Sei sulla pagina 1di 4


By yenbeeyes

Ashtakavarga – an Introduction

(Published in the E-zine – Astro Vision magazine of Aug. 2008 issue)

Maharishi Parasara states in his magnum Opus Brihat Parasara Hora Shastra, “There
are two divisions, or parts of the Jyotisha Shastra, namely general and particular. I
have already dealt with the general part. I now come to the other part, which deals
with this subject in particular.”

Thereafter he goes on explaining the effects of the 12 houses and the 7 planets in
chapters 66 to 72. In Kaliyuga, minds of the people have become blunt because of
the sinful deeds committed by them. This shastra according to Parasara is for the
benefit of all. In this shastra or system, there will be no contradictions in judging the
effects of happiness and sorrows and for determination of longevity.

Varahamihira in his Brihat Jataka mentions Ashtakavarga in a casual manner as it is

was commonplace in his times. It is quite possible it might have become an integral
part of the main body of astrological teachings and probably he has not given many
details about the system.

This Shastra or System is called as ASHTAKAVARGA. Ashta means eight and varga
means division. It is a System by which strength of planets are ascertained. Primarily
intended to be used in transit (Gochara) analysis, it also finds use in natal chart
interpretation. Only 7 planets and Lagna are included in this system. Rahu and Ketu
are excluded.

Out of my experience, I can very confidently say that Ashtakavarga System is one of
the most efficient systems within Jyotish and I have found it extremely useful for
timing of events. In addition, transit effects studied with the help of this system
present an accurate picture of the coming events. When Applied with Vimsottari dasa
system, Ashtakavarga can give extremely clear picture of the way in which events
are likely to unfold.

However according to Prof. B.V.Raman “As far as the determination of longevity is

concerned, the Ashtakavarga System cannot be solely relied upon for accuracy.” He
is of the opinion that the failure of the system with regard to longevity might be due

By yenbeeyes

to “either inadequate comprehension of the principles or the inadequacy of the

number of examples worked out.”

A very simple explanation of Ashtakavarga:

It is a method of calculating the powers of the 7 planets (excluding Rahu and Ketu)
and of Lagna on one another. Thus it provides a means of examining the influences
of the 7 planets and of Lagna depending on their locations in a horoscope, on each
other and all the 12 houses in a horoscope.

In other words, each planet from Sun to Saturn receives a contribution from 8
indicators (7 planets and Lagna) depending on their placement in the chart. As the
famous work Horamakaranda says “ as a result of the progression of the 7 planets
from their respective radical places and from Lagna, a collective factor sets in going
under the name of Ashtakavarga”.

It is likely that in a horoscope, a planet say Jupiter is capable of emitting beams that
may influence certain places declared as favourable, both from his position in the
chart as well as from the positions of other planets.

The System can be used in all divisional charts along with Chaleta Bhava charts and
even Horary Astrology. Prasna Marga also has got a chapter on Ashtakavarga.

Casting the Ashtakavarga Charts:

The various Ashtakavarga Charts that are in use are:

1. Bhinnashtakavarga or Individual Ashtakavarga charts.

2. Bhinnasktakavarga after reduction
3. Sarvashtakavarga or Total Ashtakavarga chart
4. Prasthara or spread-out Ashtakavarga chart.

I am not going to explain the procedures for making the above charts in this article,
as majority of the current day Astrological softwares do contain these calculations. To
know about how these are calculated reader’s can go through Dr. B.V.Raman’s book
“Ashtakavarga System of Prediction.” To calculate them manually much effort is
needed and hence probably this system was discarded. However, I will give glimpse
of the method of calculation for one planet say Sun.

Calculating Sun’s Ashtakavarga:

By yenbeeyes

Each planet has got an influence on each sign. If it is benefic influence it is called
‘bindu’ and if it is malefic it is called ‘rekha’. The benefic as well as the malefic places
have already been given in BPHS.

Sun’s benefic places are the 1st, 2nd, 4th, 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th and 11th from himself.

The same places are benefic fro Mars and Saturn too.

The 5th, 6th, 9th and 11th from Jupiter; the 3rd, 6th, 10th and 11th from the Moon; the
3rd, 5th, 6th, 9th, 10th, 11th and 12th from Mercury; the 3rd, 4th, 6th, 10th, 11th and 12th
from the Lagna and the 6th, 7th and 12th from Venus are the benefic places. The rest
are malefic places.

If it is drawn into a table it will look like this:

(The 1st column position represents the individual planet's natal position in the chart)

from the 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
SUN * * * * * * * *
MOON * * * *
MARS * * * * * * * *
MERCURY * * * * * * *
JUPITER * * * *
VENUS * * *
SATURN * * * * * * * *
LAGNA * * * * * *

Instead of dots a star has been placed. The total of 48 points in contributed by Sun.

In a similar manner each planet distributes benefic points.

Moon contributes 49 points, Mars 39, Mercury 54 points, Jupiter 56 points, Venus 52
points and Saturn 39 points making a total of 337 points.

Here I wish to bring to the knowledge of readers that there are 2 major variations for
calculating the benefic (or malefic) points or bindus from a given planet-One of
Parasara and the other of Varahamihira. The difference between the two lies in the
vargas of Moon and Venus and results in a couple of points (however the total
remains 337 in both systems). The difference is so minute and hence it becomes
difficult to judge which of the two systems is better. If the software provides for both
the systems, readers can verify this point. The specific differences between the two
systems are:

a) Jupiter’s contribution in Moon’s Ashtakavarga:

Parasara: Benefic places are – 1st, 2nd, 4th, 7th, 8th, 10th and 11th from natal

By yenbeeyes

Varahamihira: Benefic places are 1st, 4th, 7th, 8th, 10th, 11th and 12th from natal

b) Mars’ contribution in Venus’ Ashtakavarga:

Parasara: 3rd, 4th, 6th, 8th, 11th and 12th from natal Mars are benefic places.

Varahamihira: 3rd, 5th, 6th, 9th, 11th and 12th from natal Mars are the benefic

Thus the combined or collective ashtakavarga of the Sun and all the other 6 planets
are calculated. By adding together the bindus contained in each of the signs the
Sarvashtakavarga is drawn.

If reader’s are desirous of knowing in detail the method of calculation of

Bhinnashtakavarga as well as Sarvashtakavarga, I shall send a detailed article
making the calculation clear through an Example chart.

This is in general about the Regular Ashtakavarga System.

The purpose of this article is to introduce you to one unique Ashtakavarga System
called “KAS” – when expanded becomes Krushna’s Ashtakavarga System.

Some of the readers might already be a member of the following Yahoo groups which
are purely dedicated to KAS:

The Web sites dedicated to this unique system are:

Readers may visit the above links and learn more about this system.