Trova il tuo prossimo audiolibro preferito

Abbonati oggi e ascolta gratis per 30 giorni
All That Remains: A Renowned Forensic Scientist On Death, Mortality, And Solving Crimes

All That Remains: A Renowned Forensic Scientist On Death, Mortality, And Solving Crimes

Scritto da Sue Black

Narrato da Angela Dawe


All That Remains: A Renowned Forensic Scientist On Death, Mortality, And Solving Crimes

Scritto da Sue Black

Narrato da Angela Dawe

valutazioni:
4.5/5 (122 valutazioni)
Lunghezza:
10 ore
Pubblicato:
Mar 5, 2019
ISBN:
9781721385379
Formato:
Audiolibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro

Descrizione

Book of the Year, 2018 Saltire Literary Awards. For fans of Caitlin Doughty, Mary Roach, and CSI shows, a renowned forensic scientist on death and mortality. Dame Sue Black is an internationally renowned forensic anthropologist and human anatomist. She has lived her life eye to eye with the Grim Reaper, and she writes vividly about it in this book, which is part primer on the basics of identifying human remains, part frank memoir of a woman whose first paying job as a schoolgirl was to apprentice in a butcher shop, and part no-nonsense but deeply humane introduction to the reality of death in our lives. It is a treat for CSI junkies, murder mystery and thriller readers, and anyone seeking a clear-eyed guide to a subject that touches us all. Cutting through hype, romanticism, and cliché, she recounts her first dissection; her own first acquaintance with a loved one's death; the mortal remains in her lab and at burial sites as well as scenes of violence, murder, and criminal dismemberment; and about investigating mass fatalities due to war, accident, or natural disaster, such as the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami. She uses key cases to reveal how forensic science has developed and what her work has taught her about human nature. Acclaimed by bestselling crime writers and fellow scientists alike, All That Remains is neither sad nor macabre. While Professor Black tells of tragedy, she also infuses her stories with a wicked sense of humor and much common sense.

Pubblicato:
Mar 5, 2019
ISBN:
9781721385379
Formato:
Audiolibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro


Informazioni sull'autore

Sue Black holds a Ph.D. Human Anatomy. She has done research into methods of identification from human skeleton. Her research interests include all aspects of skeletal identification, particularly in relation to forensic investigations.

Correlato a All That Remains

Audiolibri correlati

Recensioni

Cosa pensano gli utenti di All That Remains

4.4
122 valutazioni / 13 Recensioni
Cosa ne pensi?
Valutazione: 0 su 5 stelle

Recensioni dei lettori

  • (2/5)
    I was really looking forward to listening to this book, but the voice just doesn't match with what the book is about. Everything feels very rushed.
  • (5/5)
    It was a subject that we avoid talking about. It was good to learn so much in private from an expert to get through the gore and understand the value. To really think about my own concept of death. To realize the cruelty that men can inflect on others and how we tend to ignore it. If it happens to someone else. Especially if they speak a different language, or they are a different color or religion.
  • (5/5)
    Fascinating. I would recommend everyone read this book. It started off a little slow for me, but by the end I was riveted by her compassionate and intelligent discussion of death and anatomy. My only complaint is that, as a public health professional myself, I wish she would not have disparaged preventive medicine at the end. I completely understand her point of view but I hope her words will not discourage anyone from getting screened for cancer without understanding the full benefits of such screening. Still would recommend.
  • (5/5)
    Fantastic! While the narrator did a good job, it's a pity it was an American accent narrating a Scottish woman's story.
  • (4/5)
    Fascinating autobiography from a UK forensic anthropologist for whom death has become part of life. The introduction is a little dry, but Sue Black's recounting of her personal and professional dealings with the dead, from her grandfather's funeral to working on a Disaster Victim Identification team in Kosovo, ironically bring her narrative to life. I found her stories both insightful and emotive, but she also has a wonderfully dry sense of humour, which I think must be a prerequisite for all those working in such a morbid profession. I do wish there were more illustrations, however - I had to Google some interesting cases she mentions, such as the 'Brienzi' body and the bones of a Roman woman who died giving birth to triplets.
  • (3/5)
    Instead of making me at ease with death (as people seem to react to this book), it only made me more aware of the various terrible ways I could die. I am now more terrified than before, thanks.

    The main problem with the audiobook is the reader - an American woman reads it in a very American way and so changes the whole feeling of the book from a supposedly matter-of-fact view of Sue Black’s work (even though the author doesn’t seem to be as pragmatic in this aspect as she claims, emphasised by the fact that she refers to death as “her” instead of “it”) to a weirdly hopeful tone of self-help books. Somehow I got used to it and finished the book, but all the time I felt as if something was not really right.
  • (2/5)
    Why have an American reading a book by a British author? I found the voice quite off-putting. The introduction also had some rather silly ideas about death, so although I'm sure there were some interesting bits, it was not for me.
  • (5/5)
    Very interesting and truly worth it. I have another perspective about death and all that it involves.
  • (5/5)
    Amazing book!!! I enjoyed every page of it, written very respectfully. Also, great science !
  • (5/5)
    This book strikes a nice balance between the often tragic and cruel ways that humans meet their maker and yet throughout the book you have Professor Sue Black guiding you through it, providing insight, humanity and showing great respect and reverence for the dead people she encounters. Professor Black uses her own family history with death to add balance to the professional aspects of her life to great effect with a down to earth no nonsense approach that makes this book all the more remarkable.
  • (5/5)
    Continually interesting book, as forensic anthropologist Sue Black looks at death in all its forms. She recalls how she got started...from a Saturday job in a butcher's shop and on to her first experience in the dissection lab. She recalls criminal cases she's worked on, her involvement in identifying bodies in Kosovo and tsunami-ravaged Thailand; she talks about different ways of disposing of the dead, looks at the latest developments in embalming, and considers her own thoughts on death as she moves towards old age. This could have been a dull scientific tome, but it's so alive with the author's own personality. Fascinating throughout.
  • (5/5)
    A brilliant book, such an amazing insight into death
  • (5/5)

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile

    A stunning book. It incorporates the mechanics of forensic science - sometimes gruesome but always respectful and interesting - and a discourse on death and life. It brings some of the worst horrors of humanity up against the professionalism and compassion of those who deal with them. Highly recommended for anyone worn down by the cynicism of today's uncaring and sensationalist news reporting, and for those who have a fear of death.

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile