History Revealed


Maggie O'Farrell is the author of eight novels and a memoir. Her 2016 novel This Must Be The Place was shortlisted for a Costa Book Award and two of her previous novels have won this prize. Hamnet is her first novel set pre-20th century.

What inspired

Stai leggendo un'anteprima, registrati per continuare a leggere.

Interessi correlati

Altro da History Revealed

History Revealed1 min lettiCrime & Violence
The Darker Side Of The Suffragettes?
Contemporary newspaper reports often described some of the suffragettes’ more violent activities as terrorism – a term that some historians still use to describe their actions today. Although the stunts were not intended to endanger life, there were
History Revealed1 min letti
Did You Know?
The British politician Philip Noel-Baker is the only person to have been awarded both a Nobel prize (for peace in 1959) and an Olympic medal. At the 1920 games in Antwerp, he took home the silver in the 1,500 metres. According to a traditional courti
History Revealed1 min lettiGender Studies
Your Essential Guide To The Suffragettes
Little more than a century ago, women in Britain did not have the right to vote. Deprived of having their say at the ballot box, millions of wives, mothers, daughters and sisters were effectively rendered voiceless by a political establishment that d