Trova il tuo prossimo audiolibro preferito

Abbonati oggi e ascolta gratis per 30 giorni
Sawkill Girls

Sawkill Girls

Scritto da Claire Legrand

Narrato da Lauren Ezzo


Sawkill Girls

Scritto da Claire Legrand

Narrato da Lauren Ezzo

valutazioni:
4/5 (298 valutazioni)
Lunghezza:
12 ore
Editore:
Pubblicato:
Oct 2, 2018
ISBN:
9780062855916
Formato:
Audiolibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro

Descrizione

From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things.

Who are the Sawkill Girls?

Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she's sure she'll never find.

Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she's broken—or maybe everyone else is.

Val: The queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives; a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies.

Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires. Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight…until now.

Editore:
Pubblicato:
Oct 2, 2018
ISBN:
9780062855916
Formato:
Audiolibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro


Informazioni sull'autore

Claire Legrand is the author of Foxheart, The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, The Year of Shadows, and Some Kind of Happiness, as well as the New York Times-bestselling young adult fantasy Furyborn and its sequels. She is one of the four authors behind The Cabinet of Curiosities. Claire Legrand lives in New Jersey.

Correlato a Sawkill Girls

Audiolibri correlati

Recensioni

Cosa pensano gli utenti di Sawkill Girls

3.9
298 valutazioni / 16 Recensioni
Cosa ne pensi?
Valutazione: 0 su 5 stelle

Recensioni dei lettori

  • (3/5)
    3.5 Very interesting read with great diverse characters. However, the main storyline was just not for me.
  • (3/5)
    Teenagers Marion and Charlotte move to Sawkill Island after their father's death, but it seems they entered the belly of the beast when they learn teen-aged girls have been going missing on the island, leaving no trace behind. Marion soon makes friends with fellow Sawkill transplant Zoey as well as with Val, whose wealthy family has lived on the island for generations and may know more than they let on about the mysterious disappearances. This book received some positive buzz so I was looking forward to it. My expectation was for a quick thriller involving some sort of serial kidnapper/murderer. It turns out there is actually something supernatural at work here; that in itself would be fine as I like those kinds of mysteries as well. However, I felt like the narrative was all out of whack here. For starters, the author pretty much tells you about the monster very early on, even before most of the characters know what's going on. So while some characters are just introducing the idea that there is a local urban legend that might be behind the disappearances, the reader already has met that monster. In some cases, such dramatic irony could increase the tension; instead it works here to just make the other characters' suppositions seem pointless. I did hope perhaps we might learn more about the mechanics of the supernatural events that occur, but while we learn a few more details, it wasn't really satisfactory in my opinion.In general, the book tended to have spurts of sentences that were action-packed and then long pages full of very little else. I would be fine with that if it were used for character development, but that didn't really seem to happen. The characters themselves feel rather flat; there just isn't enough given to explaining them as people before they are thrown into the action. However, I do give the author credit for some diverse representation, especially with a lesbian romance and an asexual character. Again though, these weren't fully explored as much as they could have been. On the whole, it was hard to feel particularly invested in the story when the characters weren't that compelling.That all being said, I do have to say the author's writing style in terms of sentence structure, metaphors, etc. was quite beautiful and evocative. I just wish I could have been more invested in the story itself, which in theory did sound interesting.Overall, I was pretty disappointed with this book. I don't really see the target audience of teenagers being all that into it either, but I could easily be wrong. For the audiobook listener, the reader here was just okay. She was fine with doing different character voices, but her narration voice was rather too placid for my taste.
  • (4/5)
    This horror story is told by three very different girls. It takes place on Sawkill Rockthe which is the home of the rich and pretentious. It is also an island where girls have been disappearing without a trace for more than 100 years.Marion is new on the island. She and her mother and her sister Charlotte have come to make a new start after the death of her father in a car accident. Her mother has gotten a job as the housekeeper for the Mortimer family - one of the richest and with the longest history on the island. Zoey has been on the island for a while. Her father is the chief of police. But Zoey, being black and not wealthy, is a definite outsider. Her best friends are Thora and Grayson but Thora is one of the missing girls.Val Mortimer looks like she has a charmed life. She is the daughter of the Mortimers. She's beautiful and the social leader. If she beckons, everyone comes - including Thora. Val takes a liking to Charlotte and she is the next to disappear. There are interludes from the point of view of the Rock itself who sees what's going on and needs to recruit helpers to end the terror - helpers like Marion, Zoey, and Val. Meanwhile, we also find out that Val and her ancestors have been the hosts for a demon from some other world that grows only through the deaths of girls who are brought to it by the Mortimers. Val is having second thoughts about her role as a demon procurer but doesn't know what she can do to stop it. This story is really creepy which would target it for older young adult readers. There are also sexual scenes and discussions which would also be better for older students. I thought the scenes were well-done and filled with emotion. I could feel the aching need for connection that both Marion and Val were feeling.
  • (5/5)
    Brilliant. Wow. I truly enjoyed this book. And the narration was incredible. Highly recommend.
  • (4/5)
    It was definitely not what I expected but in a good way. “Magic and the supernatural mixed with a crime thriller” kinda vibe.
  • (5/5)
    Amazing novel. Loved every moment of it and it's one that'll stick with me.
  • (3/5)
    This book starts out pretty awesome. Some treachery, some missing girls and a monster. However toward the end of the book there's a sharp shift in one of the characters that doesn't really make sense with how that character is portrayed in the beginning of the book. The antagonist is made to look like a victim at the end and is accepted by actual victims and that's just weird. Brownie points for diversity and character sexuality and race.
  • (3/5)
    This was really more of a 3.5 star book than just a flat 3. This is pitched as a horror YA coming of age read. For me it was horror lite and not what I was expecting at all. I try my hardest to keep an open mind and avoid spoilers and synopsis so as to prevent the former. That being said, the most I knew about this story, was that it was young adult horror. I can work with that, and so I had no preconceived ideas about the plot or characters' development when I started. Meet Marion Oldhouse, fresh from the recent loss of her father, moving to Sawkill Island with her sister, Charlotte and mother, Pamela. Strange things start happening from the moment poor Marion touched ground on the Island. Horses behaving oddly, weird moths everywhere and a haunting voice whispering in her ear. We follow this journey of coping with loss, being too co-dependent on others and finding love and betrayal in equal measures. As we discover the violent and tragic history of Sawkill, both past and present, new acquaintances are made and ugly truths behind the murders of multiple girls comes to light. This story took a left turn I was not expecting and at times was slow going but it was definitely more than Ok, just not great or fantastic. I loved the gender representation, relationships and interactions but found some of the dialogue annoying and lackluster. The ending was interesting but a little too neatly wrapped. I definitely recommend reading though as it will not be what you think it is - as long as you steered clear of reviews and spoilers.
  • (3/5)
    uGh im so glad thats over. it was so jumbled up and the spooks and repetition just werent enough to make it impactful or enjoyable for me
  • (4/5)
    Superb narration. The voice took the plot to a new whole world!!
  • (4/5)
    Beautful and eerie. Would highly recommend. Narration is perfect.
  • (5/5)
    The specific and honest rendering of emotions each character feels, I connected with the quiet one and the anti-heroine Val the most. A great listen. I recommend if you enjoy a touch of the supernatural wrapped up in high school girl mystery.
  • (4/5)

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile

    What made this book amazing was Val’s character arc and Marion’s consistent bravery and selfless. I ADORE THEM.
    What knocked off one star for me, was Zoey. I was absolutely irritated with her selfishness and how she had no regard for Marion’s loss but Zoey’s loss was like this end of the world thing. I hated her until the very end, then she was sort of okay. But still, hated her character.
    Greyson? A teddy bear. LOVE HIM.

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile

  • (5/5)

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile

    This was so good. The narrator did an amazing job

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile

  • (3/5)
    the story was good but some parts felt, some lines felt too stereotypical of most romantic movies. the over all plot though was interesting and new.
  • (3/5)
    Meh it was okay not the best book on the planet but entertaining