Trova il tuo prossimo audiolibro preferito

Abbonati oggi e ascolta gratis per 30 giorni
Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, The: Book VI: The Long-Lost Home

Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, The: Book VI: The Long-Lost Home

Scritto da Maryrose Wood

Narrato da Fiona Hardingham


Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, The: Book VI: The Long-Lost Home

Scritto da Maryrose Wood

Narrato da Fiona Hardingham

valutazioni:
4.5/5 (37 valutazioni)
Lunghezza:
10 ore
Editore:
Pubblicato:
Jun 19, 2018
ISBN:
9780062683526
Formato:
Audiolibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro

Descrizione

For fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society, here comes the final book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood.

Unhappy Penelope Lumley is trapped in unhappy Plinkst! Even the beets for which Plinkst is inexplicably famous fail to grow in this utterly miserable Russian village. Penelope anxiously counts the days and wonders how she will ever get back to England in time to save all the Ashtons—who, she now knows, include herself and the Incorrigible children, although their precise location on the family tree is still a mystery—from their accursèd fate.

Her daring scheme to escape sends her on a wildly unexpected journey. But time is running out, and the not-really-dead Edward Ashton is still on the loose. His mad obsession with the wolfish curse on the Ashtons puts Penelope and the Incorrigibles in dire peril. As Penelope fights her way back to her beloved pupils, the three brave Incorrigibles endure their gloomy new tutor and worriedly prepare for the arrival of Lady Constance's baby. Little do they know the danger they're in!

In this action-packed conclusion to the acclaimed series, mysteries are solved and long-lost answers are found. Only one question remains: Will Penelope and the Incorrigibles find a way to undo the family curse in time, or will the next full moon be their last?

Editore:
Pubblicato:
Jun 19, 2018
ISBN:
9780062683526
Formato:
Audiolibro

Disponibile anche come...

Disponibile anche come libroLibro


Informazioni sull'autore

Maryrose Wood is the author of the first five books (so far!) in this series about the Incorrigible children and their governess. These books may be considered works of fiction, which is to say, the true bits and the untrue bits are so thoroughly mixed together that no one should be able to tell the difference. This process of fabrication is fully permitted under the terms of the author's Poetic License, which is one of her most prized possessions. Maryrose's other qualifications for writing these tales include a scandalous stint as a professional thespian, many years as a private governess to two curious and occasionally rambunctious pupils, and whatever literary insights she may have gleaned from living in close proximity to a clever but disobedient dog.

Correlato a Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, The

Audiolibri correlati

Recensioni

Cosa pensano gli utenti di Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, The

4.7
37 valutazioni / 4 Recensioni
Cosa ne pensi?
Valutazione: 0 su 5 stelle

Recensioni dei lettori

  • (5/5)
    Very exciting and touching. Unexpected way to travel too. I recommend this book for all warm-hearted people with a soft spot for animals and kids.
  • (5/5)
    seriously though I don't have the time to listen and I will have to be able to hear it again
  • (4/5)
    Plucky governess Penelope Lumley is exiled to Russia, while the Incorrigible children are back at Ashton Place, at the mercy of the enigmatic Edward Ashton. Moreover, the curse on the Ashton family seems to be coming to a head. Will all of the disparate elements come together in time?This book does a good job of tying up all of the loose ends of the series. If you’ve enjoyed it up to this point, you should find this a satisfying read. It’s been a while since I read the last book, so some of the details were a little hazy — I recommend having the other books fresh in your memory, if possible.
  • (3/5)
    A fine ending to an enjoyable series. A back cover blurb sums it up perfectly: "Jane Eyre meets Lemony Snicket in this smart, surprising satire." Our Jane Eyre stand-in, governess Penelope Lumley, finds herself exiled to Russia and spends most of the book on a quest to return to Ashton Place to protect her young wards, the mostly-reformed-but-still-a-touch-feral Incorrigible children.What I didn't love was our young heroine reveling in felony-level fraud as part of her escape from Russia. That does not seem like something a Swanburne girl would do.That misstep aside, I love the constant humorous digressions to define words and idioms or discuss poems, plays and novels.