Trova il tuo prossimo audiolibro preferito

Abbonati oggi e ascolta gratis per 30 giorni
The Butcher

The Butcher

Scritto da Jennifer Hillier

Narrato da Dan John Miller


The Butcher

Scritto da Jennifer Hillier

Narrato da Dan John Miller

valutazioni:
4/5 (65 valutazioni)
Lunghezza:
9 ore
Pubblicato:
Jul 15, 2014
ISBN:
9781491510551
Formato:
Audiolibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro

Descrizione

A rash of grisly serial murders plagued Seattle until the infamous "Beacon Hill Butcher" was finally hunted down and killed by police chief Edward Shank in 1985. Now, some thirty years later, Shank, retired and widowed, is giving up his large rambling Victorian house to his grandson Matt, whom he helped raise.

Settling back into his childhood home and doing some renovations in the backyard to make the house feel like his own, Matt, a young up-and-coming chef and restaurateur, stumbles upon a locked crate he's never seen before. Curious, he picks the padlock and makes a discovery so gruesome it will forever haunt him…. Faced with this deep dark family secret, Matt must decide whether to keep what he knows buried in the past, go to the police, or take matters into his own hands.

Meanwhile Matt's girlfriend, Sam, has always suspected that her mother was murdered by the Beacon Hill Butcher-two years after the supposed Butcher was gunned down. As she pursues leads that will prove her right, Sam heads right into the path of Matt's terrible secret.

A thriller with taut, fast-paced suspense, and twists around every corner, The Butcher will keep you guessing until the bitter, bloody end.

Pubblicato:
Jul 15, 2014
ISBN:
9781491510551
Formato:
Audiolibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro


Informazioni sull'autore

JENNIFER HILLIER was born and raised in Toronto, Canada, lived in the Seattle area for years, and has just moved back to Toronto with her husband and son. Jennifer is the author of Wonderland, Creep, and Jar of Hearts.

Correlato a The Butcher

Audiolibri correlati
Articoli correlati

Recensioni

Cosa pensano gli utenti di The Butcher

4.2
65 valutazioni / 20 Recensioni
Cosa ne pensi?
Valutazione: 0 su 5 stelle

Recensioni dei lettori

  • (2/5)
    Interesting concept that started off very promising. Perhaps it was the narrator, but the female characters seemed vapid and couldn't be taken seriously. I was hoping the ending would be more climactic, instead I was left disappointed. I think if Lifetime give it a whirl they could be more creative and excite things up a bit for the ending - and I'm not really a Lifetime movie fan so that's saying something.
  • (5/5)
    This book was well narrated, developed at a good pace. Lots of suspense, although some details are very gruesome. It is about a serial killer after all. It’s a good book!
  • (5/5)
    So well done! A little vulgar, but thats accurate to the personality if the characters and story line. So many twists and kept me wanting more and more!
  • (5/5)
    This was a very good book kept me interested right to the very end !! Can’t wait to listen to more books by this author ?
  • (4/5)
    Kept my interest and narrator did well. Would recommend it
  • (5/5)
    Good book with a lot of suspense and characters. Kept my interest the whole time
  • (5/5)
    I was so confused going into this book because some places said this is the last in the Creep trilogy, I while other places (GRs) doesn't say that. After reading it, I realized it could be considered the final book, but you don't need to read the rest. It's more of a spin off, where events from Creep/Freak are mentioned. This was my last book by Jennifer Hillier that I had to read, and that makes me sad because I love her books so much. I enjoyed the "twists" to this story but they were kind of predictable.
  • (1/5)
    Poorly written and the female characters are all very dumbed down fodder for the plot. Police are completely clueless and completely blinded to facts. The writer even treats the reader as if we are clueless by constantly giving refreshers to who people are, what their dreams and goals are, and overly explaining their drives.
  • (4/5)
    I won this wonderful book through a First Reads contest, and I'm glad that I did. This isn't exactly a mystery since we find out who the serial killer is in the first few pages, but a great novel of suspense is definitely what you get. I applaud the author for trying a different take on the mystery/thriller/suspense story and I enjoyed how she pulled it off. Although we know who the killer is from the beginning, we wait page by page to find out if his cover will be blown and how he'll eventually be taken down. The story is interesting, definitely a page-turner, and the 4 main characters are all compelling. The details of the killings depicted in this book may be too gruesome for some people, but if you like this genre you'll enjoy the gory parts. I will be looking for other books by this author.
  • (3/5)
    The book opens with a flashback to April 1985. The pacific northwest, from Oregon to British Columbia, has been gripped with fear for months due to a serial killer nicknamed the Butcher. But that's about to change. Outside a rundown apartment building in Seattle, police confront their prime suspect & are forced to open fire. With his death, the city breathes a sigh of a relief & Capt. Edward Shanks is hailed a hero. The publicity ensures his rapid rise to chief of police, a position he will hold 'til retirement.
    In present day, we find Edward emptying out the old victorian he's lived in for 30 years. His wife & daughter are dead & keeping up the place has become a chore. So he's signed it over to his grandson Matt & moved into a retirement complex. After their daughter Lucy committed suicide as a teenager, Edward & his wife Marisol raised Matt. Edward had hoped Matt would follow in his footsteps but he took after his grandmother instead. Matt always loved her Filipino cooking so armed with her recipes, he became a chef & years of hard work have paid off. He owns 2 popular food trucks, a trendy restaurant & is about to star in a reality show for a foodie TV channel.
    Moving back into his childhood home is the icing on the cake for Matt & he has big plans for the place. But they do not include asking long time girlfriend Sam to move in with him.
    Sam is a writer of true crime books & is currently researching the Butcher case for her next one. Having access to Edward is a great resource but she chose the case for personal reasons. Her mother was murdered in 1987 when Sam was a toddler. She's always believed the police shot the wrong man in '85 & the real Butcher killed her mother 2 years later. Det. Robert Sanchez was the cop who investigated her mother's death. No arrests were ever made but they've stayed in touch & 20 years later, Sam considers him a friend.
    Her best friend is Jason, a former Seattle Seahawk who has had her back since they were kids. He introduced her to Matt & the three frequently hang together along with Jason's bimbo du jour. But lately, it's just Sam & Jason as Matt's timetable is jam packed. Sam thought they would take the next step when Matt got the chief's house but Matt made it clear he's happy with the status quo. For the first time, Sam begins to question his priorities & their relationship.
    As for Matt, his biggest concern is getting started on a big ass deck for a hot tub on the back of the house. During excavation, the contractors unearth a locked crate. It's damaged & Matt moves it inside, figuring he'll call the chief to come get his buried treasure. But when it accidentally splits open, what he finds inside will tear his life wide open & make him question everything he knows about his grandfather, mother & himself. Who hid a box containing women's underwear & a collection of severed left hands?
    I don't want to spill any beans but the author reveals several shocking truths early on so we know the identity of the bad guy for most of the book. In his own words, he tells the reader how, who & why he killed plus how much he enjoyed it. He's also not done.
    I enjoy thrillers so really wanted to like this book but in the end, it was just an ok read. It's difficult to explain without including spoilers but the main reason was certain elements of the story require the reader to suspend disbelief & accept convenient coincidences. There are several instances where a character did or said something that seemed completely implausible & just didn't ring true but were useful to the author as plot devices. This leads to a problem with credibility. And once you begin to doubt aspects of the plot, it yanks you out of the story & you become more of an observer as opposed to being absorbed in it. There are also errors in police & medical procedures...minor but avoidable with a little research.
    Because we know the identity of the killers within the first few chapters, the book becomes more of a psychological character study than thriller, although the last bit is fast paced as we approach the resolution.
    Matt in particular struggles under the burden of huge secrets & faces a moral dilemma. Coming clean would ensure a psychopath could never kill again but will ruin his life. It's a test of his integrity as he tries to rationalize his decisions. Can you live with not doing the right thing? Isn't blood thicker than water? Can you ever really know someone?
    His internal conflict might have been more interesting & effective if he was a likeable character. The reader would have sympathized with his position & be more invested in his fate but trust me on this...he's a dick.
    By the end, the results of other's actions & the police investigation render his decisions moot as events spin out of control. The main characters who physically survive the final showdown have emotional wounds to deal with as the fallout rocks the entire city.
    There is also a tie in to the author's previous 2 books with the mention of a character who was prominent in both. As always, it's a matter of taste & if you've read those & enjoyed her style of story telling, no doubt you'll like this as well.
  • (3/5)
    I've never read this author before and not sure I will again. This book wasn't bad, but she tells you who the killer is within a few chapters. There were also very little to like about the main characters. Maybe if there had been a bit more mystery in this book it would've been more exciting to read. I like to try and figure out what's going on or who the killer is instead this author told me everything leaving very little too the imagination.Thanks to Netgalley for the ARC.
  • (4/5)
    I can remember discovering this author when she first came out in the book world with Creep. Then it was Freak and now it is The Butcher. This author is "creeping" up there as one of my favorites in the murder genre. This book was dark, had plenty of gore, and bodies piling up fast which made for a fast read. Like finishing this book in a matter of several hours. From the moment that I read the back cover and the summary of this story, I knew already who the killer was. I was right. So no surprises there. In fact, there were no real surprises other then Matt's girlfriend, Sam and the police did not know who the killer was. Even though all the clues were right in front of their face. Warning: There is crude language used and descriptive writing of rape. So if you are easily offended by these things than don't read this book.
