Trova il tuo prossimo audiolibro preferito

Abbonati oggi e ascolta gratis per 30 giorni
Out of Place

Out of Place


Out of Place

Lunghezza:
4 ore
Editore:
Pubblicato:
Jun 4, 2019
ISBN:
9780062911278
Formato:
Audiolibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro

Descrizione

When twelve-year-old Cove Bernstein becomes the target of a school-wide bullying campaign, she sets out to find a way to leave her home on Martha’s Vineyard for New York City, where her best friend lives. But Cove discovers that friends can appear in the unlikeliest places, and maybe home isn’t the worst place to be after all.

Jennifer Blecher’s debut novel is a voice-driven story about bullying, friendship, and self-reliance that hits the sweet spot for fans of Ali Benjamin’s The Thing About Jellyfish and Erin Entrada Kelly’s You Go First.

Twelve-year-old Cove Bernstein’s year has gone from bad to worse. First, her best friend, Nina, moved from Martha’s Vineyard to New York City. Then, without Nina around, Cove became the target of a bullying campaign at school. Escape seems impossible.

But opportunities can appear when you least expect them. Cove’s visit to a secondhand clothing store leads her to a surprising chance to visit Nina, but only if she can win a coveted place in a kids-only design competition. Cove doesn’t know how to sew, but her friend at the retirement home, Anna, has promised to teach her. And things start really looking up when a new kid at school, Jack, begins appearing everywhere Cove goes.

Then Cove makes a big mistake. One that could ruin every good thing that has happened to her this year. One that she doesn’t know how to undo.

Jennifer Blecher’s accessible and beautifully written debut novel explores actions and consequences, loneliness, bullying, and finding your voice. This voice-driven friendship story is for fans of Rebecca Stead’s Goodbye Stranger and Jodi Kendall’s The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City.

Editore:
Pubblicato:
Jun 4, 2019
ISBN:
9780062911278
Formato:
Audiolibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro


Informazioni sull'autore

Jennifer Blecher once worked as an assistant district attorney. Now she is a full-time writer and her work has appeared in both local and national magazines. She lives in Boston, Massachusetts, with her husband and their three children, but spends part of every summer on Martha’s Vineyard. www.jenniferblecher.com

Correlato a Out of Place

Audiolibri correlati

Recensioni

Cosa pensano gli utenti di Out of Place

0
0 valutazioni / 1 Recensioni
Cosa ne pensi?
Valutazione: 0 su 5 stelle

Recensioni dei lettori

  • (5/5)

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile

    Martha's Vineyard is a special place for me, so it's always a treat to read a book set on the island. This book does a great job of capturing some of the magic of different parts and the overall vibe of the Vineyard, but even more than that, this book really was amazing at capturing middle grade angst and some of the issues of growing up.Cove Bernstein lives with her mother, a free-spirited artist on Martha's Vineyard. She has had some problems fitting in at school, but as long as she has her best friend Nina, everything is fine. But when Nina has to move to NYC and her mother starts dating a new boyfriend, Cove's world starts to fall apart. Not only friendless, Cove becomes the target of a bullying campaign.This book was beautifully written, with a well-crafted description of life on Martha's Vineyard. And the description of the war zone, known as middle school was perfect. Definitely a high recommendation for middle schoolers.

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile