Sei sulla pagina 1di 34

1

Committee to Review the Health Effects in


Vietnam Veterans of Exposure to Herbicides
(Ninth Biennial Update)


January, 16, 2013
Beckman Center
100 Academy
Irvine, CA, 92617





Presenters: Tanya Mack and Jenna Van Leer
(COVVHA) Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance, INC
980 Wheeler Way
P.O. Box 1204
Langhorne, PA 19047
Phone: 1-570-468-4035
COVVHA@Gmail.com
Www. COVVHA.net

2

Table of Contents
Tanya Mack Testimony Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance..3-6
Jenna Van Leer, COVVHA Member, Testimony about her Mother.6-8
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION SUBMITTED FOR COMMITTEE REVIEW.9
Email submissions from COVVHA members..10-11
Covered birth defects/ Presumptive illnesses in COVVHA..12
Congenital Abnormalities totals in COVVHA.13
Graph of all illnesses reported from COVVHA.14
COVVHA recommendations15-19
Letters from Tanyas doctors ..16-17
Complete illness list reported to COVVHA about COVVs (2 generation)20-30
Complete illness list reported to COVVHA about Grandchildren of Vietnam Veterans..31-32
Graph showing Grand Children of Vietnam Veterans illnesses33
Thanks and Bibliography..34




LINGO:
COVV Child of a Vietnam Veteran
COVVHA- Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance
1
st
generation- Those exposed to Herbicide Dioxin
2
nd
Generation- The Offspring of those exposed, A.K.A COVVs
3
rd
Generation The grandchildren of the 1
st
generation


3

Good Afternoon,
My name is Tanya Renee Mack. I am here representing COVVHA (Children of Vietnam
Veterans Health Alliance). I am 39 years old and am a 2nd generation Agent Orange
Survivor. My father, SSGT. James Sciaccotti was a Combat Controller in the United States Air
Force and was part of the Special Operations Squadron, 101st Airborne Unit in the A shau
Valley from 1966 1968.

The age range of children of Vietnam Veterans is roughly between the ages of 20-45. Many
of us have Fathers with service connected Agent Orange Claims recognized by the Veterans
Administration. Most of us have Dads who are dead or dying of Agent Orange presumptive
illnesses that have been recognized by the VA. Our lives and the lives of our kids are the
result of a giant science experiment between the United States Government and the
chemical companies gone awry.
New information known about human exposure to dioxin and trans-generational
exposures, reinforces our belief of a strong plausibility of an epigenetic link to our illnesses
and our Fathers or Mothers service connection to the Vietnam War. We have been treated
as collateral damage. The science is now quickly catching up with what we have known all
along, weve been damaged by a war we did not fight.

COVVHA completes an informal survey when a new member joins our private support
community. Through our 500 members (only COVVs) we have consistently been faced with
like illnesses, and deformities. We want to bring this information to you, the IOM, urging
this committee to finally investigate fully what has been done to us and our children. From
our informal research we believe the children and grandchildren of Vietnam Veterans have
a much higher instance of several types of disease. (In our submitted documents you will see
the categories of illnesses and the number of times the illness has been reported).

Represented in our membership also, are several suffering from the illnesses on the
Veterans Presumptive lists, please keep in mind this is a group of people between ages 20-
45.
Diabetes Type II
Hodgkin's Lymphoma
Ischemic Heart Disease
Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma
Peripheral Neuropathy, Acute and Sub-acute
Respiratory Cancers

4

Soft Tissue Sarcoma
Parkinsons Disease

Our membership of 500 COVVs have reported as many as 93 different congenital
anomalies. Fourteen of them listed on the testimony we have submitted are some of same
birth defects that are currently covered for the children of Women Vietnam Veterans.
Considering there were 6-8 thousand women Vietnam Veterans and Approximately 2.8
million men who served, COVVHA believes this Study was used to keep the children of male
Vietnam Veterans from making claims even though early studies showed dioxin caused
birth defects in the children of Male Vietnam Veterans. Our fathers were told they were
overreacting; there was no scientific link to their children being born with birth defects, rare
illnesses and cancers.

Air Force study of Ranch Hand personnel responsible for herbicide spraying reported
statistically significant increase in reported birth defects in the Ranch Hand group
(Albanese, 1988). Defects included: Skin defects, Neural tube defects, Heart defects, Oral
clefts, and Kidney defects.

Erickson, et al (1984) reported that risks for fathering an infant with spina bifida, cleft lip,
and certain neoplasms were higher for Vietnam veterans than controls.

Increased evidence of birth defects were also reported in a population of Vietnam veterans
living in Tasmania (Field and Kerr, 1988).,

These were ignored, as were many other studies on the effects of dioxin on offspring from
other countries, like in Vietnam where reports of birth defects, miscarriage and deformities
were rampant.

In September of 2012, Washington State released an epigenetic study looking at exposures
of female mice to dioxin and the trans-generational effects dioxin had on the children and
grandchildren of the mice. The Study showed there was a negative trans-generational
effect. We need more of this type of research, Skinner, et al (2012). That study was funded
partially by the Department of Defense. Why cant they replicate the same study, but just
expose male mice?


5

COVVHA would like to offer the following recommendations (See our submitted testimony
for more):
A. The eighteen plus birth defects for children of female Vietnam Veterans should be
approved for children of male Vietnam Veterans: This act alone would help some of the
most disabled, and those in most desperate need of services, in the COVV community.
B. Free DNA and Epigenetic testing for the biological Children of Vietnam Veterans :
(Our Data shows that biological children of Vietnam Veterans who have been required by
their Doctors to have DNA Testing have proven to show genetic mutations. See submitted
documents).
C. An offical agent Orange Registry for Children of Vietnam Veterans
(COVVHA proposes that an official Agent Orange registry be made available to the biological
children of Vietnam Veterans.)

COVVHA has submitted the types and numbers of each of the roughly 694 illness we have
had reported over the past year. We are willing to cooperate with the IOM in any way
possible.

Now I will turn my time over to my daughter, Ms. Jenna Van Leer, also from COVVHA
=====================================================================











6

Hello, my name is Jenna Van Leer, I am eighteen years old and the granddaughter of a
deceased Vietnam Veteran, who died due to his service connected exposure to Agent
Orange.
I would like to submit this personal story about my mom to you, the committee. This story
is written in my Mothers words:

I am 39 years old and am a 2nd generation Agent Orange Survivor,
I was born with severe hip dysplasia and started having hip reconstruction surgery at just 4
months old. I learned to walk in a full body cast after my second reconstruction at 13
months old. After 15 hip reconstruction surgeries, at age 17, I had my first total hip
replacement surgery. 22 years later, Ive had 4 total hip replacements. Currently, Im
scheduled to have it replaced for the 5
th
time.

At 32 years old I started to develop multiple basal cell and squamous cell carcinomas. They
were very aggressive and according to the pathology reports, were a different mutation
than normal. I was sent to UCLA to have genetic testing. There, I was diagnosed with Basal
Cell Nevus Syndrome (also known as Gorlin Syndrome) with a Mutation in my PTCH1 gene.
A mutation in this gene is only caused one of two ways. It is either inherited from a parent
or a new mutation occurs due to chemical or biological environmental exposures. Only 20%
of all cases reported are new mutations. Both of my parents were tested, and neither one
had the mutation which means that I am in the 20%of new mutations.

By the time I was 34 I had a total hysterectomy due to Squamous Cell Carcinoma in my
Uterus and on my Ovaries.

At 35 years old, I was diagnosed with Lupus and Raynauds Disease, again no family history.
I was also informed the severe back pain that I was having was a curve in my spine.
In 2010, I was diagnosed with Melanoma. I was fortunate that is was caught early and had not
spread to my Lymph Nodes. It did however, spread far enough to have tissue and muscle
removed, causing a golf ball size disfigurement in my shin.

