Trova il tuo prossimo audiolibro preferito

Abbonati oggi e ascolta gratis per 30 giorni
Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel

Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel

Scritto da AJ Pearce

Narrato da Anna Popplewell


Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel

Scritto da AJ Pearce

Narrato da Anna Popplewell

valutazioni:
4.5/5 (314 valutazioni)
Lunghezza:
9 ore
Pubblicato:
Jul 3, 2018
ISBN:
9781508255192
Formato:
Audiolibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro

Descrizione

An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist—a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

London, 1940. Emmeline Lake is Doing Her Bit for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle, her dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent suddenly seem achievable. But the job turns out to be working as a typist for the fierce and renowned advice columnist, Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed, but gamely bucks up and buckles down.

Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant notes from women who may have Gone Too Far with the wrong men, or who can't bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids, and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles.

Prepare to fall head over heels for Emmy and her best friend, Bunty, who are gutsy and spirited, even in the face of a terrible blow. The irrepressible Emmy keeps writing letters in this hilarious and enormously moving tale of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and ordinary people in extraordinary times.

Pubblicato:
Jul 3, 2018
ISBN:
9781508255192
Formato:
Audiolibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro


Informazioni sull'autore


Correlato a Dear Mrs. Bird

Audiolibri correlati
Articoli correlati

Recensioni

Cosa pensano gli utenti di Dear Mrs. Bird

4.3
314 valutazioni / 17 Recensioni
Cosa ne pensi?
Valutazione: 0 su 5 stelle

Recensioni dei lettori

  • (4/5)
    So sweet an duplifting despite the time period. So thought provoking. I loved it. Please give it a chance
  • (4/5)
    This is a fresh take on WWII historical fiction. The perfect blend of light-heartedness & intensity. So many of this genre are all intensity making us think that there was no levity during that dark time but without levity so many wouldn't have endured. The author did a fine job of toe-ing the line of making the main character likeable while she made some poor decisions. The rationale behind those decisions was believable and well explained to the reader. When it ended I wanted more of these characters so I was pleased to discover a second book being released this year!
  • (5/5)
    Very engaging tale of the strength of the women who lived in London during the War.
  • (3/5)
    Utterly predictable from page one, perhaps purposely so.
    Superficially researched. Stereotypes of characters.
  • (5/5)
    I love getting a glimpse into the lives of women during WWII and learning more about what life was for them during that time. I enjoyed Dear Mrs. Bird so much! It is a clean book with a great story to tell. It helps you understand the strength of not just the women, but the men from that time and the struggles they dealt with. I love seeing their strength as they got through one of the hardest times in history. Highly recommend!!
  • (5/5)
    This book was absolutely charming. It is a story of friendship and courage with a lesson in forgiveness. I could not wait to listen!!
  • (4/5)
    I found it a bit wordy at first, but also engaging. I was drawn in and very pleased to read it to the end
  • (5/5)
    A charming, funny and uplifting account of lives of women in WWII Britain, attesting to the power of resilience and friendship in the face of tragedy. I loved it.
  • (5/5)
    It took me a minute to really get into it. Once I did, I listened to the audio as much as I could and completed it in a few days. I traveled to England during this period through the great writing in this book.
  • (5/5)
    Wonderful story about living in London during the bombing and how bravely people got on with their lives loving, working and the beautiful strength of friendships. Would love to listen to another of her books. The authors personal words brought back memories of the support women’s magazines provided during that era
  • (5/5)
    The historical setting is what grabbed my interest. My Gran’ was a WWI British “war bride,” who returned to London to volunteer during the Blitz. I had heard her stories and read her journal years ago.

    This audiobook put me smack in it. Struck by the courage and integrity of many of the characters, the marvelous story line, and the narrator’s wonderful voices, I found this to be a keeper.
  • (5/5)
    Beautiful writing! Felt like I was transported back in time!
  • (5/5)
    A sweet and easy read with a good storyline that was easy to follow.
  • (5/5)

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile

    I loved this book. It has plenty of idiomatic British dialogue and charming characters. The narrator does a wonderful job!

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile

  • (4/5)

    2 persone l'hanno trovata utile

    A delightful WWII novel looking at a different aspect of women during the war. Funny and touching. Perfect narration.

    2 persone l'hanno trovata utile

  • (4/5)

    3 persone l'hanno trovata utile

    Slow at first but story picked up later that I wanted to hurry and finish the book

    3 persone l'hanno trovata utile

  • (4/5)

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. It’s light but not vapid and nicely written. Give it a go!

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile