Trova il tuo prossimo audiolibro preferito

Abbonati oggi e ascolta gratis per 30 giorni
The Big Moo: Stop Trying to Be Perfect and Start Being Remarkable

The Big Moo: Stop Trying to Be Perfect and Start Being Remarkable

Scritto da Seth Godin e The Group of 33

Narrato da Seth Godin


The Big Moo: Stop Trying to Be Perfect and Start Being Remarkable

Scritto da Seth Godin e The Group of 33

Narrato da Seth Godin

valutazioni:
4/5 (60 valutazioni)
Lunghezza:
3 ore
Editore:
Pubblicato:
Jan 1, 2005
ISBN:
9781400172016
Formato:
Audiolibro

Descrizione

Most organizations are stuck in a rut. On one hand, they understand all the good things that will come with growth. On the other, they're petrified that growth means change, and change means risk, and risk means death. Nobody wants to screw up and ruin a good thing, so most companies (and individuals) just keep trying to be perfect at the things they've always done.

In 2003, Seth Godin's Purple Cow challenged organizations to become remarkable-to drive growth by standing out in a world full of brown cows. It struck a huge chord and stayed on the Business Week bestseller list for nearly two years. You can hear countless brainstorming meetings where people refer to purple cows and say things like, "That's not good enough. We need to create a big moo!"

But how do you create a big moo-an insight so astounding that people can't help but remark on it, like digital TV recording (TiVo) or overnight shipping (FedEx), or the world's best vacuum cleaner (Dyson)? Godin worked with thirty-two of the world's smartest thinkers to answer this critical question. And the team-with the likes of Tom Peters, Malcolm Gladwell, Guy Kawasaki, Mark Cuban, Robyn Waters, Dave Balter, Red Maxwell, and Randall Rothenberg on board- created an incredibly useful book that's fun to read and perfect for groups to share, discuss, and apply.

The Big Moo is a simple book in the tradition of Fish and Don't Sweat the Small Stuff. Instead of lecturing you, it tells stories that stick to your ribs and light your fire. It will help you to create a culture that consistently delivers remarkable innovations.

Editore:
Pubblicato:
Jan 1, 2005
ISBN:
9781400172016
Formato:
Audiolibro


Informazioni sull'autore

Seth Godin, Vice-President, Direct Marketing, Yahoo! Inc., is responsible for Yahoo!'s direct marketing, permission marketing and Internet promotions. Godin joined Yahoo! in 1998 from Yoyodyne, where he served as president and CEO. Yahoo! acquired Yoyodyne, a recognized leader in Internet-based interactive direct marketing, last year. Recognized as the pioneer of Permission Marketing, Godin is a sought-after speaker on the conference circuit, having presented at the Direct Marketing Association's annual conference, Jupiter events, and ICE, as well as international marketing forums. Last year, Godin was one of the highest ranked speakers, among 403 presenters at Internet World. He is a featured speaker at Fall, Spring and Summer I-Worlds. Godin is also the recipient of the 1998 Momentum Award, honoring outstanding Internet industry accomplishments. Godin received an M.B.A. from Stanford Business School in 1984. Prior to graduating from Tufts University in 1982 with a degree in both Computer Science and Philosophy, Godin co-founded and ran one of the largest student-run businesses in the coutnry. From 1983 to 1986 he worked as a brand manager at Spinnaker Software, where he led the team that developed the first generation of multimedia products, working with such forward-thinkers as Arthur C. Clarke and Michael Crichton. He managed 40 engineers and introduced more than 60 software and video products to the marketplace. Godin is the author and co-author of a number of top-selling business books, including E-Marketing, the first book ever published on how to do business online; The Guerilla Marketing Handbook, part of the best-selling Guerilla Marketing series; The Information Please Business Almanacm, a ground-breaking business reference book; and Permission Marketing: Turning Strangers into Freinds, and Friends into Customers.

