Trova il tuo prossimo audiolibro preferito

Abbonati oggi e ascolta gratis per 30 giorni
Other Words for Home

Other Words for Home

Scritto da Jasmine Warga

Narrato da Vaneh Assadourian


Other Words for Home

Scritto da Jasmine Warga

Narrato da Vaneh Assadourian

valutazioni:
4.5/5 (290 valutazioni)
Lunghezza:
3 ore
Editore:
Pubblicato:
May 28, 2019
ISBN:
9780062938695
Formato:
Audiolibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro

Descrizione

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle-grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the US, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives.

At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven’t quite prepared her for starting school in the US — and her new label of “Middle Eastern”, an identity she’s never known before.

But this life also brings unexpected surprises — there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is.

This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

Editore:
Pubblicato:
May 28, 2019
ISBN:
9780062938695
Formato:
Audiolibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro


Informazioni sull'autore

Jasmine Warga's debut middle grade book, Other Words for Home, is a Newbery Honor Book. She is the author of the novels for teens My Heart and Other Black Holes, which has been translated into over twenty languages, and Here We Are Now. She lives and writes in Cincinnati, Ohio. You can visit Jasmine online at www.jasminewarga.com.

Correlato a Other Words for Home

Audiolibri correlati

Recensioni

Cosa pensano gli utenti di Other Words for Home

4.6
290 valutazioni / 21 Recensioni
Cosa ne pensi?
Valutazione: 0 su 5 stelle

Recensioni dei lettori

  • (5/5)
    Uplifting middle grade fiction (categorized as YA in my library) about a Syrian refugee experience told through a pre-teen girl's, Jude, voice as she and her mom relocate to Cincinnati to live with her uncle's family, leaving friends and her father and older brother behind.
  • (4/5)
    I loved this than "Here We Are Now". Such a powerful story.
  • (5/5)
    Such a personalized view of a Syrian family’s difficult choices and lives separated by war; strongly touched my heart.
  • (5/5)
    this book was amazing and I think it should be read by everyone!
  • (5/5)
    This book was simply amazing. A must read for everyone. It kept my attention the entire time. The writing is superb!
  • (5/5)
    Wow. I truly loved this story and was blown away by it. The authors note at the end made me cry and solidified this as a 5 star read for me. Juda is a character I won’t forget in a hurry.
  • (5/5)
    Absolutely glorious! The narrator gave a fantastic performance as well as the beautiful language the author used <3
  • (5/5)
    Such a gem ?

    Based on the war in Syria, prejudice against Muslims and brown people.

    A brown girl proud of her culture.

    Big dreams
    Big hearts
    Big visions
    Great love and great giving.

    5⭐️ for this brown star.
  • (5/5)
    Wow. Doesn't matter this book is short or middle-grade, this book is powerful and so beautifully told. The author's note at the end especially put it into perspective and resonated with me, especially as diaspora who has struggled growing up in a western country. I absolutely loved this book and its message.
  • (5/5)
    A beautiful middle grade read that filled my heart to the brim!
  • (5/5)
    A very enjoyable, fast and heartfelt little book, suitable for adults as well as little ones.
  • (5/5)
    This is a very touching book that shows the raw feelings of modern immigration. A girl and her mother separate from the rest of her family in Syria, her father and brother, to find new life in America. This book shines light on the things that are often not though about when a child is moved from one place to another. I rate this book 5 stars for the realness, and truth that it can show students.
  • (5/5)
    This is an excellent book--so happy it received an award. This story about a young emigrant girl adjusting to life in America shares much about family love, new friends and trying to find a place in her new world of America.
  • (4/5)
    Beautiful and heart-felt MG novel about a Syrian immigrant.
  • (3/5)
    As violence ratchets up in Syria between rebels and the government, Jude and her mother leave Syria to live with Uncle Mazin and his family in America. It's a classic refugee story, of coping with a strange land and culture and learning a new language but with aspects little seen in the genre: that Jude is Syrian and Muslim. Not only is she learning about a new culture but she faces harrassment and suspicion because of her background and religion.
  • (5/5)
    An absolutely stunning, honest and beautifully told story. Everybody needs to reads this.
  • (4/5)
    Wow this was really good. I loved the message of the book so much
  • (5/5)
    Wow, this was such a precious MG that deals with relevant topics a story of self-discovery in a place that sadly visualizes everyone the same way. This is an important read for any Syrian refugee, really anyone in particular to learn about other peoples struggles and that in the end we are all the same looking for a safe place to live!
  • (5/5)
    The need for lots of generosity among humans... That's all
  • (4/5)
    Jude and her mother flee war-torn Syria, leaving behind her father and brother, and settle into life in America with her uncle’s family. As Jude adjusts to her new life, she finds many people who welcome her but some who prefer to hold on to misconceptions about Muslim’s, especially those like Jude who wear a hijab.Author Jasmine Warga does a great job at balancing the innocence of a girl coming of age, while dealing with the realities of both the Syrian conflict and of what it means to be Muslim in America. She gives voice to Syrian refugee children, showing them proudly celebrating their culture while at the same time shedding light on all the hardships they have endured. The book includes links for students to find out more about the Syrian conflict, child refugees, and organizations like the White Helmets who are helping with recovery efforts. Other Words for Home is a great story to build empathy and understanding of newcomers, and hopefully reduce hate and fear.
  • (4/5)
    A 2020 Lone Star novel, Other Words for Home, a verse novel, demonstrate the struggles people face in other countries and the life one can have in the United States.Jude enjoys her life in Syria. She has a best friend, her older brother, and loving parents. Polically, life gets more dangerous, and Jude and her pregnant mother would be safer if they moved to the United States to live with Jude's uncle. The novel focuses on American life. At one point, Jude shrugs as a response to an adult, noting this American form of answering a question. So true! Most adults hate it, but I didn't really associate it as "American." This response is definitely not the better side of American life. Jude adapts to American life. She wonders if her uncle misses Syria. Jude wants to spend time with her cousin, but Sarah is all American and offers little time to Jude. Her uncle's wife strives to make Jude and her mother feel welcome and truly enjoys having them in their home. She has Jude help her find recipes. The American life at school and home differ from Syrian life, so they have to adjust. In addition, Jude and her mother worry about Jude's brother, Issa, who has joined the fighting in Syria. They worry about his safety constantly. Jude's father also stays to take care of their business, so they are without close family, but they do have a good relationship with Jude's uncle. Discrimination presents its ugly head a few times as they are obviously not citizens of the United States. People make assumptions and say what shouldn't be said.The novel presents a point of view that students--all people--need to see. People are people and unsafe conditions make people seek a safe place. It's a quick read, as it is a verse novel. Enjoy!