slam poetry about a slam poet by a slam poet. Read by one too, not incidentally. If you're not listening to this as an audiobook you are missing out. Acevedo's voice is inextricably Xiomara's. This made my heart just ache.