August, 2011, I was diagnosed with another rare form of Cancer called Bowens Disease. Now,
my Oncologist was extremely worried because they almost never see this in someone as young
as me. Bowens Disease is caused by extreme exposure to Arsenic and is considered Arsenic
Poisoning. Since I have never worked or been exposed to herbicides or pesticides, I was told by

7

my Oncologist that it was due to my Fathers exposure to Agent Orange. Over 50%of the
Compound used in Agent Orange was Arsenic.

In March 2012, my Oncologist found a large tumor on the neck of my gallbladder which
required another surgery to have my entire gallbladder removed.

As of today, I have had 198 skin biopsies of which 181 were positive for Cancer. I am currently
on a new Cancer drug in which I was involved in the Clinical Trial. This drug, however, will only
slow down the progression of Basal Cells and still leaves me vulnerable for Squamous Cell and
Melanoma. Im in constant pain and my quality of life has decreased drastically over the last
several years.

My medical costs with insurance runs an average of $800-$1000 dollars a month. These costs
consist of office visit copays ($45 per visit) and tier 6 drugs, these do not count toward my
annual out of pocket maximum. Because of this, I struggle every month to make ends meet as
my medical insurance and copayments/coinsurance have to be first priority.
In March 2007, in an attempt to get help with my mounting medical costs, I applied to the Department
of Veterans Affairs for benefits (38 U.S.C. 1815). I sent the V.A all of the required documents, and
medical records. I felt confident I would get some help because after all, Hip Dysplasia is a covered birth
defect. Four months later I received a letter from The Department of Veterans Affairs denying
my claim (See Statement below).
We denied entitlement to a monthly monetary allowance for your claimed birth defect(s) because the evidence
does not show that your biological Mother served in Vietnam to qualify for payment under 38 U.S.C. 1815. The
claimed disability is hip dysplasia which is considered a qualifying condition. However, regulation 38 C.F.R. 3.815
refers to benefits allowable for an individual with disability from covered birth defects whose biological mother is or
was a Vietnam Veteran
I remember thinking that my Fathers Service to his Country would end up killing me. In my
opinion, this was blatant discrimination against men and their offspring. I became depressed
and wanted to give up. I was undergoing systemic chemotherapy at the time of my denial
letter, and did not know how I would be able to continue since I could not afford the co-
insurance for each treatment. Without going into detail, I will say my family has had to give up a
lot so I could stay alive.
August 21, 2012, My father passed away from Lung and Colon Cancer. He was 64 years old. His
Cancer had been attributed to his exposure to Agent Orange. At the time of his death, he was
receiving benefits from the V.A. and was considered 100%disabled due to service connected
Agent Orange Exposure..But of course, according o the V.A., there was no possible way that
his exposure could have any effect on me, Sad!

8


This story is not fiction, it is what I have grown up watching my mother go through every
day of her life , now let me share a quick look into my own life:

This past spring, my mom mentioned to her Oncologist the large birthmark on the back of
my leg. Her Oncologist immediately became concerned and wanted to examine my birth
mark. My mothers various forms of aggressive cancer prompted him. After examination,
and a biopsy, I have been ordered to have it examined every six months due to some pre
cancerous indicators. As an 18 year old woman, I am now afraid that I too will suffer from
unexplained illnesses in the future. I am also unsure if my own children will someday also
have to bear this burden. My grandfathers exposure seems to be going through the
generations of my family.
I ask the IOM committee to hear our voices. Thank you on behalf of Children of Vietnam
Veterans Health Alliance.










9

Committee to Review the Health Effects in
Vietnam Veterans of Exposure to Herbicides
(Ninth Biennial Update)





January, 16, 2013
Beckman Center
100 Academy
Irvine, CA, 92617








ADDITIONAL INFORMATION SUBMITTED FOR COMMITTEE REVIEW



(COVVHA) Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance, INC
980 Wheeler Way
P.O. Box 1204
Langhorne, PA 19047
Phone: 1-570-468-4035
COVVHA@Gmail.com
Www. COVVHA.net


10

EMAIL SAMPLES RECEIVED BY
COVVHA FROM JANUARY 2012- TO
DECEMBER 2012

I am 38 years old and despite very limited physical
activity since tearing my ACL in 2001, my joints
have become a real source of pain and not just in the
knees.
My father served in Vietnam and I was born
prematurely and am blind in one eye.
As a child of a Vietnam Veteran, I was born with a
severe DSD (disorder of sexual development) and I
was wondering if there was a link to Agent Orange
exposure.
My mentor and colleague, is the daughter of a
Vietnam Veteran and has been battling illness all her
life. At the age of 42, she continues to visit doctors,
only to walk away with medications that either thin
her blood or temporarily numb her pain.

I have a couple of issues with my body that I was
born with, that are not on the list...Tracheoesophageal
fistula. My boys 3rd generation have Hypospadias,
and my 16 yr old was diagnosed with hodgkins
lymphoma. I am a firm believer that we have these
because of my father serving in Vietnam, and being
sprayed with AO.
My brothers 18 year old cannot have children, she is
missing a chromosome (Grandchild of a Vietnam
Veteran).
I am the oldest child, took my parents until they
were 30 years old to conceive me due to lots of
complications. When I was born I was a c section and
had one of my first of many surgical operations right
away. Up until I was 16, I've had more than 48
operations. Yes, 48. Ranging from full facial
reconstruction, to ear canal reconstruction in both
ears, midface advancements, respiratory surgeries,
nose surgeries, I've had a tracheotomy at one point. I
wear hearing aids, glasses, I can't smell, my back is
on fire after standing up for a few minutes, and
recently diagnosed with degenerative bone disease in
my hip. I'm only 31. I've been on Social Security
Disability since I was 18 and get a small amount of
SSI on behalf of my fathers benefits.

My brother was nuked by agent orange in Vietnam,
his daughter had endometriosis and a hysterectomy.
His son, a doctor, is in treatment for alcoholism he
used to self medicate OCD and anxiety.
My brother was nuked by agent orange in Vietnam,
his daughter had endometriosis and a hysterectomy.
His son, a doctor, is in treatment for alcoholism he
used to self medicate OCD and anxiety.

I am the daughter of a Vietnam veteran who was
exposed to Agent Orange. I was born with a heart
condition and I am wondering...are their defects
found in the children of children from the original
veterans?
I have a 9 year old daughter born with one kidney
with Chronic Kidney Disease (Grandchild of a
Vietnam Veteran).
My son was born with Spina Bifida and there is no
evidence in our family history of any one ever being
born with a birth defect (Grandchild of a Vietnam
Veteran).
At the age of 24(almost 25), I was diagnosed with
Borderline Malignant Ovarian Tumors in both my
ovaries. At 25, I had surgery to remove these tumors.
I lost one whole ovary and a partial ovary to the
tumors. There is no history of cancer or this type of
tumor in my family.
I have several of the conditions on your list, along
with another called hyperaldosteronism.
My son was born with pyloric and subglottic
stenosis as well as a retractile testicle.

A long-term client at our firm is a Vietnam veteran
exposed to Agent Orange in 1969-1970. He has an
now-adult child who was diagnosed with Arnold
Chiari Malformation Type I (but not spina bifida)
when she was 13 yrs old after suffering from
headaches and loss of peripheral vision.
Subsequently, she had brain surgery
Myself, I have a short left arm , my left hand thumb
doesn't have a joint, index finger leans to the left,
other fingers are small, was born with yellow
jaundice.
In May 2012 I was diagnosed with Arnold Chiari
Malformation, I am 45 years old born in 1967. No
one else in my family suffers from this condition, on
either sid I am currently 30 years old and have been
recently diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis.

