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Cost of Acquisition
Assume Alpen has two options that pertain to acquiring credit card holder, which either
target or all customer base (middle class, affluent, and most affluent customers) or target affluent
customers base (affluent and most affluent customers). If Alpen decides to acquire all types of
customers, the company converts 91,163 customers and it costs 18.70 to bring in each new
customer annually. If Alpen decides to acquire affluent customers only, the company could
convert 58,969 customers and it would cost 18.31 to bring in every new customer annually (See
Exhibit 1 & 2). Acquiring all customer types generates a higher number of converted customers;
however, it is more economical to convert affluent customers than all customer bases.
Breakeven Analysis
Alpen will break-even in Fiscal Year 2 regardless of which customer base the company is
promoting their credit card. If Alpen targets customers in all customer base, the company would
generate 1.8M profit. On the other hand, if the company picks affluent customers base, it would
yield 5.9M profit (See Exhibit 4 and 5). Alpen could generate about 70% additional profit if
they targets only on affluent customer base over all customer base.
However, the company needs 77,911 customers from all customer bases to breakeven;
while the company needs 53,604 affluent customers to breakeven only. To put this in different
perspective, Alpen needs additional 30% of all type customers to breakeven thus, which means
Alpen needs extra resources to breakeven in the case of all customers (See Exhibit 6 and 7).
Alpen Bank: Launching the Credit Card in Romania | Tan & Manasa 2
Alpen Bank can make a net profit of 5,000,000 within the next two years if they can
achieve all customer base of 144,831 or affluent customer base of 98,702 (see Exhibit 8 & 9).
The breakeven number of customers for all classes cannot be accomplished within 2 years.
Whereas, if Alpen bank targets affluent customers only the breakeven customers can be achieved
within 2 years
Qualification
Rate
Conversion
Rate
Total
Cost
Co
Cu
Alpen Bank: Launching the Credit Card in Romania | Tan & Manasa 3
Direct Mail
Take One
FSIs
Direct Sales
(10 Sales Person)
Branch Cross Sales
0.50
0.10
0.05
2,500,000
2,000,000
3,500,000
3.000%
2.500%
1.500%
60.0%
30.0%
30.0%
85.0%
85.0%
85.0%
1,250,000.00
200,000.00
175,000.00
3,000.00
1.00
60,000
50,000
2.500%
50.000%
60.0%
90.0%
85.0%
85.0%
30,000.00
50,000.00
Total
1,705,000.0
0
Total
Cost
Co
Cu
Appendix:
Exhibit 2: Alpen Bank Cost of Acquisition Affluent (& Most Affluent) only
Unit
Prospect
Response Qualification
Cost
Reached
Rate
Rate
Direct Mail- Affluent
Only
0.50
1,250,000
3.000%
60.0%
Take One- Affluent Only
0.10
2,000,000
2.500%
15.0%
FSI- Affluent Only
0.05
3,500,000
1.500%
15.0%
Direct Sales
(10 Sales Person)
3,000.00
60,000
2.500%
60.0%
Branch Cross Sales
1.00
50,000
50.000%
90.0%
Conversion
Rate
85.0%
85.0%
85.0%
625,000.00
200,000.00
175,000.00
85.0%
85.0%
30,000.00
50,000.00
1,080,000.0
0
Total
Alpen Bank: Launching the Credit Card in Romania | Tan & Manasa 4
18,600,000
18.20%
3,385,200
37.13
23.50
86.63
36.75
60.63
205,244,676.0
0
Affluent (A)
18,600,00
0
15.00%
2,790,000
123.38
344,230,200.0
0
209.75
503,274,150.0
0
Alpen Bank: Launching the Credit Card in Romania | Tan & Manasa 5
FY2
FY3
FY4
0
50000
50000
50000
50000
100000
100000
50000
150000
150000
50000
200000
122.78
122.78
122.78
122.78
20.00
18.70
38.70
17.50
18.70
17.50
36.20
15.00
18.70
15.00
33.70
12.50
18.70
12.50
31.20
84.07
4,203,621.35
105.28
86.57
9,592,386.00
107.78
89.07
15,231,150.64
110.28
91.57
21,119,915.28
Fixed Costs:
Advertising Cost
2,000,000.00
2,000,000.00
2,000,000.00
*** Fixed Overhead
5,000,000.00
5,750,000.00
6,500,000.00
Net Profit
-2,796,378.65
1,842,386.00
6,731,150.64
Cumulative Profit Over Years
-2,796,378.65
-953,992.65
5,777,157.99
* Assumption: Alpen gains 50,000 credit card customer every year over four-years period
** Assumption: Direct Variable Cost decrease 2.50 per credit card holder for every increase of 50,000 customers
*** Assumption: Fixed Overhead Cost increased 750,000 for every increase of 50,000 customers
2,000,000.00
6,500,000.00
12,619,915.28
18,397,073.27
Alpen Bank: Launching the Credit Card in Romania | Tan & Manasa 6
Exhibit 5: Alpen Credit Card Budget- Affluent and Most Affluent only
Affluent and Most Affluent Only
FY2
FY3
FY1
Number of Customer
Old Customer
*New Customer
Total Customers
Revenue Per Customer (Exhibit 3)
Variable Costs Per Customer:
** Direct Variable Cost- New & Old
Acquisition Cost- New (Exhibit 2)
Total Variable Cost- Per Old Customer
Total Variable Cost- Per New Customer
Contribution Margin- Per Customer:
Contribution Margin- Per Old Customer
Contribution Margin Per New Customer
Total Contribution Margin
FY4
0
50000
50000
50000
50000
100000
100000
50000
150000
150000
50000
200000
163.31
163.31
163.31
163.31
20.00
18.31
17.50
18.31
17.50
35.81
15.00
18.31
15.00
33.31
12.50
18.31
12.50
30.81
145.81
127.50
13,665,712.34
148.31
130.00
150.81
132.50
21,331,438.15
29,247,163.96
38.31
125.00
6,249,986.54
Fixed Costs:
Advertising Cost
2,000,000.00
2,000,000.00
2,000,000.00
*** Fixed Overhead
5,000,000.00
5,750,000.00
6,500,000.00
Net Profit
-750,013.46
5,915,712.34
12,831,438.15
Cumulative Profit Over Years
-750,013.46
5,165,698.88
17,997,137.03
* Assumption: Alpen gains 50,000 credit card customer every year over four-years period
** Assumption: Direct Variable Cost decrease 2.50 per credit card holder for every increase of 50,000 customers
*** Assumption: Fixed Overhead Cost increased 750,000 for every increase of 50,000 customers
2,000,000.00
7,250,000.00
19,997,163.96
37,994,300.99
Alpen Bank: Launching the Credit Card in Romania | Tan & Manasa 7
Exhibit 8: Breakeven Formula with 5,000,000 Accumulative Profit Affluent and Most Affluent only
Breakeven 5,000,000 Cumulative Profit
= (Old Customer Contribution Margin * 50,000 Old Customer)
+ (New Customer Contribution Margin * X New Customer) - Total Fixed Cost
5,750,013.46 = (145.81 * 50,000) + (127.50X) - 7,750,000
X= 48,702 of New Customer
Number of Breakeven with 5M Profit = 98,702 customer