Trova il tuo prossimo audiolibro preferito

Abbonati oggi e ascolta gratis per 30 giorni
This Time Will Be Different

This Time Will Be Different

Scritto da Misa Sugiura

Narrato da Joy Osmanski


This Time Will Be Different

Scritto da Misa Sugiura

Narrato da Joy Osmanski

valutazioni:
4/5 (87 valutazioni)
Lunghezza:
9 ore
Editore:
Pubblicato:
Jun 4, 2019
ISBN:
9780062914286
Formato:
Audiolibro

Descrizione

For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon, critically acclaimed author Misa Sugiura delivers a richly crafted contemporary YA novel about family, community, and the importance of writing your own history.

The author of the Asian Pacific American Award-winning It's Not Like It's a Secret is back with another smartly drawn coming-of-age novel that weaves riveting family drama, surprising humor, and delightful romance into a story that will draw you in from the very first page.

Katsuyamas never quit—but seventeen-year-old CJ doesn't even know where to start. She's never lived up to her mom's type A ambition, and she's perfectly happy just helping her aunt, Hannah, at their family's flower shop.

She doesn't buy into Hannah's romantic ideas about flowers and their hidden meanings, but when it comes to arranging the perfect bouquet, CJ discovers a knack she never knew she had. A skill she might even be proud of.

Then her mom decides to sell the shop—to the family who swindled CJ's grandparents when thousands of Japanese Americans were sent to internment camps during WWII. Soon a rift threatens to splinter CJ's family, friends, and their entire Northern California community; and for the first time, CJ has found something she wants to fight for.

Editore:
Pubblicato:
Jun 4, 2019
ISBN:
9780062914286
Formato:
Audiolibro


Informazioni sull'autore

Misa Sugiura’s ancestors include a poet, a priestess, a samurai, and a stowaway. Her first novel, It’s Not Like It’s a Secret, was the winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for YA Literature. Her second novel, This Time Will Be Different, was the HarperCollins Children's Books Lead Read. Misa lives under a giant oak tree in Silicon Valley with her husband, two sons, and three cats. Visit her online at www.misasugiura.com.

Correlato a This Time Will Be Different

Audiolibri correlati
Articoli correlati

Recensioni

Cosa pensano gli utenti di This Time Will Be Different

3.9
87 valutazioni / 5 Recensioni
Cosa ne pensi?
Valutazione: 0 su 5 stelle

Recensioni dei lettori

  • (3/5)
    Like most teenagers, CJ doesn't know what her goals or ambitions are. The most at home she's ever felt is in the family flower shop where she works with her aunt. When she's using her flower magic to create bouquets, boutonnieres, lockets, and charms she feels like she's spreading a little bit of happiness. When her mother announces that she's planning on selling the shop to the "enemy," the McAllisters, she feels as if the only thing she's ever cared about is going out the window. The McAllisters bought the business from her family for pennies on the dollar when the government forced Japanese Americans to go to internment camps during WWII. It took decades before the Katsuyamas were able to buy it back.... for MUCH more than the McAllisters had bought it for. CJ vows to help save the shop along with her friends, but that too proves to be challenging. Her best friend is falling for a horrible hypocritical lesbian, her co-worker Owen may be forming a crush on her, and her classmates don't all understand why the McAllisters are the "bad guys." CJ has to find out what she truly cares for and fight for it. A good young adult book that covers a lot of hot topics.
  • (5/5)
    The hype around this book has been unquestionable and, admittedly, that made me eager to get my hands on it. I suggest you join NovelStar’s writing competition happening right now until the end of May. You can also publish your stories there. just email our editors hardy@novelstar.top, joye@novelstar.top, or lena@novelstar.top.
  • (5/5)
    Relatable characters, good job at balancing how history affects social issues as well as relatable teenage issues. Great example of how you can learn a lot from a YA
  • (4/5)
    I've always read books about Japanese internment in the form of historical fiction that discuss the immediate consequences of it. It was interesting to read and think about the continued and present consequences of such acts. The historical conflict was bolstered by several other story lines including some interesting coming of age teen drama/romance. The flashbacks about the protagonist getting pregnant and getting an abortion seemed forced and unneeded in an otherwise compelling narrative.
  • (2/5)
    Needed a more sympathetic main character.