11

I'm currently on medical leave from work and was
basically told not to come back until I figure out
what's wrong with me and a way to fix it.
I was born with Clubfoot in both feet.
In the past few years, my health has been declining
rapidly. I don't remember all the technical/medical
names for everything, but they include a collapsed
pituitary gland, arthritis in my knees, right shoulder,
carpal tunnel syndrome and depression/anxiety.
My grandson has a bad case of this skin disorder
which covers his back and arms. My son is also
affected with this skin disorder and was diagnosed
with type 1 diabetes when he was 14 years old
(Child of a Vietnam Veteran and Grandchild of a
Vietnam Veteran).

I always had strange illnesses growing up until I was
Hospitalized and later found out I was diagnosed
with Multiple Sclerosis.

I too am a child of a Vietnam Vet born with a birth
defect. I am missing 2 fingers on my right hand while
it was webbed and i do not have a right pectoris with
a bone in the middle of my chest.
I am just looking for answers as to why my both
children have all these illnesses.

I am 38 years old. I can not have children because
I suffered with ovarian cysts from a young age and
then I suffered with infertility and had to have a
total hysterectomy in 2011.

I am a 34 year old female and I have officially been
diagnosed with the following:
1. Von Willebrand's Disease Type 2 (nobody in my
families have ever been diagnosed with this)
2. Endometriosis 3. PCOS 4. Constant Menorrhagia
for as long as 11 consecutive months throughout my
life resulting in Hypovolemia, Hypokalemia, and
severe anemia requiring roughly _30 transfusions
over the years. 5. Amenorrhea as long as 6
consecutive months with no menstrual cycle at all
6. Adult Brain Stem Glioma7. Esophageal Ulcer
8. Rheumatoid Arthritis 9. Osteoarthritis
10. Severe Magnesium Deficiency
11. Migraines with aura Multiple Times Daily with
Constant Headache since January
12. Three times I have been hospitalized in the last
four years with "Infection of an Undetermined
Cause" with bizarre masses on my neck and head
that inevitably were benign and never a case
determined. This was concluded to be an
Autoimmune Disease with an Unknown Etiology.
13. 4 Miscarriages 14. Anaphylactic attacks that
come suddenly with no determined cause
15. Seizures 16. Many ovarian cysts for which I
have had a multitude of operations

I have 32 illnesses including renal failure. I am 37
years old, the same age my dad was when he died
from Agent Orange related cancer.

I am 40 years old. I was born two months premature
without my right leg below the knee, several missing
fingers on both hands and webbed toes. My Father
had five bypasses on his heart at age 38, he died at
age 50 of a massive heart attack his death was service
connected due to Agent Orange.

I am 32 years old. I was born without my right arm.

I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes at age 10. At
18, I started experiencing pain in my joints and
muscles,at 20 I was diagnosed with rheumatoid
arthritis, (this DOES NOT run in my family (explain
that). At about age 19, I started noticing tremors in
my hands and small jerking like turrets almost. I
thought it was due to blood sugar from the diabetes
or maybe a medication. We ruled out any possible
explanation and I was diagnosed last year with early
onset Parkinson's. Having had no exposure to
harmful drugs or a trauma to my head, doctor's
cannot explain the reason for my having Parkinson's
at age 22 and younger.

Our daughter would be 14 right now, she passed
away at age 9. She was born with multiple birth
defects. Hydrocephalus, encephalocele, small brain
stem and Holoprosencephaly and a seizure-disorder.
Cerebral Palsy (Grandchild of a Vietnam Veteran).





12

Represented Birth defects
Birth Defects That are on the Children of Women Vietnam Compensation list by the VA but are
not compensated for the children of male Vietnam Veterans and are present in our Children of
Vietnam Veteran Health Alliance membership (Approximately 500 members).

Achondroplasia
Cleft lip and cleft palate
Congenital heart disease
Congenital talipes equinovarus (clubfoot)
Esophageal and intestinal atresia
Hip dysplasia
Hydrocephalus due to aqueductal stenosis
Hypospadias
Imperforate anus
Neural tube defects
Poland syndrome
Pyloric stenosis
Syndactyly (fused digits)
Tracheoesophageal fistula

Represented in our membership are several suffering from the illnesses on the Veterans
Presumptive lists, please keep in mind this is a group of people between ages 20-45.

Diabetes Type II
Hodgkin's Lymphoma
Ischemic Heart Disease
Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma
Peripheral Neuropathy, Acute and Subacute
Respiratory Cancers
Soft Tissue Sarcoma
Parkinsons Disease





13

The name and total number of Congenital Abnormalities within COVVHA (500 Members)
Congenital Anomalies (195)
Acephaly
Ankylogossia AKA Tongue Tied
Arteriovenous Malformation (2)
Bicornuate Uterus/Septate
Uterus (5)
Bicuspid Aorta Heart Valve
Bicuspid Valve Prolapse
Bipartide Patellas
Bones Missing at Birth
Born Blind
Born Deaf (2)
Bowel Deformity (2)
Brain Stem Abnormalities
Brain Stem Small
Camptodactyl
Caudel Regression Syndrome
AKA Sacral Agenesis
Choristoma AKA Hamartoma,
Tumor in the Ear
Cleft Lips
Cleft Palate
Club Foot AKA Talipes
Equinovares (2)
Congenital Scoliosis
Congenital Adrenal Hyperplasia
Congenital Anosenia, Born
without the ability to smile
Congenital Heart Blockage
Congenital Hips (2)
Congenital Hypertension
Deformed
Arms/Legs/Fingers/Toes/Feet
Deformed Sinuses
Deformity of Chest/ Breast
Deformity of Shoulders/
Muscles
Deformity of the
Face/Head/Neck
Diagonal Earlobe Crease
Double Cervix
Double Hernia at Birth
Double Ureater (3)
Double Uterus/Cervix
Double Uvula/Cleft Uvula
Duplicate Mitral Valve
Encephalotrigeminal
Angiomatosis SKA Sturge Weber
Syndrome
Extra Body Parts (Sibling had 3
Kidneys)
Extra Bones
Extra Vertebrate
Fragile X Syndrome
Fused Digits (Toes Partially)
Fused Vertebrae in Neck (8)
Fused Vertebra/ Disc (2)
Gene Mutations 4g4g
Heart Defect/Murmur/Newborn
(3)
Hip Deformity (Something Ate
The Bone Away, Thought It Was
Fungus But No Explaination
Attacking Several Bones In
Lower Extremities
Hydrocephalus AKA Water on
the Brain
Hypospadias
Hypoplastic Heart
Imperforate Anus
Jaw Deformity/ Surgery
Keratosis Pilaris
Lateral Microtia
Lumbarization
Lung Deformity- 3rd Lung
Marfan Syndrome
Metatarsus Varus AKA Pigeon
Toed
Methylenetetrahydrofolate
Reductase (MTHFR) (2)
Microtia
Mild Dysplasia (30)
Missing Big Toe
Missing Digits
Missing Fingers
Missing Right Leg Below the
Knee
Missing Limbs/ Body Parts
Missing Vertebrae
Nevus Sebaceous
Oculo-Auriculo-Vertebral(OAV)
Syndrome AKA Goldenhar
Syndrome
Osteogenesis Imperfecta AKA
Brittle Bone Disease
Pancreas was upside down,
facing the wrong way
Pectus Excavatum
Pelvic Bones Not Fused
Pierre Robin Sequence
Poland Syndrome
Polycystic Kidney Disease
Scoliosis (18)
Slight Deviated Jaw (2)
Small Digits on Hands
Spina Bifida (3)
Spina Bifida Occulta (3)
Spinal Deformities (2)
Subglottic Stenosis
Syndactyl
Tooth Formation Absence, Adult
Teeth Never Came In (7)
Triple Ureater
Triple X Syndrome
Truncus Arteriosis
Uterine Septum AKA Septate
Uterus
Vacterl Association AKA Vacterl
Syndrome
Vertebrae Extra/Missing
Webbed Toes




New members of COVVHA are asked to self report any illnesses, or congenital
abnormalities they may have. We ask them to submit any illness
to only add things they think are caused by Agent Orange.
Mental illness is the most reported issue within our group.
We do not claim this to be a scientific study. It is simply to aid the committee in seeing
what we have observed. We would need real help to complete a significant Study.


