Sei sulla pagina 1di 10

Roald Dahl

By: Charles Stai

Early Life
Roald Dahl was born in Llandaff, South Wales, on
September 13, 1916.

When Roald was four years old his father died

After Dahl was finished with school in 1932 he
moved to Newfoundland, where he took a job being
an oil main with Shell Oil Company in Tanzania,
Africa until 1939.

Dahl served time in World War II when he joined the

Royal Air Force. He became a World War II fighter
pilot and had many marvelous stories as a result.

Early Writing Career

After the War, Dahl moved to the United States and
lived in Washington D.C. There, he met an author, C.S.
Forrester, who encouraged him to start writing.

Dahl listened and soon after his first short story was
published in the Saturday Evening Post.

As his writing career was taking off many of his stories

were published in other newspapers and magazines.

One reviewer from the New York Times commented

about Dahls writings, As I went on the stories
became less and less realistic and more fantastic.

Roald Dahl met Walt Disney and they soon
became friends as Disney fell in love with Dahls

Dahl Wrote his first childrens book for Walt

Disney The Gremlins, in 1942.

Dahls Career really took off when he wrote

James and the Giant Peach in 1961.

Three years after that he wrote his most famous

book, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.


The Vanilla Fudge Room

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Chocolate Wrapper Ball

List of Roald Dahls Stories

The Gremlins(1943)
Over To You (1946)
Some Time Never (1948)
Someone Like You (1953)
Kiss Kiss (1960)
James and the Giant Peach (1961)
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (1964)
The Magic Finger (1966)
Fantastic Mr Fox (1968)
Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator (1972)
Switch Bitch (1974)
Danny, the Champion of the World (1975)
The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar and Six More

The Enormous Crocodile (1978)
My Uncle Oswald (1979)
The Twits (1980)
George's Marvellous Medicine (1981)
Revolting Rhymes (1982)
The BFG (1982)
Dirty Beasts (1983)
The Witches (1983)
Roald Dahls Book of Ghost Stories (1983)
Boy: Tales of Childhood (1984)
The Giraffe and the Pelly and Me (1985)
Two Fables (1985)
Going Solo (1986)
Matilda (1988)
Rhyme Stew (1989)
Ah, Sweet Mystery of Life (1989)
Esio Trot (1990)
The Vicar of Nibbleswicke (1991)
The Minpins (1991)
Roald Dahl's Guide to Railway Safety (1991)
My Year (1991)

A little nonsense now and then, is cherished by
the wisest men.

So, please, oh please, we beg, we pray, go throw

your TV set away, and in its place you can install, a
lovely bookcase on the wall.

Those who dont believe in magic will never find


You should never, never doubt something that no

one is sure of. Roald Dahl, Charlie and the
Chocolate Factory