  • (2/5)
    Title - The ButcherAuthor - Jennifer HillierSummary - Edward Shank is a retired Chief of Police in Seattle, recently widowed with only one relative; his grandson Matt. Edward is a complex man, a law officer, devoted husband, father and grandfather to the child he raised. He is also a respected detective who brought to end the terror that had gripped Seattle in the early eighties. By hunting down and killing the serial murderer known as the Beacon Hill Butcher. Matt Shank, Edward's grandson, is a celebrity chef whose growing fame is becoming too difficult to handle. His anger issues drive him to jealousy and violence. Matt is working to keep this dark side under control but as he inherits his grandfather's home, secrets will come to light that will take Matt over the edge. Samantha, Matt's girlfriend, is a writer who is relentlessly researching the Beacon Hill Butcher murders. Her teenage mother was murdered shortly after Edward Shank killed the Butcher. The problem is that Samantha is convinced that the man Shank killed was not the Butcher. That the Butcher killed her mother and she must find a way to prove it."..God, how he missed his wife. The house hadn't been the same without her these past few months. Reaching out, he once again touched the dent on the side of the Mathushek, left there from when he'd smashed her head into it four months ago. At least he'd managed to get all the blood out of the carved roses before calling 9-1-1, despite his arthritic hands. One must always be careful cleaning up after a kill..." Secrets and lies ride a rollercoaster collision course in this mystery as Edward, Matt and Sam must make sense of the present with the haunting murders of the past. Murders, that Sam is convinced, are still going on today.Review - I received the uncorrected reader's proof of this novel from Netgalley for a honest book review. I had a lot of trouble getting into this story. A novel, a mystery novel to boot, should achieve a strong sense of believability. In that the Butcher fails. I find it difficult to believe that missing evidence from so famous a case as Beacon Hill Butcher was to have been could go missing for thirty years and no one notice? If not the police than a journalist perhaps? I find it difficult to believe that a senior police detective would share intricate details of a high profile murder investigation with a young girl who he has befriended simply to aid with her closure? The fact that she is a writer doesn't keep him from sharing? Sam finds clues and evidence, thirty years later, that no one had ever pieced together before? The one person who contacts her with never before seen evidence of the Butcher (as well as knowing his identity) also is the woman who babysat her as a child? Matt's anger issues, think a violent Gordon Ramsay, goes unchecked with everyone, except for talks every now and then. He even rapes Sam at one point and she comes up with excuses? Even though she was breaking up with him at the time? Don't forget that one of her best friends is a police detective (the one giving her all this information on the investigation and trusting her not to tell anyone) who could have put him away for the rape? The double life that Edward lives and his ability at eighty odd years old to intimidate and over power people is hard to grasp as well. Overall the book failed to give me a sense that this was at all plausible. A novel should take you into its world and make you forget that you are reading a book, this one does not work at all on that level. Not a very good read.
  • (5/5)
    This is a great book. It is different from the 'usual' serial killer fare as you find out who the killer is near the beginning of the book and the story progresses from there. I don't want to give away any more of the story, but it kept me engrossed through the whole thing and I enjoyed the twists and turns. Highly recommended!I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an unbiased review.
  • (3/5)
    "Life is life, Matthew. We all play God in whatever way we can."I was drawn in by the book description of this book and felt like this would be an awesomely creepy read but what it turned out to be was a frustrating and predictable book. This book follows Matt Shank, a successful restaurant owner, who finds some items regarding the famous case of a serial killer his grandfather solved back in the 1980s. Matt must now struggle to deal with what those items reveal to him. Matt's girlfriend Sam is struggling to find the truth about her mother's murder, that happened when Sam was just a baby, and her research leads her startlingly close to what Matt uncovers.It is hard to read a book and enjoy it when you think the main character is an absolute jerk. I hated Matt and quite frankly I don't know why anyone, especially his girlfriend Sam, put up with him. He was an arrogant jerk who thought that he deserved everything he wanted and at times it just seemed way over-the-top. I spent the book alternating between feeling sorry for Sam because he was treating her horribly and being angry that she hadn't just broken up with him already.The plot seemed pretty slow for me. I spent most of the time that I read this book dying for someone to connect the dots and figure out what we the readers and Matt knew. The big twist towards the end could pretty much be seen from a mile away. I don't know if it is because I have a twisted mind but it seemed like I always knew what was going to happen in this book. I do admit that I did like the action at the end; it was probably the part that I liked most of the book. I really liked the premise of this book but felt like there was nothing really special about this book that makes it stand out.Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for the galley.
  • (4/5)
    Note: This review refers to an uncorrected digital galley copy from Edelweiss.In 1985, police chief Edward Shank shot and killed a man reputed to be the infamous "Beacon Hill Butcher," a serial killer responsible for a rash of grisly murders. Thirty years later, Shank is retired and giving up his large house to his grandson, Matt. Matt, an up-and-coming restaurant owner involved in a difficult relationship, stumbles upon a locked crate buried in the yard and uncovers a terrifying family secret. Now he must decide: should he leave this secret buried? Should he go to the police? Or should he take matters into his own hands?Stories about brutal serial killers always capture my attention, but I didn't have high hopes for this book after reading the first few pages. The writing was not extraordinary, and we learn who the killer is by the end of the first chapter. I became more invested as the story progressed, but by the end of the book, I felt unsatisfied. The ending was rushed and the big plot twists were either expected or too contrived to be believable. (Or both.)That being said, however, this would make a good title to suggest to a reader who wants something suspenseful, gruesome, and twisted. The story was very fast-paced, full of personal conflict and relationship drama, satisfyingly graphic (if you enjoy that in your reading), and psychologically complex. I may not have cared for the book as a whole by the time I was finished, but I can't deny that the middle of the story captured my interest and kept me entertained.Readalikes:The Never List - Koethi Zan. Although The Never List has some of the same flaws as The Butcher (eg. an ending that felt somewhat rushed and contrived), the entertainment value of this graphic psychological thriller cannot be denied. It's an extreme page turner and will keep your heart pounding till the end of the book.The Stranger Beside Me - Ann Rule. This is a true crime title that gives an intimate perspective into the life of serial killer, Ted Bundy. The Stranger Beside Me is definitively factual, but the grisly descriptions and intimate relationship with a known killer are extremely effective and will likely appeal to fans of The Butcher.
  • (3/5)
    Matt Shank’s girlfriend Sam is researching a story for a book she is writing on the Beacon Hill Murders by the serial killer; The Butcher. She believes he also killed her mother and is not convinced that Rufus Wedge, who was shot as he was being arrested as The Butcher was the right man. Matt’s Grandfather is the retired Chief of Police, Captain Edward Shank, who closed the case on the serial killer and Sam discusses her theories with him and uses his knowledge of the case for research for her book. At the beginning of the book you learn that the Chief is the serial killer; The Butcher, and the story continues unearthing deadly secrets, then how and when he will be caught.

    I like the character of the Chief and the way his thought processes are described giving credence to being a psychopath. The psychology of a psychopath and serial killer is revealed through the perspective of the Chief. He is a strong dark character and cleverly gives an honest persona in his community and I could almost smell his cherry cigars as I got to know him. A story where the man who was promoted to Chief of Police through his case work of the Beacon Hill Murders, turns out to be the serial killer is cleverly thought out.

    I was not sure how to review this book; I liked it but it was not what I was expecting as a lover of hard-core psychological crime thrillers. In my opinion this is not the run of the mill crime thriller as it has a great contemporary feel to it. The style of writing is a cross between; Chic Lit with the relationship being played out with Matt, Sam and their friends, and usual crime thriller with the serious nature of the Chief and the killings. To me this actually feels like a lighter version, without the heavily detailed violence of the traditional thrillers and I think it would appeal to anyone who wouldn't usually read this genre, as an introduction to crime thrillers. Would I recommend this book? Yes definitely as it is engaging with great language.

    What I was not sure about -

    As a reader of hard core psychological crime thrillers, I felt that revealing the killer at the beginning is a bold thing to do, because the thrill of the story then rests on whether he will be caught and how. Turning the focus of the story on its head felt a bit confusing because instead of the main players being those who are doing the chasing, the killer is also a main player which bounces the focus about. The murders were told by the Chief as he was remembering specific killings, but lacked the conviction of violence, but, then this may be enough description for people who are new to crime thrillers.

    I sensed two sides to this book, one from a male perspective and one from a female perspective, rather than being ambiguous and this was confusing. One minute I felt like I was reading a contemporary novel about the failing relationship of Matt and Sam, the next I was back in a male dominated world of cops and killers with different language styles of writing.