Diseases of the
Musculoskeletal
System and
Connective Tissue
(383)
Diseases of the
Gentourinary
System (410)
Mental Disorders
(726)
Diseases of the
Respiratory System
(138)
Diseases of the
Blood and Blood
Forming Organs (50)
Certain Conditions
Originating In The
Perinatal Period (1)
Number of Times Reported (Approx 500 People)
New members of COVVHA are asked to self report any illnesses, or congenital
abnormalities they may have. We ask them to submit any illness they may have and not
to only add things they think are caused by Agent Orange.
Mental illness is the most reported issue within our group.
We do not claim this to be a scientific study. It is simply to aid the committee in seeing
We would need real help to complete a significant Study.
Neoplasms
(54)
Diseases of the
Circulatory
System (157)
Congenital
Anomalies
(195)
Diseases of the Skin
and Subcutaneous
Tissue (238)
Endocrine,
Nutritional, and
Metabolic Diseases
and Immunity
Disorders (247)
Diseases of the
Nervous System and
Sense Organs (297)
Diseases of the
Digestion System
(387)
Diseases of the
Musculoskeletal
System and
Connective Tissue
(383)
Certain Conditions
Originating In The
Perinatal Period (1)
Complications of
Pregnancy,
Childbirth and
Puerperium (15)
Number of Times Reported (Approx 500 People)
14

they may have and not
We do not claim this to be a scientific study. It is simply to aid the committee in seeing
We would need real help to complete a significant Study.
Diseases of the Skin
and Subcutaneous
Tissue (238)
Endocrine,
Nutritional, and
Metabolic Diseases
and Immunity
Disorders (247)
Diseases of the
Nervous System and
Sense Organs (297)

15

COVVHA RECOMMENDATIONS
A. The eighteen plus birth defects for children of female Vietnam Veterans should be
approved for children of male Vietnam Veterans: This act alone would help some of the
most disabled, and those in most desperate need of services, in the Children of Vietnam
veteran community.
From the Veterans Administration Website:
Covered birth defects include, but are not limited to, the following conditions:
Achondroplasia
Cleft lip and cleft palate
Congenital heart disease
Congenital talipes equinovarus (clubfoot)
Esophageal and intestinal atresia
Hallerman-Streiff syndrome
Hip dysplasia
Hirschprung's disease (congenital megacolon)
Hydrocephalus due to aqueductal stenosis
Hypospadias
Imperforate anus
Neural tube defects
Poland syndrome
Pyloric stenosis
Syndactyly (fused digits)
Tracheoesophageal fistula
Undescended testicle
Williams syndrome
Conditions due to family disorders, birth-related injuries, or fetal or neonatal infirmities with well-
established causes are not covered. If any of the birth defects listed above are determined to be a
family disorder in a particular family, they are not covered birth defects.

B. DNA/ Epigenetic TESTING
COVVHA proposes DNA/Epigenetic testing be made available at no cost to the biological
children of Vietnam Veterans. Our data shows that biological children of Vietnam Veterans,
who have been required by their doctors to have DNA testing, have proven to show genetic
mutations. We have submitted results to confirm this. We have at least two others in our
group with similar results but did not receive them in time to include them:
Well, I had done what was called a J ak2 test. The disease I have is called Primary (or Essential) Thrombocytosis. About half of
patients with my disease test positive for J ak2, and I am one of them. Basically, it is a genetic mutation that causes the signals in
my bone marrow to not shut themselves off, so they keep producing more and more cells.

After I had my test done and it came back positive, my Dad had already been gone 8 years, so my Mom had the test done, which
came back negative. She is not a carrier of the mutation.

16



17


18

C. Agent Orange Registry for Children of Vietnam Veterans
COVVHA proposes that an official Agent Orange registry be made available to the biological
children of Vietnam Veterans structured in the same manner as the Agent Orange Registry
available to Vietnam Veterans.
D. Legislative remedies - S.1940
On October 27, 2009 Senate Bill S. 1940 was introduced, referred to committee, and died, during 111th session of
congress sponsored by Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY] In summary, the legislation would:
Direct the Secretary of Veterans Affairs to complete, and report to the congressional veterans committees on, a
study of the effects on children of their parents' exposure to herbicides used in support of U.S. and allied
military operations in the Republic of Vietnam during the Vietnam era.

Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance proposes a new legislative remedy for S. 1940. Legislation should be
re-written and introduced directing the Secretary of Veterans Affairs to complete and report a study examining the
health and medical effects of biological children of Vietnam Veterans exposed to herbicides during the Vietnam
War Era, NOT LIMITED TO IN COUNTRY or BOOTS ON THE GROUND

E. Parents military on medical (doctors appt forms)
Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance proposes that all medical professionals be required to note their
patients inherited herbicide exposure in their charts by including a patient questionnaire which asks, but not
limited to, if one or both parents served in the military during the Vietnam war era.

F. Data Collection Available to the Children of Vietnam Veterans and their
Representatives
Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance proposes that all medical data being collected by government and
non-government entities on the biological children and grandchildren of Vietnam Veterans be made available to
the children of Vietnam Veterans at no cost.

G. International Agent Orange Research Cooperation
Children Of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance proposes international cooperation amongst all leading dioxin
researchers and scientists: In particular those working on epigenetic research.

H. Epidemiology study for Children and grandchildren of Vietnam Veterans
Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance proposes that Epidemiology studies be included in above stated
legislative remedies in addition to stand Alone studies

I. We do not recommend Centers for the Children of Vietnam Veterans, Children of
Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance proposes: the utilization of VA hospitals, or community
hospitals, or clinics under special coordination programs with the V.A. These are already
established places and would significantly reduce the time needed to begin caring for those

19

affected by Agent Orange. This would also be geographically more convenient for those who
cannot afford to or are too ill to travel long distances.
J. Including Children of Vietnam Veterans in the planning process
Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance proposes a committee of actual Children of
Vietnam Veterans be formed to help those creating programs for us that our actual needs are
being assessed instead of making assumptions for our population. We maybe the Child of a
Vietnam Veteran but we are adults and would like a say in the planning process that will
ultimately help the most vulnerable parts of our population. Veterans, widows and researchers
have many opinions; however, there must be a true needs assessment.



















