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Importance of Training in

Retail Set up

08/28/09 IIPM=Ahmedabad
Presented By:-
Amit Patel
Chirag Patel
Deepak Rao
Jaydev Joshi
Jitendra Chavda

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Agenda
Introduction to Retail.
Types of Retail.

08/28/09 IIPM=Ahmedabad
Why Training?
Different requirements of different
stores.
Training Institute in Retail
Management.
How to identify Training needs.
Types of Retail Training Programs.
Tips on Training Retail Employees.
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Introduction to Retail

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 RETAIL is derived from The French word
“RETAILLIER” which means to cut off a piece to
break bulk.
 Consider as last stage movement of goods
and services to consumer.
 In simple words any firm that sells product to
the final consumer is performing function of
retailing.

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Three Basic Tasks of Retailing

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 Get consumer into your stores.

 Covert them into Customers.

 Operate as efficiently as possible.

For all these you require a highly talented working staff

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Prioritize 7 P’s of Retail Service

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 Place
 Product

 People

 Process

 Price

 Promotion

 Physical evidence

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Main Success Factor-People

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 People Are The Customers Which Are The
Biggest Asset Of A Retail Company.
 Well Trained Staff.

 Appearance.

 Ambience.

 High Security For Safety Of Customers.

 Successful retailers are more focuses on


Training their people.

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Why Training?

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 Can be the deal breaker between
making a sale or not.
 Poorly Trained staff can causes to store.
 Training is must for new hires.
 Training is must when you expect your
staff to be exceed your expectations.
 It will provide a healthy workforce and
successful Business.

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A Shopper’s Wish

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Please…
 Let me find a parking place near the store
 Do not let me pay too much
 Have the sales staff imagine that they care
 Do not make me have to return anything
 Get me in and out as fast as possible
 Do note make me have to wait in line to
make my purchase
 Let this experience be somewhat
enjoyable
 Do not make me have to deal with other
horrible shoppers 8
Determining Customer Services to Offer

Cost of Providing Retailer’s


Service Characteristics

Income of Custom Services


Target Offered by
er
Market the
Service Competition

Type of
Price Image of Merchandise
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Store Handled
4 R’s Model

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 Customer Retention.

 Customer Relationship.

 Customer Referrals.

 Recovery.

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Different Training requirements of
Different Stores

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 Clothing Stores requires its employee should know:-
Ø What materials stretch.

Ø What materials shrink.

Ø What fits snugly versus loosely.

ØStaff should understand colors and Patterns.

ØStaff should understand what yields more profits.

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Continued…

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 Tech Stores requirements
Ø Know the products.
ØShould understand technicality of products.
ØAble to give assistance when customer gets confused.
 Book stores
Ø Should be familiar with all areas of bookstore.
Ø Able to Identify all segments of the books.

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Pantaloons & RPG
 The Indian Institute of Social Welfare & Business
Management (IISWBM) .

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 Pantaloon Retail India Ltd (PRIL) tied-up with 14
institutes including the Welingkar Institute of
Management, Mumbai, before setting up its own
training institute.
 "By starting these institutes, companies are merely
fulfilling the responsibility of creating their own
resources."
 Spencers set up Pragati, where newcomers
undergo two months' training.

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Training Institute in Retail Management.

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 Indian Retail School
 Loyola Institute of Business Administration
(LIBA)
 S P Jain Centre of Management
 Institute for Integrated Learning in
Management (IILM)
 Welingkar Institute of Management, Centre for
Retail Studies
 K J Somaiya Institute of Management Studies
& Research
 Mudra Institute of Communications
 Amity Business School
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Identification of training for
Salespeople

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 Performance Standards
 Conversion Rate is the percentage of shoppers
that enter the store that are converted to
purchasers.
 Sales per hour.

 Use of time.

 Interview based identification.

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Characteristics of a Top Retail
Salesperson

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 BELIEVE IN YOURSELF
 BE WILLING TO WORK HARD

 HAVE RESPECT FOR THE CUSTOMER’S GOOD


SENSE
 BE FLEXIBLE

 BE DECISIVE

 BE ABLE TO HANDLE STRESS

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Benefits of Training

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 Improves Basic Sales skills.
 Improves soft skills (Communication, Body
language, Gestures & posture, eye contact)
 Improves product knowledge.

 Focus more on customer satisfaction.

 Retain Customers rate will increase.

 Improves sales.

 Level of handling work load will increase.

 Retail Network.

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SOLUTIONS

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 Training seminars and workshops
 Reinforce training

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Customer retention training
programmes

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 Helps to build stronger bonds
 To identify and deal with customer
dissatisfaction
 Greater customer engagement

 Identify growth opportunities

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Importance of reducing and resolving
customer conflict

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 Customer conflict creates customer
dissatisfaction
 Service recovery skills are critical in
maintaining customer satisfaction

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Calculating the potential cost of a lost
customer due to service failure

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 There are 2 factors
Ø The average customer lifetime value
Ø The ripple effect

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The CLV

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 3 components
Ø Average dollar amount per transaction= $20
Ø Average no. of transactions per year=$30
Ø Average no. of years customer remains in a
business`s target group =10
Ø CLV = 600*10=6000

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Ripple effect

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 CLV is now multiplied by 11( initial plus 10
others)
 With ripple effect, potential cost of a single
service failure over a 10 years = $6000*11
=$66,000

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Flower of Retail
service

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Customer

C
Zo

R
Fu ne Queries

M
En
te & n
rta
inm Core
en Service
t

Good Aesthetics
Product line
Change in

Merchandise
Shopping

I
O ntro n al
sc f n . io
he ew ot nts
m
es
Shop floor r om cou
management P is
d

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Wal-Mart’s Success Pillars

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 Do not show off buying luxury goods.
 The way it treated its Associates and customers.

Management style
«Maintain an open-door policy for every employee.
«Empowering associates and respect their needs.
«Provide training as per the need of Employee.
«Maintain technology superiority
«Build loyalty among associates, customers, and suppliers

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Different types of Retail Training
Programmes
CRM Training.

08/28/09 IIPM=Ahmedabad

 Training in category management.

 Merchandise management.

 Store Management.

 Store layout design and visual merchandising.

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 Customer service.
Contd…

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 Sales Training

 How to Understand consumer psychology


(Defensive, Interrupter, Decisive, Indecisive,
Sociable, Impulsive)

 On-the-Job Training

 Online Course

 Seminars/Workshops 27
EEET model for perfect Sales Associate

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Retail sales associate must combine the
competencies of four sales associate
archetypes.
 The Educator.

 The Engager.

 The Expeditor.

 The Authentic.

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Tips on Training Retail Employees.

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 Create a employee handbook for new hires.
 Should focus on operations and customer
service aspects of the business.
 Curriculum should be tailored to individual
employee positions.
 Provide an in-depth focus on company policies
and procedures as well as information on sales
and product knowledge

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Contd…

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 Focus on the behavioral characteristics of the
employee.
 Consider the social needs of new employees
when formulating training programs.
 Leadership skills should be provided to all
employees.
 Staples provides employee training via a
service called Cyberscholar.

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Conclusion

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•Consumerism.
•Busy Life Style.
•Ecological Scarcity.
•Life Expectancy.
•Complexity of Life.

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08/28/09 IIPM=Ahmedabad
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Thank
You

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