Trova il tuo prossimo libro preferito

Abbonati oggi e leggi gratis per 30 giorni
The Brave Never Write Poetry

The Brave Never Write Poetry

Leggi anteprima

The Brave Never Write Poetry

Lunghezza:
104 pagine
52 minuti
Pubblicato:
Sep 22, 2011
ISBN:
9781770562875
Formato:
Libro

Descrizione

First published in 1985, when Daniel Jones was just 26, The Brave Never Write Poetry, the poet/critic/novelist's lone collection of poems, was a cult hit, turning 'poetry' on its head before its author (then known simply as 'Jones') swore off verse entirely. Written in a direct, plainspoken, autobiographical and at times confessional style in the tradition of Charles Bukowski and Al Purdy, these confrontational poems about sex and boredom, drugs and suicide, document Jones' depressive, alcoholic years as an enfant terrible.

This long-overdue revised edition brings Jones' unforgettable voice to a new generation of readers and includes the complete text of the original collection (including Jones' own sardonic assessments of his own poetry), a new preface by poet/critic Kevin Connolly, and postscript commentary from many of Jones' closest friends and literary colleagues.

Pubblicato:
Sep 22, 2011
ISBN:
9781770562875
Formato:
Libro

Informazioni sull'autore

Daniel Jones has edited the Modern Love column in the Sunday Styles section of the New York Times since its inception in October 2004. His books include two essay anthologies, Modern Love and The Bastard on the Couch, and a novel, After Lucy, which was a finalist for the Barnes & Noble Discover Award. His writing has appeared in the New York Times, Elle, Parade, Real Simple, Redbook, and elsewhere. He lives in Northampton, Massachusetts, with his wife, writer Cathi Hanauer, and their two children.

Correlato a The Brave Never Write Poetry

Libri correlati
Articoli correlati

Categorie correlate

Anteprima del libro

The Brave Never Write Poetry - Daniel Jones

Hai raggiunto la fine di questa anteprima. Registrati per continuare a leggere!
Pagina 1 di 1

Recensioni

Cosa pensano gli utenti di The Brave Never Write Poetry

0
0 valutazioni / 0 Recensioni
Cosa ne pensi?
Valutazione: 0 su 5 stelle

Recensioni dei lettori