20

ILLNESSES SELF REPORTED BY MEMBERSHIP COVVHA

Diseases of the Blood and
Blood Forming Organs (50)
Anemia (29)
Antiphospholipid Syndrome
Chronic Neutropenia, Severe
Clotting Disorders (7)
Factor V Leiden
Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic
Purpura (ITP) Platelet Disorder
Iron Deficiency (4)
Leukocytosis with Neutrophilia
Low Red Blood Count
Neutropenia
Pancytonpenia
Thrombophilia SKA
Hypercoagulability
Von Willebrand Disease

760-779 Certain Conditions
Originating In The Perinatal
Period (1)
Periventricular Leukomalacia

390-459 Diseases of the
Circulatory System (158)
Atrial Fibrillation (2)
Bradycardia Arrythmia
Cardiac Arrythmia (10)
Cardiomegaly AKA Enlarged
Heart
Cardiovascular Disease AKA
Heart Disease
Cerebrovascular Accident (CVA)
AKA Stroke
Chronic Venous Insufficiency
(CVI), Severe (2)
Deep Vein Thrombosis (DVT)
Dilated Cardiomyopathy with
Enlarged Heart Ventricle and 4
Heart Sounds
Dysphagia
Giant Cell Arteritis (GCA) AKA
Temperal Arteritis
Hereditary Hemorrhagic
Telangiectasia (HHT) AKA Osler-
Weber-Rendu Disease
HOCM AKA Hypertrophic
cardiomyopathy
Hypertension AKA High Blood
Pressure (42)
Hypotension AKA Low Blood
Pressure (20)
Ischemic Heart Disease
Long QT Syndrome
Lung Disease/Nodules/
Tumors/Clots
Multiple Cardiac Arrests Before
Finding Peace at 21/2 YOA
(Sibling)
Mitral Valve Prolapse
Myocardial Infarction AKA Heart
Attack
Orthostatic Hypotension
Pericarditis
Raynaud's Syndrome AKA
Raynaud's Phenomenon (5)
Rheumatic Fever
Sinus Tachycardia (8)
Supraventricular Tachycardia (3)
Tachycardia AKA Elevated Heart
Rate (16)
Vasculitis
Vericose Veins (14)
Vertigo (12)
Viral Myocarditis
Wolf- Parkinson- White
Syndrome (3)

630-679 Complications of
Pregnancy, Childbirth and
Puerperium (15)
Ectopic Pregnancy (2)
Gestational Diabetes
Pre-Eclampsia (3)
Pregnancy Complications,
Undefined
Pregnancy, Partial Molar
Premature Babies (7)








21

ILLNESSES SELF REPORTED BY MEMBERSHIP COVVHA (continued)
Congenital Anomalies (195)
Acephaly
Ankylogossia AKA Tongue Tied
Arteriovenous Malformation (2)
Bicornuate Uterus/Septate
Uterus (5)
Bicuspid Aorta Heart Valve
Bicuspid Valve Prolapse
Bipartide Patellas
Bones Missing at Birth
Born Blind
Born Deaf (2)
Bowel Deformity (2)
Brain Stem Abnormalities
Brain Stem Small
Camptodactyl
Caudel Regression Syndrome
AKA Sacral Agenesis
Choristoma AKA Hamartoma,
Tumor in the Ear
Cleft Lips
Cleft Palate
Club Foot AKA Talipes
Equinovares (2)
Congenital Scoliosis
Congenital Adrenal Hyperplasia
Congenital Anosenia, Born
without the ability to smile
Congenital Heart Blockage
Congenital Hips (2)
Congenital Hypertension
Deformed
Arms/Legs/Fingers/Toes/Feet
Deformed Sinuses
Deformity of Chest/ Breast
Deformity of Shoulders/
Muscles
Deformity of the
Face/Head/Neck
Diagonal Earlobe Crease
Double Cervix
Double Hernia at Birth
Double Ureater (3)
Double Uterus/Cervix
Double Uvula/Cleft Uvula
Duplicate Mitral Valve
Encephalotrigeminal
Angiomatosis SKA Sturge Weber
Syndrome
Extra Body Parts (Sibling had 3
Kidneys)
Extra Bones
Extra Vertebaes
Fragile X Syndrome
Fused Digits (Toes Partially)
Fused Vertebrae in Neck (8)
Fused Vertebra/ Disc (2)
Gene Mutations 4g4g
Heart Defect/Murmur/Newborn
(3)
Hip Deformity (Something Ate
The Bone Away, Thought It Was
Fungus But No Explaination
Attacking Several Bones In
Lower Extremities
Hydrocephalus AKA Water on
the Brain
Hypospadias
Hyposplastic Heart
Imperforate Anus
Jaw Deformity/ Surgery
Keratosis Pilaris
Lateral Mycrotia
Lumbarization
Lung Deformity- 3rd Lung
Marfan Syndrome
Metatarsus Varus AKA Pigeon
Toed
Methylenetetrahydrofolate
Reductase (MTHFR) (2)
Microtia
Mild Dysplasia (30)
Missing Big Toe
Missing Digits
Missing Fingers (2)
Missing Right Leg Below the
Knee
Missing Limbs/ Body Parts
Missing Vertebrae
Nevus Sebacious
Oculo-Auriculo-Vertebral(OAV)
Syndrome AKA Goldenhar
Syndrome
Osteogenesis Imperfecta AKA
Brittle Bone Disease
Pancrease was upside down,
facing the wrong way
Pectus Excavatum
Pelvic Bones Not Fused
Pierre Robin Sequence
Poland Syndrome
Polycystic Kidney Disease
Scoliosis (18)
Slight Deviated Jaw (2)
Small Digits on Hands
Spina Bifida (3)
Spina Bifida Occulta (3)
Spinal Deformities (2)
Subglottic Stenosis
Syndactyl
Tooth Formation Absence, Adult
Teeth Never Came In (7)
Triple Ureater
Triple X Syndrome
Truncus Arteriosis
Uterine Septum AKA Septate
Uterus
Vacterl Association AKA Vacterl
Syndrome
Vertebrae Extra/Missing
Webbed Toes


22

ILLNESSES SELF REPORTED BY MEMBERSHIP COVVHA (continued)
Diseases of the Digestion System (387)
Abnormal Rectal Bleeding (12)
Appenditicis (9)
Benign Oral Cysts (3)
Callluses on Vocal Chords Faulty Stomach Acid
Caused (2)
Celiac Disease (3)
Chronic Constipation (20)
Cirrhosis of the Liver Due to Atypical Hereditary
Hemochromatosis
Colon Issues (2)
Constipation (5)
Crohn's Disease (6)
Dental Caries AKA Tooth Decay (26)
Digestive Issues (5)
Fatty Deposits on Liver (4)
Gall Bladder Disease (52)
Gall Stones (55)
Gastoparesis
Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD) (87)
Gluten Intolerance (6)
Hernia (3)
Idiopathic Gastroparesis (3)
Irritable Bowel Syndrome AKA Spastic Colon (39)
Liver Disease Fatty/ Undefined
Liver Lesions
Malabsorption of Food and Drink
Malabsorption of Vitamin B12 and B1 (2)
Pancreatitis (5)
Peptic Ulcers AKA Peptic Ulcer Disease AKA Stomach
Ulcers (4)
Pyloric Stenosis
Rectal Prolapse
Rectal Seal Prolapse
Sphincter of Oddi Disorder
Steatohepatitis AKA Fatty Liver Disease
Temporomandibular Joint Disorder (TMJ) (16)
Tracheoesophageal Fistula (2)
Ulcerative Colitis (2)
Ulcers- Mouth (4)














23

ILLNESSES SELF REPORTED BY MEMBERSHIP COVVHA (continued)
Endocrine, Nutrional, and Metabolic Diseases and Immunity Disorders (247)
Addison's Disease
Albinism
Angiodema
Automimmune Disease, Unknown Etiology (26)
Benign Multinodular Goiter (7)
Calicum Deficiency (2)
Compromised Immune System
Cryoglobulinemia
Cushing's Syndrome
Cystic Fibrosis
Dehydration
Diabetes Type I
Diabetes Type II (15)
Dwarfism
Electrolyte Abnormalities (3)
Empty Sella Syndrome
Endocrine Disorders (4)
Goiter (9)
Gout
Grave's Disease (5)
Growth Hormone Deficiency (GHD)
Hashimoto's Autoimmune thyroid Disease (6)
Hereditary Angiodema (2)
Hereditary Atypical Hemochromatosis
Hypercholersterolmia AKA High Cholesterol (32)
Hyperhomocysteinemia
Hyperinsulinemia
Hyperparathyroidism
Hyperprolactinemia
Hyperthyroidism (4)
Hypoglycemia (17)
Hypoparathyroidism
Hypokalemia AKA Low Potassium (10)
Hypothyroidism (27)
Immune Deficiency Syndrome (3)
Insuline Resistance
Lactose Intolerance (8)
Low Vitamin D Levels (31)
Metabolic Syndrome
Parathyroid Gland Dysfunction (2)
Premature Menopause (2)
Premature Ovarian Failure
Prolactinoma
Unspecified Immunodeficiency (6)
Vitamin B-12 Deficiency (4)












