Trova il tuo prossimo audiolibro preferito

Abbonati oggi e ascolta gratis per 30 giorni
American Street

American Street

Scritto da Ibi Zoboi

Narrato da Robin Miles


American Street

Scritto da Ibi Zoboi

Narrato da Robin Miles

valutazioni:
4/5 (117 valutazioni)
Lunghezza:
8 ore
Editore:
Pubblicato:
Feb 14, 2017
ISBN:
9780062661241
Formato:
Audiolibro

Descrizione

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie-a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

Editore:
Pubblicato:
Feb 14, 2017
ISBN:
9780062661241
Formato:
Audiolibro


Informazioni sull'autore

Ibi Zoboi holds an MFA from Vermont College of Fine Arts. Her novel American Street was a National Book Award finalist and a New York Times Notable Book. She is also the author of Pride and My Life as an Ice Cream Sandwich, a New York Times bestseller. She is the editor of the anthology Black Enough. Born in Haiti and raised in New York City, she now lives in New Jersey with her husband and their three children. You can find her online at www.ibizoboi.net.

Correlato a American Street

Audiolibri correlati
Articoli correlati

Recensioni

Cosa pensano gli utenti di American Street

4.1
117 valutazioni / 14 Recensioni
Cosa ne pensi?
Valutazione: 0 su 5 stelle

Recensioni dei lettori

  • (3/5)
    This will get higher ratings from other readers. I found the language, sex, and violence too much for me, but I'm sure there are high school students than can relate and will enjoy the novel. I truly enjoyed Fabiola's immigration from Haiti to America, but found the gang violence not as interesting.
  • (3/5)
    Full of Haitian cultural references, words, Vodou beliefs, and Detroit's gritty "west side" slang, scenes, neighborhood problems. While the main character Fabiola Toussaint is a sincere, sweet teen who struggles to adapt to her new cousins & aunt's life and the American school/culture she's thrust into.... it's so full of profanity and adult-level problems, violent deaths, etc.. definitely a story for older teens. While the reader has hopes at the beginning of the novel that Fabiola's mother will be released from detention in New Jersey and rejoin her daughter, the entire novel progresses with very few details of her mom's exact situation (perhaps the author's pt, since story told from Fabiola's pt of view?) and ambiguous responses at best from her ailing aunt (her mother's sister) - confusing. Drug dealing, violent deaths (including teen), crime situations, and did I mention again - the non-stop profanity from Fabiola's cousins, and some of the other teens at her school? - and the intercalary chapters in various characters voices- demanding but compelling read about immigrant girl's bewildering but eventually, life affirming development. Cavalcade of Authors 2020 selection.
  • (5/5)
    A captivating and haunting story. Family is everything in this story and even when justice is served, injustice is served as well.
  • (5/5)
    a moving and beautiful story incredibly well written and perfectly narrated. Zoboi has the most amazing way with words and there are phrases in this book I will remember forever. the narrator is perfect.
    it is all just amazing
  • (4/5)
    A Haitian family trying to be together. This book was so, so, so realistic. I can totally imagine everything happening in real life. I hated the ending, but sadly, it happens.
  • (3/5)
    I loved the juxtaposition of traditional Haitian Vodou with contemporary gang/street culture of Detroit. I thought the characters could have been more developed and the flatness of the characters sort of makes the story feel incomplete.
  • (5/5)
    A beautifully narrated story that is magical and haunting. I couldn't stop thinking about this book and highly recommend it.
  • (5/5)
    It was good. The ending was sad. Be ready for that. It was good though, I liked it.
  • (5/5)
    This book was an awesome story! I loved the integral part of Haitian culture that the author includes.
  • (5/5)

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile

    Excellent audio book. Looking forward to future work from this author.

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile

  • (5/5)

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile

    Fabiola, a Haitian born in the USA, emigrates to America with her mother. A snafu at the border detains her mother so Fabiola greets her cousins in Detroit alone. She is thrust into the energy and poverty of an inner-city high school. The casual violence and verbal abuse is balanced by strong family ties and deep love. Still, Fabiola misses her mother. To try to speed her release, Fabiola agrees to narc on a local drug dealer suspected of giving deadly drugs to rich Grosse Pointe kids. Her spiritual guide is Papa Legba ("Bad Leg") a homeless man whose street corner song hints at the turmoil to come. The school scenes are frighteningly dramatic (fights, threats, little real teaching). Her three cousins lead tough lives: hiding in books, bad boyfriends, and unrequited love, respectively. This reader was saddened to see Fabiola American-ized in this cold world. The plot is gripping if, at times, histrionic. This tale will resonate with inner city youth and immigrants. Compelling and important.

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile

  • (4/5)

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile

    I do like a good audiobook. american Street follows the journey of a young Haitian girl as she joins relatives in the US. It has elements of magical realism throughout the tale and I found it really enjoyable. I like fiction that is insightful and leaves you feeling that you gained something from the text. This is the way I felt with this novel. Well worth a listen.

    http://nucityblues.smackjeeves.com/archive/

    1 persona l'ha trovata utile

  • (3/5)
    Author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture. On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?
  • (1/5)
    Could I give it negative stars?