Sei sulla pagina 1di 1

LOCATION: LD 010, TIMES: Tu & Th 06:00 - 7:15pm

COURSE SCHEDULE: ME 31400 - Fall 2019


WK LEC Mod Day DATE TOPIC COVERAGE HW Due

1 1 1 Tue 27-Aug Course Objectives, Policies, Introduction 1.1 - 1.2, 1.5


Heat Transfer, Thermal Energy, Heat Transfer Modes

2 2 Thu 29-Aug Conservation of Energy, Methodology, Units and Dimensions, 1.3, 1.6 -1.7, 2.1 - 2.2

Fourier's Law, Heat Diffusion, Boundary and Initial Conditions, Thermal


2 3 3 Tue 3-Sep 2.2 - 2.5
Conductivity

4 4 Thu 5-Sep 1D SS Conduction Plane Wall, Thermal Resistance Concepts 3.1 1

3 5 5 Tue 10-Sep 1D SS Conduction with Thermal Energy Generation, Radial Systems 3.3 - 3.5

6 6 Thu 12-Sep 2

4 7 7 Tue 17-Sep 1D Heat Transfer From Extended Surfaces 3.6

8 8 Thu 19-Sep 1D Heat Transfer From Extended Surfaces - Examples 3.6 3

2D SS Conduction - Solution Techniques Using Shape Factors, Curviliner


5 9 9 Tue 24-Sep 4.1 & 4.3
Coordinates, etc
1D Transient Conduction- lumped capacitance, Validity of LCM, Spatial 4
10 10 Thu 26-Sep 5.1, 5.2, 5.4, 5.5
effects
6 11 10 Tue 1-Oct 1D Transient Conduction - Examples 5.1, 5.2, 5.4, 5.5

12 Thu 3-Oct Review 5

7 13 Tue 8-Oct EXAM 1

14 12 Thu 10-Oct Introduction to Convection & Boundary Layer Equations 6.1 - 6.5, 6.S.1

8 15 13 Tue 15-Oct Flat Plate Boundary Layer 6.6 - 6.8, 7.1 - 7.2

16 14 Thu 17-Oct External Flow: Flat plate, Methodology for Convection. 7.2 - 7.3 6

9 15 Tue 22-Oct FALL BREAK - No Class

17 16 Thu 24-Oct External Flow: Cylinder, Sphere 7.4, 7.5, 7.9

10 18 Tue 29-Oct Internal Flow - Hydrodynamic and Thermal Considerations 8.1 - 8.3 7

19 Thu 31-Oct Internal Flow - Energy Balance

11 20 17 Tue 5-Nov Review 8

21 18 Thu 7-Nov EXAM 2

12 22 Tue 12-Nov Thermal Radiation: Fundamental Concepts and Definitions 12.1 - 12.3

23 Thu 14-Nov Blackbody Radiation 12.4, 12.5

13 24 20 Tue 19-Nov Emission from real surfaces, Absorption, Reflection, Transmission 9

25 21 Thu 21-Nov Kirchoffs Law, Gray Surface 12.6 - 12.7

14 26 22 Tue 26-Nov View Factor Relations 13.1 10

23 Thu 28-Nov THANKSGIVING HOLIDAY - No Class

15 27 24 Tue 3-Dec Radiation Exchange between Opaque, Diffuse, Gray Surfaces 13.2&13.3

28 24 Thu 5-Dec Radiation Exchange between Opaque, Diffuse, Gray Surfaces 13.2&13.4 11

16 29 Tue 10-Dec Mass Transfer

30 Thu 12-Dec Review 12

17 Tue 17-Dec FINAL EXAM 6:00PM - 8:00PM