24

ILLNESSES SELF REPORTED BY MEMBERSHIP COVVHA (continued)
Diseases of the Gentourinary System (410)
Abnormal Cervical Bleeding (16)
Abnormal Growth Between
Ovaries (8)
Abnormal Pap Smears (30)
Abnormal Periods (70)
Adenomyosis (3)
Amenorrhoea
Berger's Disease
Bilateral Uterus
Bladder Infections AKA Urinary
Tract Infections (31)
Bladder is Collapsing (3)
Blood in Urine AKA Hematuria,
Undefined
Chronic Kidney Disease AKA
Chronic Renal Disease (3)
Complete Hysterectomy (14)
Complete Pelvic Floor Collapse
Cysts: Cervix/ Ovaries/Uterus
(4)
Endometrial Hyperplasia
Endometrial Polyps KA Uterine
Polyps (5)
Endometriosis (35)
Fibrocystic Breast Changes AKA
Fibrocystic Breast Disease (4)
Fibroid Cysts in Breasts (16)
Focal Segmental
Glomerulosclerosis (FSGS)
Hydrocele Testis
Hymen Issues, Paritally Intact
Infertility (21)
Interstital Cystitis
Kidney Cysts (6)
Kidney Disease
Low Estrogen
Low Testosterone (5)
Menopause Issues, Early (2)
Menorrhagia (3)
Mullarian Aplasia
Nephrolithiasis AKA Kidney
Stones
Ovarian Cysts (46)
Overactive Bladder (16)
Pelvice Congestion Syndrome
(Before Hysterectomy)
Poor Egg Quality (2)
Prolapsed Cervix
Prostate Problems/Enlarged
Pyelonephritis AKA Kidney
Infections (6)
Renal Calculus AKA Kidney
Stones (15)
Renal Cyst/ Calcification
Renal Failure AKA Renal
Insufficiency
Reproductive Problems, Female
(2)
Retroverted Uterus
Salpingitis Isthmica Nodosa
(SIN)
Secondary Infertility (2)
Testicle Deformity
Tilited Uterus (17)
Vaginal Bleeding
Bacterial Vaginosis AKA Vaginal
Bacteriosis AKA Vaginosis
Vulvodynia, Pain in the Vulva

001-139 Infections and
Parasitic Diseases (38)
Bacterial Infections (2)
Cervial Infections (5)
Chronic Candida and other
Female Reproductive Organ
Infections (13)
Methicillin Staphylococcus
Resistant Aurus (MSRA)
Sarcoidosis
Shingles-
Ears/Mouth/Opthamalic/Throat
(5)
Strep Throat (6)
Tinea Versicolor
Toxic Shock Syndrome
Tuberculosis (3)

800-999 Injury and Poisoning
(70)
Allergies (68)
Amputation
Anaphalaxis















25

ILLNESSES SELF REPORTED BY MEMBERSHIP COVVHA (continued)
Mental Disorders (726
Addiction-Cigarettes (49)
Addiction Other than Cigarettes
(9)
Attention Deficit Disorder (5)
Attention Deficit Hyperactivity
Disorder (24)
Agoraphobia, Severe (2)
Alcoholism (16)
Amnesia AKA Memory Loss AKA
Short Term Memory Loss (31)
Anorexia Nervosa
Anxiety (123)
Aphasia SKA Speech Problems
(2)
Asperger's Syndrome
Autism (3)
Bipolar Disorder (26)
Borderline Personality Disorder
(3)
Borderline Schizophrenia
Childhood Extreme Shyness (25)
Cognitive Disorder
Conversion Disorder
Clinical Depression (87)
Depression, Major (89)
Develpmental Delay
Dissociative Disorder
Drug Abuse (3)
Dyslexia (10)
Dysthemia AKA Chronic
Depression(2)
Emotional Problems (4)
Eneuresis AKA Childhood
Bedwetting (14)
Generalized Anxiety Disorder
(14)
Insomnia AKA Sleeplessness
(11)
Learning Disabilities (4)
Mental Health Issues (9)
Mental Retardation
Nightmares (31)
Night Terrors (3)
Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
(OCD) (4)
Personality Disorders
Premenstrual Dysphoric
Disorder (7)
Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
Primary: Related to Family
violence (13)
Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
Secondary (43)
Schizophrenia (2)
Severe Depression (14)
Short Term Memory Problems
(6)
Social Anxiety Disorder (8)
Social Problems (6)
Suicidal Ideations AKA Suicial
Thoughts (13)
Suicide (Brother)
Tourette's Syndrome














26


ILLNESSES SELF REPORTED BY MEMBERSHIP COVVHA (continued)
Diseases of the Musculoskeletal System and Connective Tissue (383)
Ankylosing Spondylitis
Arthritis, Inflammatory of the SI
Joint, Rhumatoid (24)
Arthritis, Juvenile
Back Pain, Unspecified (69)
(Bilateral) Baker Cysts AKA
Popliteal Cyst
Bursitis (10)
Calcaneal Spur AKA Heal Spur
(8)
Carpal Tunnel (22)
Cava Perthes AKA Legg- Calve-
Perthes Syndrome
Chondromalacia Patallae (3)
Chronic Costochondritis AKA
Chest Wall Pain
Chronic Knee Dysplasia (5)
Collapses Vertebrae
Connective Tissue Disorder (2)
Costochondritis
Cramping (5)
Crest Syndrome
Debilitating Muscle Spasms (5)
Degenerative Disc Disease (30)
Degenerative Joint Syndrome
(4)
Degenerative Ligament Tissue
Disc Dessication
Facet Syndrome AKA Facet Joint
Syndrome (3)
Facial Aplasia
Felty Syndrome AKA Felty's
Syndrome
Fibromyalgia (32)
Foot Deformity (4)
Ganglion Cyst (11)
Growths on Skull
Involuntary Muscle Spasms
Face/Eyes/Legs/Stomach/Abdo
men (14)
Joint and Muscle Problems/Pain
(12)
Joint Hypermobilty Syndrome
(3)
Kienbock's Disease
Knee Displasia (6)
Kyphosis AKA Roundback (2)
Lateral Epicondylitis AKA Tennis
Elbow
Mixed Connective Tissue
Disease (MCTD)
Muscle
Spasms/Pain/Numbness,
Undefined (7)
Musculoskeletal Problems
Neuralgia, Face, Feet, Hands,
Legs (9)
Osteoarthritis (22)
Osteochondritis
Osteopenia
Osteoporosis (3)
Paralysis
Patellar Subluxation, Left Knee
(3)
Polymyositisis
Pulmonary Fibrosis
Sjogren's Syndrome AKA Sicca
Syndrome (2)
Spinal Deterioration (4)
Spinal Disc Hernitaion AKA
Herniated Disc (4)
Spondyloloisthesis (7)
Spondylolysis (7)
Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
AKA Lupus (3)
Tendinitis AKA Tendonitis (14)
Torticollis








