Sei sulla pagina 1di 2

Indonesia is GREAT

Indonesia officially Republic of Indonesia, located in

South East Asia, the fourth most populous country in the
Jakarta is the capital city of the Republic of Indonesia, a
country composed of more than 13,000 islands with a
population of over 200 million. Comprising more than 300
ethnic groups speaking 200 different languages, the
Indonesia population exhibits marked diversity in its
linguistic, culture, and religious traditions.
The largest islands are Sumatra, Java, Kalimantan,
Sulawesi, and Irian Jaya
Indonesia, part of the ring of fire, has the largest number
of active volcanoes in the world. Earthquakes are frequent.
More than 300 languages are spoken in Indonesia, but an official language, Bahasa Indonesia.
Almost 90% of the population is Muslim, making Indonesia the largest Islamic nation in the
world. Slightly less than 10% of the population is Christian, and about 2% is Hindu and 1%
Buddhist. Hindus are concentrated principally in Bali, which is known for its unique culture.
Crude oil and natural gas are Indonesia's most valuable natural resources and were long its major
source of export revenue. Indonesia is one of the world's major rubber producers.
In natural-resource potential, Indonesia is one of the wealthiest countries in the world. It has
great timberlands; vast rain forests of giant trees (among the world's tallest). Indonesia is a major
exporter of timber, accounting for nearly half of the world's tropical hardwood trade. The main
exports are natural gas and petroleum, electrical appliances, textiles, wood and wood products,
Republic of Indonesia
Current President: Joko Widodo
Population (2014 est.): Over 250
Capital: Jakarta
Government: Republic
Monetary unit: Rupiah
Official Language: Bahasa
Religions: Muslim, Christian,
Roman Catholic, Hindu, Buddhist.
Independence Day: August 17
and rubber. Indonesia's main trading partners are Japan, Singapore, the United States, China, and
South Korea.
Indonesia is governed under the constitution of 1945. The president, who is both head of state
and head of government, is elected for a five-year term and is eligible for a second term.
Administratively, the country is divided into 30 provinces.
In 1942, during World War II the Japanese drove out the Dutch and occupied the islands. In
August 1945, immediately after the Japanese surrender, Sukarno and Muhammad Hatta,
proclaimed Indonesia an independent republic. Sukarno was elected president, and Hatta became
vice president.

Soekarno-Hatta International Airport (CGK) is Jakarta's major airport and Indonesia's primary
international gateway.

Indonesia has a hot and humid tropical monsoon climate, is located relatively close to the
equator. There are only wet and dry seasons. Wet seasons is from November through June. Dry
season is from July through October.