Trova il tuo prossimo audiolibro preferito

Abbonati oggi e ascolta gratis per 30 giorni
Calling My Name

Calling My Name

Scritto da Liara Tamani

Narrato da Imani Parks


Calling My Name

Scritto da Liara Tamani

Narrato da Imani Parks

valutazioni:
3.5/5 (13 valutazioni)
Lunghezza:
6 ore
Editore:
Pubblicato:
Oct 24, 2017
ISBN:
9780062688293
Formato:
Audiolibro

Descrizione

Calling My Name, by debut author Liara Tamani, is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self—ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros.

This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and it deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose.

Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, Calling My Name follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that deftly captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.

Editore:
Pubblicato:
Oct 24, 2017
ISBN:
9780062688293
Formato:
Audiolibro


Informazioni sull'autore

Liara Tamani lives in Houston, Texas. She holds an MFA in writing from Vermont College. She is the author of the acclaimed Calling My Name, which was a 2018 PEN America Literary Award Finalist and a 2018 SCBWI Golden Kite Finalist, and All the Things We Never Knew. www.liaratamani.com

Correlato a Calling My Name


Recensioni

Cosa pensano gli utenti di Calling My Name

3.7
13 valutazioni / 3 Recensioni
Cosa ne pensi?
Valutazione: 0 su 5 stelle

Recensioni dei lettori

  • (3/5)
    "Calling My Name" had an extremely slow start but, thankfully, it did improve in the second-half of the book when Taja was at high school.I have to admit, I wasn't a big fan of this book despite feeling sorry for Taja who questioned her beliefs and struggled to fit in with her ultra-conservative family. Taja was never able to ask her parents questions as they were forever giving her a sermon each time she did. Her friends weren't very helpful either, and I hated how Andre, her boyfriend, treated her at the end. Therefore, Taja's coming-of-age journey was a lonely one, but I think she was stronger by the end because of it.Basically, I found the writing choppy and since it had very little plot line making "Calling My Name" was a slow and tedious read most of the time.
  • (3/5)
    I had mixed reactions to this book. On the one hand, the writing is beautiful and poetic. It is a book filled with introspection and deeply personal thoughts, which I liked.But it isn't a novel in any traditional sense. It doesn't tell a story. Most of the 50 odd chapters are unrelated story-wise from each other. Here and there a single thread will carry through several chapters, but only briefly.Each chapter is one tiny snapshot into Taja Brown's life. All other characters are distant secondary players, as all focus is on Taja's own thoughts, personal battles, strengths, weaknesses, etc. When I finished a chapter, nothing compelled e to keep reading, to see what would happen next, because whatever story there was in that chapter (and many of the chapters are pretty much just Taja's thoughts, with no story at all) would not be picked up in the next chapter. An added difficulty is that the book covers many years of Taja's life, from sometime in middle school I gather, up to high school graduation, yet there is nothing at any point to let the reader know where in this timeline we are. From a literary standpoint, I don't think any of that is a weakness. It just wasn't the kind of book that appeals to me as much as one with a plot, holding it all together. I suppose I'm a bit too shallow to fully appreciate this one, even though I recognize the lovely writing.Perhaps I should say, this one of the best books I've ever read that I didn't like all that much.
  • (5/5)
    YA FICTIONLiara TamaniCalling My NameGreenwillow BooksHardcover, 978-0-0626-5686-5, (also available as an e-book, an audiobook, and on Audible), 320 pgs., $17.99October 24, 2017 Taja Brown is playing hooky from church in favor of a spiritual awakening. “There’s something moving inside … my body,” she tells us,” tiptoeing across the high arches of my feet, break-dancing on my kneecaps, running figure eights around my hips … skipping up my sides, and climbing up to my shoulders’ peaks.” Taja has awakened this morning to the miracle of autonomy—the breathtaking realization that she is a separate being from her parents and siblings—and the knowledge that God is inside her, so much sweeter than “the tasteless lessons [she] swallows in Sunday school.” We follow Taja through first bras and first periods, boys, peer pressure, ambition, loss, and the longing for “space for mystery and mistakes.” Taja regards the future apprehensively as she witnesses the disappointments and failures of the adults around her, and the death of her great-grandmother. She tests boundaries, eyeing freedom but not quite ready to try; she’s practicing, but still needs the reassuring, safe harbor of home. Calling My Name is finely wrought young-adult fiction by Houston’s Liara Tamani. Her debut novel about an African American girl coming-of-age in the 1980s in Texas is powerfully reminiscent of, and compares favorably with, Judy Blume’s seminal Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret (Random House, 1970). Calling My Name is a sensory experience, beginning with the beautifully designed jacket; tendrils of climbing roses, delicate yet strong, curl across it and throughout the pages. Tamani structures Calling My Name in instructive vignettes representative of her journey from middle school through high-school graduation. Tamani’s writing is lyrical and tactile. A thunderstorm approaches and “a hungry growl rolls through the clouds’ dark bellies.” When Taja’s parents produce a chastity contract for her and her first boyfriend, we feel acutely her humiliation. Tamani uses a father’s job loss to illustrate the singular, selfish focus of teenagers. When Taja’s family visits great-grandmother Gigi, sick with cancer, Taja contemplates the railing on the apartment balcony, “the black paint peeling … the red rust underneath, taking over.”Passages resonate with the frisson of recognition. “There’s something wrong with my walk when I’m alone and have to walk past a group of boys,” Taja thinks. “They’re everywhere, these stupid, ugly boys. Judging me. Making everywhere I walk feel like a runway.” The exquisite surprise at the first touch of a boy “pulsing and rising and pulsing and rising from a low, untouched place,” and the confusion at the realization that this sensation and love are not the same thing. Religion features strongly in Taja’s life. Her parents are evangelical Christians, and Taja begins to chafe under the restrictions and to question differing standards of conduct and liberty applied to her and her older brother. God is a source of power and comfort for Taja, as is the memory of her great-grandmother Gigi, a more pagan source. Taja’s first-person narration is a joy—sensitive, observant, smart, funny, and vulnerable. Taja’s interior voice matures in nuance as she grows from a pubescent girl into a young woman, as she discovers and attempts to sort the many diverse things of this wide world that call her name. Learning to integrate the inside and the out, she tells us, “I’m busy noticing I’m alive.” I can’t wait to read what Tamani gifts to us next.Originally published in Lone Star Literary Life.