27

ILLNESSES SELF REPORTED BY MEMBERSHIP COVVHA (continued)
Neoplasms (54)
Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia
Acute Myeloid Leukemia (2)
Adrenal Gland Tumors AKA
Cushing's Disease
Anal Squamous Cell Carcinoma
Basaloid Type
Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma
Appendicitis/Cancerous,
Undefined
Bone Cancer
Brain Tumors
Breast Cancer
Cancer (6)
Cardo Sarcoma
Cervical Cancer
Cervical Intraepithelial
Neoplasia AKA Cervical
Dysplasia
Endometrial Cancer
Follicular Lymphoma
Glioblastoma
Hairy Cell Leukemia
Hemangioma on my C-7
Vertebrae
Histiocytosis
Hodgkin's Lymphoma
Large B Cell Lymphoma
Lipomas-Non Cancerous Tumors
Throughout Body (3)
Lung Cancers and Hocm
Lymphatic Tumors/
Lymphangioma
Lymphoblastic Leukemia
Lymphoma
Melanoma (3)
Myelodysplastic Syndrome
Nasal Cancer
Ovarian Cancer
Parathyroid Adenoma AKA
Tumor on the Parathyoid
Polycythemia Vera
Polycythemia Vera with Genetic
Factor
Primitive Neuroectodermal
Tumor (PNET)
Rhabdomyosarcoma
Skin Cancer
Spinal Cord Tumors
Throat Tumors (2)
Thyroid Cancer-Hashimoto's
Tumors (2)
Tumors on Liver
Uterine Leiomyosarcoma
















28

ILLNESSES SELF REPORTED BY MEMBERSHIP COVVHA (continued)
Diseases of the Nervous System and Sense Organs (297)
Absence Seizure AKA Petit Mal
Seizures
Amblyopia AKA Lazy Eye (12)
Annual Decrease in Night Vision
(25)
Arachnoid Cyst in Brain Space
Arachnoiditis (2)
Arnold Chiari Malformation (2)
Autonomic Nervous System
Dysfunction
Bacterial Meningitis
Bell's Palsy (4)
Blindness
Brain Calcification and Enlarged
Penvascular Space
Central Nervous System
Disorder
Cerebral Palsy
Chronic Childhood Ear
Infections (27)
Chronic Inflammtory
Demyalinating Polyneuropathy
(CIDP)
Complex Regional Pain
Syndrome FKA Reflex
Sympathetic
Dystrophy(CRPS/RSD)
Crossed Eyes, Newborn
Detached Retina
Droop Eye, Ptosis
Dysautonomia (2)
Epilepsy (3)
Eustacian Tube Dysfunction (2)
Exotropia
Eye Floaters (10)
Eye Problems, Undefined: Too
much Spinal Fluid on my Brain
Headaches (Chronic) (13)
Hearing Loss, Deafness (11)
High Myopia AKA Near sighted,
AKA Short sighted
Hydrocephaly (Brother
Deceased)
Hypoplasia: Entire Right Side
Idiopathic Intracranial
Hypertension AKA Pseudotumor
Cerebri (3)
Intracranial Cyst AKA Arachnoid
Cyst
Juvenile Macular Degeneration
Legally Blind (2)
Mastoiditis (2)
Meniere's Disease (2)
Migraines: Basilar, Cluster,
Hemiplegic, Hypnic (36)
Migraines, Chronic (36)
Migraines (13)
Multiple Sclerosis (3)
Muscular Dystrophy (2)
Mysathenia Gravis
Neuropathy
Night Blindness (4)
Otitis AKA Ear Infections (6)
Otosclerosis
Peripheral Neuropathy AKA
Neuropathy (13)
Postural Ortostatic Tachycardia
Syndrome (POTS) (2)
Ptosis
Seizures
Sleep Apnea (21)
Spinal Meningitis
Spinocerebellar Ataxia
Spinocerebellum Degeneration
Thoracic Outlet Syndrome
Tinnitus, Lifelong (10)
Vasovagal Response or
Vasovagal Attack AKA
Neurocardiogenic Syncope











29

ILLNESSES SELF REPORTED BY MEMBERSHIP COVVHA (continued)
Diseases of the Respiratory System (138)
Asthma (39)
Bronchitis/Bronchial Spasms (4)
Chronic Asthmatic Bronchitis (10)
Chronic Cold (2)
Chronic Influenza (2)
Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD)
Chronic Pnuemonia (5)
Chronic Sinusitis (25)
Deviated Nasal Septum (5)
Nasal Polyps
Pnuemonia, Childhood/Recurring
Pulmonary Edema
Respiratory Infections/Distress (4)
Sinusitis AKA Sinus Infections (34)
Tonsillitis (4)

Diseases of the Skin and Subcutaneous Tissue (238)
Acne Vulgaris AKA Cystic Acne,
Undefined (42)
Adult Acne (37)
Alopecia AKA Hair Loss (2)
Alopecia Areata AKA Spot
Baldness
Benign Cyst, Armpit (10)
Boils AKA Furuncles AKA
Carbuncles (4)
Cellulitis (3)
Chloracne
Cysts: Arm, Hand, Leg, Shoulder
Blade, Wrists (23)
Dermatitis (8)
Eczema (17)
Hisutism AKA Frazonism (6)
Hidradenitis Suppurativa
Missing A Whole Layer Of
Dermis
Mulitple Recurring
Undiagnosable Oozing Sores
Peeling As If Sunburned, Face/
Body (3)
Pityriasis
Photosensitivity AKA Light
Sensitivity, Severe (20)
Polymorphous Light Eruption
AKA Polymorphic Light Eruption
(PMLE) (1)
Psoriasis (2)
Psoriatic Arthritis
Psoriatic Rhumatoid Arthritis
Rash Under My Arm Same Place
My Dad Gets It (4)
Rash, Newborns
Rashes, Undefined (2)
Raynaud's Disease AKA
Raynaud's Phenomenon (5)
Rosacea (3)
Scleroderma
Sebacious Cysts AKA Lumps On
The Head (5)
Sebhorrheic Dermatitis
Skin Lesions
Skin Problems/ Deformity
Skin Rashes (19)
Squamous Papilloma, Benign
Polyp in Mouth
Strange Growths
Trichilemmal Cyst AKA Pilar Cyst
Undiagnosed Rash On One Side
Of Body
Urticaria AKA Hives (4)
Vitiligo AKA Loss Of Skin
Pigment














30


Symptoms, Signs, and Ill-Defined Conditions (619)
Achy Body (30)
Anger Issues (13)
Ataxia
Balance Problems (3)
Black Outs AKA Syncope
Bladder Lift (2)
Borderline Diabetic (7)
Borderline High Blood Pressure (14)
Breast Pain (6)
Chemical Sensitivity (24)
Chest/Breast Pain (21)
Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (30)
Chronic ENT Issues Results Leading to
Adenoidectomy, Tonsillectomy and Ear Tubes (12)
Cold Hands/ Feet (14)
Dental Problems (11)
Dizzy Spells (11)
Ear Surgeries (6)
Ear Tubes (6)
Excessive Nosebleeds (3)
Fasciculation AKA Twitches (5)
Fever Seizures (5)
Fever, Undefined
Foot Issues, Burning (4)
Gastritis (9)
Gastrointestinal Problems (3)
Heart Palpitations (30)
Heart Problems/Surgery (2)
Hepatomegaly ALA Enlarged Liver- Cause Unknown
High ANA Levels In Blood Leads To Potential Lupus
Diagnosis But After 4 Years Only Other Symptoms Is
Raynaud's Phenomenon
Hip Pain, Undefined (7)
Hip Replacement
Hip Surgery, Undefined
Hormone Issues/Replacement (2)
Hyperhidrosis AKA Excessive Sweating (3)
Hypermobility Issues/Surgeries
Hysterectomy (3)
Immune System Issues and IVIG Infusions
Infant/ Toddler Lethargy, Withdrawl
Kidney Surgery
Knee Problems/Pain/Surgery (7)
Lethargy
Lhermitte's Sign SKA Barber Chair Phenomenon
Loss Of Strenght In Limbs (2)
Mood Swings (44)
Neck Pain (28)
Nerve Damage (17)
Neurological Problems, Undefined
Night Sweats (6)
Orthostatic Intolerance
Pain, Undefined (3)
Parasthesis
Partial Thyroidectomy (2)
Pelvic Reconstruction
Potassium Issues (2)
Sensitive Skin (26)
Sensitive Teeth (38)
Sensitive to Medication (8)
Snoring (30)
Spinal Surgeries/Pain/ Undefined (3)
Stress (9)
Swelling, Undefined
Thinning of Hair, Top/Front (6)
Tired (19)
Tremors (18)
Unexplained Numbness (7)
Unexplained Tingling Right Side Of Body (5)
Vascular Headaches
Vomiting (3)
Weak Enamel In/On Teeth (16)
Weak Muscles Left Leg (7)
Weight Loss
Whole Thyroidectomy Surgery (3)