    I was hoping for something more shocking in the murder descriptions but that is because I enjoy reading the psychology of what disgusts and excites me as a reader sitting home safe with a book! Many of us have a morbid fascination of psychopathic serial killers which didn't quite satisfy me in this novel. I wanted to know just a little of the victims experience so that they became real, and I could sympathise with them.

    My thanks to Netgalley for sending me this book in return for an honest review.
  • (3/5)
    Police Chief Edward Shank made his reputation by killing the Beacon Hill Butcher, a serial killer some thirty years ago. Now, though, he’s retired and has given his home to his grandson, Matt. During renovations on the house, a grisly discovery makes Matt reconsider everything he has thought he knew about his life and his grandfather. Matt’s girlfriend, Samantha is one of the few people who is convinced Shank killed the wrong man. She is sure that her mother was a victim of the Butcher even though she was murdered after his supposed demise. Matt will have to eventually make a choice; does he reveal what he knows and destroy everything he has worked hard for including his relationship with Samantha or does he let some very nasty sleeping dogs lie even as the killings begin again.The Butcher is less about ‘who dunnit’ since the true identity of the killer is revealed in the first chapter. Rather, it is about Sam’s investigation, Matt’s attempts to cover it up even as a new string of grisly murders begins, and the psychology of a psychopath who kills for the pure joy of it. Despite the early reveal, the novel still remains a real page-turner with enough twists and turns to keep fans of the genre engaged even without the fun of guessing who the real culprit is.
  • (4/5)
    The Butcher is a serial killer terrorizing the good citizens of Seattle . . . and by the fifth page of this book the identity of that sadistic murderer has been revealed to the reader. The three hundred-plus pages that follow are devoted to a meticulous unveiling of the events, both past and present, that have touched the lives of Police Chief Edward Shank and his family. Although there are plenty of dark, grim, vile scenes, coupled with a fair amount of rather crude language, the writing here is first-rate. Readers know what’s coming, they know exactly what to expect . . . and yet there is a compulsion to keep turning the pages rather than yield to the impulse to look away from the horror. It’s impossible to put the book aside as the author skillfully draws her readers into this terrifying tale in which no one is without flaw. The story of “The Butcher” is not about identifying the culprit, it’s about the choices people make and the actions they take. Despite some scenes of gratuitously fortunate happenstance, the story twists and turns its way to reach its expected . . . and yet climactic . . . ending. Recommended.
  • (5/5)
    KICKED MY ASS AROUND THE BLOCK AND BACK!THE BUTCHERBy Jennifer HillierAnyone that knows me has some idea about my obsession with Jennifer Hillier’s past thriller. In my humble opinion both FREAK and CREEP are the sleepers that ‘creep’ into the recesses of your mind and nestle there and fester way after you are finished reading them. Not a pretty description but appropriate.I cannot tell you how thrilled I was to receive an arc of her newest stand alone-sih thriller THE BUTCHER. The ‘ish’ is there due to Ms. Hillier’s ability to weave her past novels into her latest so perfectly. For many years the Seattle area had been terrorized by ‘The Beacon Hill Butcher’ His trademark trophies and his underlying cruelty had brought national attention. A young police chief Edward Shank had discovered who was behind all of the mayhem and shot him dead leaving his own house. Rufus Wedge’s reign of terror ended that day and all of Seattle breathed a momentary sigh of relief. Flash forward thirty years and now Edward Shank is retired, a widower and transitioning his life into a retirement village and giving his home to his only heir, his grandson, Mark,Mark is a well established chef and restaurateur and has caught the attention of a food network, Life is good for Mark. He has a very beautiful girlfriend Samantha who is a writer of ‘true crime’ books with interests of turning ‘The Butcher of Beacon Hill into her next venture entitles it ‘Butcher 2.0.One day while digging up the back yard at his grandfather’s with hope of putting in a hot tub, Mark unearths a legacy he is not prepared for. What he finds even ‘creeped’ me out! And that is saying something! I like to call a great thriller as it unwinds and unravels (I use that phrase a great deal when reviewing) the loose threads that get caught up in the winds of change. As the loose threads continue to unravel, Mark’s world slides toward an abyss that has the potential of taking everyone he loves and everything he has worked so hard to accomplish in with him.Okay, here the ‘skinny’ one why I love Jennifer Hillier’s thrillers. They deal with everyday people. There are no car chases thrown in for effect. There are no huge plot twists that can’t be explained away with common sense. Mostly, I love the way she develops her characters and has no problem ending their life when she sees fit. The reader can tell Ms. Hillier is driving and she is not asleep at the wheel. Jim Munchel No Stranger 2 Fiction.com