The Atlantic

The Magicians Is Your Next Great Escape

If you’re looking for something to binge-watch, you won’t regret diving into Syfy’s darkly subversive fantasy series.
Source: Syfy

This story contains mild spoilers for Syfy’s The Magicians.

When the first novel in Lev Grossman’s popular Magicians trilogy was published in 2009, it introduced Quentin Coldwater, a white, whiny, Ivy League–bound Brooklynite. His trajectory as a protagonist sounded familiar: Quentin, who’d always felt like a misfit, found out that he was actually a magician and wound up at Brakebills University, a training ground for posh mages. It was Hogwarts, U.S.A; he was Harry Potter with a sex life. Together with his school friends, Quentin later discovered that Fillory, a Narnia-esque world he loved from childhood books, was real.

When the trilogy was adapted for Syfy, the show could’ve doubled down on treating Quentin like an archetypal hero in the vein of Luke Skywalker or King Arthur. Instead, made Quentin a mere entry point into a series of ensemble-driven battles to save the magic of Earth andquickly earned praise as one of the you .

Stai leggendo un'anteprima, registrati per continuare a leggere.

Altro da The Atlantic

The Atlantic5 min letti
Refusing To Wear A Mask Is An Empty Act Of Defiance
Those who reject facial coverings during the pandemic do so amid broad consensus about what public safety demands.
The Atlantic5 min letti
CNN Is Picking Ratings Over Ethics
Instead of pressing New York Governor Andrew Cuomo for answers, the cable network had his younger sibling ask him questions.
The Atlantic6 min lettiPolitics
Trump Is a Problem That Twitter Cannot Fix
When a duly elected president is bent on spreading misinformation, tech companies can rein him in only so much.