31

Grandchildren of Vietnam Veterans (A.K.A. 3
rd
generation) as of 12/ 12- COVVHA Members Children

Diseases Of The Blood And The Blood Forming
Organs (3)
Cystic Hygroma
Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP)
Sickle Cell Anemia

Diseases Of The Circulatory System (3)
Varicocele (Prone to Varicocele/Hydracele) (3)


Complications Of Pregnancy, Childbirth, And The
Perperium (6)
Premature Births (6)

Congentital Anomalies (28)
Anencephaly (2)
BeckwithWiedemann Syndrome
Cleft Palate (5)
Dual AV Node In Heart
Edwards Syndrome
Hypospadias
Keratosis Pilaris
Leg/ Hip Problems At Birth (3)
Neural Tube Defects (2)
One Testicle Smaller Than The Other AKA
Cryptorchidism AKA Undescended Testicles (2)
Prune Belly Syndrome
Radial Dysphasia Of The Wrist AKA Radial
Dysplasia of the Wrist
Scoliosis
Spine is Blunt At The Bottom
Sticker Syndrome
Two Uteruses
Vacterl Syndrome AKA Vacterl Association
Ventricular Septal Defect (2)

Diseases Of The Digestive System (17)
Deformed Baby Teeth/ Gemini Tooth
Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD) (5)
Irritable Bowel Syndrome (3)
Hypodontia (Missing Teeth) (2)
Reflux (5)
Weak Baby Teeth

Endocrine, Nutritional, And Metabolic Diseases
And Immunity Diseases (15)
Autoimmune Problems
Gluten Allergy
Low Vitamin D Levels
Obesity (6)
Overall Weak Immune System (3)
Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS)
Type One Diabetes (2)

Diseases Of The Genitourinary System (5)
UTI'S AKA Bladder Infections (5)

Infections And Parasitic Diseases (12)
Warts (12)

Injury And Poisoning (34)
Allergies (20)
Severe Seasonal Allergies (14)

Mental Disorders (99)
Anxiety Disorder (12)
Attention Deficit Disorder (9)
Aspergers- Autism Spectrum Disorder (11)

Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (8)
Bedwetting AKA Enueresis (9)
Borderline Personality Disorder
Depression (9)
Developmental Delay (5)
Dyslexia (2)
Aphasia (Fine/Gross Motor)
Insomnia (3)
Learning Disabilities, Non Specific (8)
Night Terrors (7)
Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (5)
Social Anxiety Disorder
Speech Disorder, Articulation (7)
Tourette's Syndrome

Diseases Of The Muskuloskeletal System And
Connective Tissue (7)
Fibromyalgia
Hyperflexablility In The J oints (6)

Neoplasms (2)
Hodgkins Lymphoma
Retinoblastoma









32

Diseases Of The Nervous Systems And Sense
Organs (30)
Amblyopia
Apraxia Of Speech
Auditory Processing Disorder (2)
Chronic/Frequent Ear Infections (6)
Hydrocephalus
Lazy Eye (2)
Migraines (6)
Ruptured Ear Drums (2)
Seizures
Sensory Processing Disorder/ Dysfunction of Sensory
Integration (6)
Sleep Apnea (2)

Diseases Of The Respiratory System (36)
Asthma (22)
Chronic Bronchitis (3)
Enlarged Adenoids (2)
Sinusitis (9)

Diseases Of The Skin And Subcutaneous Tissue (6)
Cellulitis
Eczema (4)
Photosensitivity

Signs, Symptoms, And Ill-Defined Conditions (57)
Abdominal Migraines (2)
Abnormal Scar Tissue Growth
Enlarged Tonsils (5)
Failure To Thrive (5)
Heart Murmur (3)
Nose bleeds (5)
Past Urinary Problems
Peeling Finger/Toe Nails
Poor Hand/Eye Coordination (4)
Potty Training Problems (9)
Severe Colic (3)
Snoring (9)
Weak Enamel In/On Teeth (7)
Weird Skin Rashes (Doc Can't Figure Out What It Is) (3)
















This is total Parental (SELF) report and we have no idea how many grandchildren are
represented in this section.
We do not claim to be scientists we are only passing on what we have observed. The
Grandchildren of Vietnam Veterans need further study.
5
12
7
2
30
36
6
57
Parent reported total number of illnesses in
Grandchildren of VN Vets.
This is total Parental (SELF) report and we have no idea how many grandchildren are
scientists we are only passing on what we have observed. The
Grandchildren of Vietnam Veterans need further study.


34
99
Parent reported total number of illnesses in
Grandchildren of VN Vets.
Diseases Of The Genitourinary
System (5)
Infections And Parasitic Diseases
(12)
Injury And Poisoning (34)
Mental Disorders (99)
Diseases Of The Muskuloskeletal
System And Connective Tissue (7)
Neoplasms
Diseases Of The Nervous Systems
And Sense Organs (30)
Diseases Of The Respiratory
System (36)
Diseases Of The Skin And
Subcutaneous Tissue (6)
Signs, Symptoms, And Ill
Conditions(57)
33

Diseases Of The Genitourinary
Infections And Parasitic Diseases
Injury And Poisoning (34)
Diseases Of The Muskuloskeletal
System And Connective Tissue (7)
Diseases Of The Nervous Systems
Diseases Of The Respiratory
Diseases Of The Skin And
Signs, Symptoms, And Ill-Defined

34


Bibliography
Albanese, Richard A., United States Air Force Personnel and Exposure to Herbicide Orange, Interim
Report for Period March 1984 February 1988, United States Air Force: Brooks Air Force Base, TX, Feb.,
1988.
Erickson JD, Mulinarei J, McClain PW, et al. Vietnam veterans' risks for fathering babies with birth
defects. JAMA1984;252:903-12.
Field B, Kerr C (1988) Reproductive behavior and consistent patterns of abonormality in offspring of
Vietnam Veterans J Med Genet, Vol 25,12.
Skinner, Michael K. (2012), Dioxin (TCDD) Induces epigenetic transgenerational inheritance of onset
disease and sperm epimutations. Plos.one, Vol 7,9


Thank you for your time and consideration
Presentation prepared by,
Heather A Bowser, COVVHA, National Coordinator
Karen Wengert,, Vice President COVVHA
Tanya Mack, Core Chairperson COVVHA
Kelly Derricks, President COVVHA

Presentation given by:
Tanya Mack: COVVHA Core Chairperson
Jenna Van Leer: COVVHA Core Group Member


(COVVHA) Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance, INC
980 Wheeler Way
P.O. Box 1204
Langhorne, PA 19047
Phone: 1-570-468-4035
COVVHA@Gmail.com
Www. COVVHA.net