Sei sulla pagina 1di 1


was the first President of Indonesia, serving from 1945 to 1967.
Sukarno was the leader of his country's struggle for Independence from the Netherlands. He was a
prominent leader of Indonesia's nationalist movement during the Dutch colonial period, and spent
over a decade under Dutch detention until released by the invading Japanese forces. Sukarno and
his fellow nationalists collaborated to garner support for the Japanese war effort from the population,
in exchange for Japanese aid in spreading nationalist ideas. Upon Japanese surrender, Sukarno
and Mohammad Hatta declared Indonesian independence on 17 August 1945, and Sukarno was
appointed as first president.
was a Malaysian politician who served as the first Chief Minister of the Federation of Malaya from
1955 to 1957, before becoming Malaya's first Prime Minister after independence in 1957. Finally on
1 January 1956, the two delegations sailed together from Singapore to Karachi on the Asia, Before
they arrived at Karachi, their draft proposals had been finalised, and they entered Lancaster House
in London on 16 January, as the Merdeka Mission, with a single leader, Tunku.
Finally on 8 February 1956, Tunku's fifty-third birthday, he and Lennox-Boyd signed the
Independence agreement, scheduled for August 1957.[3] Tunku and his mission left London on 16
February, had a short break in Cairo and landed in Singapore four days later.
was the first Prime Minister of Singapore, governing for three decades. Lee is recognised as the
nation's founding father, with the country described as transitioning from the "third world to first
world in a single generation" under his leadership.[2][3][4] On 31 August 1963, then Prime Minister of Singapore
Lee Kuan Yew declared de facto independence for the island state ahead of the official proclamation of the
Federation of Malaysia.[1] The inauguration of Malaysia was originally slated to take place on 31 August 1963, but the
federal government in Kuala Lumpur postponed it by about two weeks to 16 September in order to give the United
Nations (UN) more time to complete its mission to determine whether the people in the Borneo territories of Sabah
and Sarawak were in favour of being part of Malaysia. The UN mission was undertaken to allay the objections by
both Indonesia and the Philippines to the formation of Malaysia. [2]

was a Filipino revolutionary leader and the president of the Tagalog Republic. He is often called "The
Father of the Philippine Revolution".[2] He was one of the founders and later Supremo (Supreme
Leader) of the Kataas-taasan, Kagalanggalangang Katipunan ng mga Anak ng Bayan or more
commonly known as "Katipunan", a movement which sought the independence of
the Philippines from Spanish colonial rule and started the Philippine Revolution.[3][4] He is considered
a national hero of the Philippines.[5]