Sei sulla pagina 1di 17

Human Value Teaching Based

on Vedas

The Vedas(Introduction)

There are four Vedas:

Rig Veda
Yajur Veda
Sama Veda
Atharva Veda
Each Veda has four parts

Hymnal portion (mantras)

Ritual portion (brahmanas)
Forest teachings (aranyakas)
Philosophical portion (upanishads)
They were composed around 1500 B.C.
What is Vedic Culture?

Vedic culture is based on Vedic scriptures (sastras) called


"Veda comes from the word Vid.

Vid is Sanskrit word for To Know".

Veda means Knowledge Eternal Knowledge- No

Beginning No Ending.

Sanskrit was the language of Vedic civilization.

American Thinker Thoreau clarified, In the great
teachings of Vedas, there is no touch of sectarianism.
It is of all ages, climes and nationalities and is the
road for attainment of the Great Knowledge. The
misperception in India that Vedas are part of Hindu
Religion needs to be corrected, even as foreigners
acknowledge that Hinduism is a way of life.
Human Values at Work

Human Values at Work (HVW) focuses on how you

can work in accord with your own spiritual view of
life and five Human Values that are found cross-
culturally in all spiritual traditions:
Important human values as stated in Vedas

RigVeda as well as Atharva Veda mention honesty,

non-violence, truthfulness, modesty, agreeable
speech, Brahmacharya (celibacy), religious
conviction, and purity of heart as the important
virtues that are praiseworthy. These very virtues are
mentioned in the Bhagavadgita as divine qualities.
Thus the Vedic philosophy lays emphasis on right
conduct as the means of the development of the
personality of the individual.
Top Most Teachings of Rig Veda

When there is harmony between the mind, heart and

resolution then nothing is impossible
One should performed his deeds for the benefit of
mankind with an unbiased approach because of bias
gives birth to evil, which creates thousands of
obstacles in our path.
Ego is the biggest enemy of humans.
People who are soft spoken and truthful are loved by
A person can achieve everything by being simple and
Have a child like Innocence
One should, perform karma with nonchalance
without expecting the benefits because sooner or
later one shall definitely gets the fruits. ~
People accept only that person as their leader who is
radiant with good knowledge and karma (deeds). ~
One should be cautions not to speak anything that
hurts others. Such kind of speech never helps but
always brings destruction.
The main factor behind success is - self control.
4 Objectives of Human Life

According to Vedic philosophy human life has a definite purpose.

Whilst the final Goal of life is "Moksha", there are three other
(intermediary) goals of life. These together are called four objectives
or pursuits of life, which are as follows:-

DHARMA - Righteousness
ARTHA - Acquisition of wealth by proper means and its right use
KAMA - Fulfilment of noble desires
MOKSHA - Liberation or the final Goal

It is essential to have the proper understanding of these objectives

(as also because these terms are highly used in our daily language to
mean different things).

DHARMA is a comprehensive term which

covers an entire range of values.
DHARMA has two factors:
(a) Genuine faith and devotion to God, as all noble
qualities emanate from God; and
(b) Practice of righteousness in ones life, also called as
10 basic principles of Dharma
The ten basic principles of Dharma are the
The ten basic principles of Dharma are the following:-
1. Forbearance
2. Control of mind
3. Kshama (Forgiveness)
4. Non Stealing
5. Shauch (Cleanliness)
6. Wisdom
7. Control of Senses
8. Knowledge:- both of physical and spiritual domain
9. Truth:- One should practice truth in thought, words and deed.
10. Non Anger

ARTHA (Wealth)
ARTHA or the acquisition of wealth is the second most important
pursuit or objective of human life. DHARMA comes first and
ARTHA has to be based on Dharma. The observance of DHARMA
takes priority.
Knowledge is the greatest wealth; both material and spiritual.
Health is another form of Wealth
Contentment is another wealth. It means abstinence of desire
to possess more and more of life requirements and material
Material Wealth is another wealth. It should be acquired
keeping the DHARMA.
KAMA (Controlled fulfillment of desires)

KAMA is two faceted.

- One (controlled and beneficial desire) acts as a
catalytic agent for actions in life. Much of the
personal and worldly progress is the result of desire
to achieve something, to discover something new.
- Another (uncontrolled or not beneficial desire) can
lead to destruction.

This the fourth an final objective of human life. It is

the state of liberation from misery and pain which
are so abundant in human life. It is the state of
Ananda (perfect bliss) after attaining which nothing
more remains to be attained.