BBC Sky at Night

THE PLANETS

PICK OF THE MONTH

Mars

Best time to see: 1 April, from 75 minutes before sunrise

Altitude: 5˚ (low)

Location: Capricornus

Direction: Southeast

Features: Phase, dark markings, polar caps and weather

Recommended equipment: 75mm or larger

Mars remains low as seen from the UK, currently visible above the southeast horizon in the early dawn twilight. On 1 April Mars lies a fraction under a degree south-southeast of Saturn. From the UK when due southeast, Saturn appears directly above Mars. With Mars at mag. +0.8 and Saturn at

Stai leggendo un'anteprima, registrati per continuare a leggere.

Altro da BBC Sky at Night

BBC Sky at Night2 min lettiAstronomy & Space Sciences
What’s Online
The Ingenuity helicopter on Mars, the outer planets-bound Europa Clipper, the Swamp Works innovation centre, the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite (TESS) mission and myriad other feats are the subject of the 50+ episodes of this podcast, meeting
BBC Sky at Night3 min lettiAstronomy & Space Sciences
Processing
Use stacking software to bring out surface features and moons For the ‘Planets, Comets and Asteroids’ section of the 2020 Astronomy Photographer of the Year competition, I was fortunate to secure second place for my image, ‘In the Outer Reaches’ (abo
BBC Sky at Night2 min lettiAstronomy & Space Sciences
The Southern Hemisphere
Catch the Eta Aquariid meteor shower and enjoy a view of the Diamond Cross in Carina, the Keel 1 May at 00:00 AEST (14:00 UT) 15 May at 23:00 AEST (13:00 UT) 31 May at 22:00 AEST (12:00 UT) The chart accurately matches the sky on the dates and times