Correlato a The Big Moo


Recensioni

Cosa pensano gli utenti di The Big Moo

4.2
60 valutazioni / 8 Recensioni
Cosa ne pensi?
Valutazione: 0 su 5 stelle

Recensioni dei lettori

  • (2/5)
    Not into it. Alot of concepts but not really my cup of tea. Too much fluff
  • (5/5)
    I read this book many years ago and it helped me before and I learned many things and the same thing happens when I listen to the audible book
  • (5/5)
    Wonderful book, lots of examples to reinstate each theory. well read too
  • (3/5)

    3 persone l'hanno trovata utile

    The concept of the book is simple and is repeatedly stated. The author makes a big deal out of the fact he is not making money off of sales of the book. The book has a valuable concept but it could have been explained in a few paragraphs. The excess begins to be annoying and comes across as hype. I would not pay anything for his book, so his profit is appropriate.

    3 persone l'hanno trovata utile

  • (3/5)

    2 persone l'hanno trovata utile

    This book was okay. It was a series of essays and each one came out like it was the most important thing you need to know. After about 5 you start to get tired of them. They're was plenty of motivating prose, but in general I didn't come away with a lot of specific applications.

    2 persone l'hanno trovata utile

  • (4/5)

    2 persone l'hanno trovata utile

    Essays from 33 business gurus about how to stand out and be remarkable. The contributions are short - you won't find in-depth thinking here. But the messages about the importance of thinking big, failing early, and refusing to settle are, at the least, good reminders for people who want to make an impact. One of my favorites selections offered juggling as a metaphor for work. Beginning jugglers spend a lot of time rushing around trying to catch the balls, but experienced jugglers will tell you that it is the throwing that is most important. If you throw effectively, catching will be easy. Rushing around chasing balls sounds a lot like what I do at work most days. The idea that I might be able to stop that by setting some priorities and focusing on the important isn't new to me. But the juggling metaphor made it fresh. I listened to this on audio, and it worked pretty well that way. It would also be a good book just to dip into from time to time.

    2 persone l'hanno trovata utile

  • (4/5)
    Great insight into successful people. Innovative and inspiring. Always something to learn from Mr. Godin. I highly recommend
  • (5/5)
    Seth Godin decided to do something remarkable. He thought, "Why not publish a book written by 33 people that doesn't make a dime of profit?" Why not? The result is The Big Moo, an anthology of 72 short, pithy essays covering everything from a list comparing big companies vs. startups, to a lesson on leadership learned in a redwood forest, to what a Colorado roofer did right, to what a local print shop did wrong. The chapters bounce around all those topics and more, but all relate to the core idea of being remarkable. Godin defines remarkable, in business or personal life, as doing something not good, and not perfect, but that stands out, that causes people to start talking, "remarking" about it. In other words, not only do you have to stand out (as he wrote about in a previous book The Purple Cow), but you have to do something really out of the ordinary, remarkable, a.k.a. "The Big Moo." He says that the real challenge before us is to do something truly remarkable with our work and our lives. The Big Moo doesn't pretend to be a step by step guide to guaranteed remarkability, but instead is a freewheeling brainstorming session to whet your appetite and spark your creativity toward creating your own remarkable life. The book itself is the prime example of doing the remarkable. The editor, Seth Godin, approached 32 people, some famous like Tom Peters and Guy Kawasaki, and others famous only to the people they have impacted. He asked them to contribute material to the book for free, with the agreement that all the book's profits go to charity. On top of that, all the material is anonymous, so that you're not sure who wrote which chapter. Remarkable. How I received the book is an example of the ripple effect of remarkability that Godin is aiming for. My copy came from Glen Tullman, the CEO of Allscripts. When his company read the book, they asked the question, "What can we do remarkable?" The result of asking that question is a new collaborative initiative that Allscripts has launched that will provide the ability for every physician in America to use electronic prescription prescribing completely FREE, which is absolutely unheard of. Now that's remarkable. The Big Moo is a quick and fun read, sure to give you some good food for thought for your own remarkable life.